Fiction logo

Victim of my circumstances

My story

By Abdulwahab OdufejoPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
8

Everyone is built either by something or by someone, everyone derives motivation either by pain or by mentorship

Every human is a victim of circumstance either good or bad

Let’s start with knowing more bout HUMANS

Humans never care

Human never feel a thing

Human never notice

Till the great day , the day the young boy/girl goes under the ground six feet without being seen anymore,the day the young boy/girl seize to say hi or hello anymore,the day the young fellow decides to take his life or the day life decides to take the young fellow

Everyone seems happy with their life without their brethren not been okay

Some might say I’m being entitled

Ohhh really ? Entitled,I was given birth to without permission ,I know it was impossible to even be asked but the parents should have know what they were expecting, they should be there more

Why give birth to a child then leave the child to go through the shiit of this world all alone knowing fully you birthed him ?

Why give birth to a child and not watch him?

leave that aside

Why give birth to children in penury ?

Now that we know most about humans in my point of view

let’s get back to myself

My name is ADE, I was given birth to in the trenches of Lagos state precisely Ajegunle(slum of Lagos).

Lived most early stage of my life trying to survive by running errands and getting little from who I thought were my street bros, I know you wondering where are my parents well I lived under their roof but not under them, mother had a stall market to go to every dawn in the morning and back late at night while father was a drunk tout that mostly go out to survey buildings and get money off them.

I am the 1st born out of 3 siblings, so I had to strive myself for my siblings just cause my parents wouldn’t do so.

Growing up was tough, so I decided to move along with my street bros just right after secondary school…They taught me the way of living which is right by them and that goes by snatching pursues and bags in open places or market and as well having to do conductor work for buses.

I never for once liked the job I had to involve myself in but I was left with little to zero choice, almost times I day dream of my secondary school times when I wished I could become a doctor cause I loved helping people in need and as well had passion for it but it’s all long gone now I said to myself.

My life wasn’t so smooth but at-least it was going well by doing all the menial jobs and also jobs by my street bros just to fend for my little ones.

Then a day I wouldn’t forget came along 5th of September 2019, the day one of my street bros told me I needed an upgrade in the works I did and needed to make cool cash, I thought about it and who would want to reject such offer..So I remembered asking how do we go bout it, he then first told me I needed to join a society of peace that would be of my backup anytime I needed help not knowing it was a cult I was putting head into, I did join them.

Now back to the job, He introduced me to a new set of people which I believe are higher members of the cult and they told me I was going to be involved in traveling with high drugs in and across the country( I got scared at first), then I built the courage to say I was ready cause I needed the money which was about a sum of five hundred thousand Naira.

I knew what I was getting involved in but I still did it, my first job was successful because it wasn’t a far fetched job and was nearer to the country. I was so happy and thought it would always end in joy as it was, which after I was paid I told them I was ready for any job, not knowing they had other plans for me and told me to come back the next week.

I got home that day took my siblings shopping, Got new wears and also lots of food and I remember my youngest sister Sofia said “My brother may God protect you more as you are taking care of us”.

I was so happy and almost shed a tear of joy in the mall, and after which I hugged her and we went home.

Then come the D-Day for the job, I went over to get the drug as usual and ready to transport to the next city, Got a car hire to be used and drugs under the seat.

So I proceeded with my journey, on the way I saw policemen which on a normal day I would be worried or scared but I wasn’t cause I had been told earlier I just had to give some bribe and I would be passed easily, the first two policemen I saw was easy peasy, then after I entered the city, I met up a new set of police men, I was startled at first and scared but I thought bout it again probably it was a change of uniform, as I got to their checkpoint I was asked to off the engine and immediately I brought out some Naira notes to give them in which he got annoyed and immediately demanded me to get down from the vehicle.

Immediately I was scared and knew I was done for, the police man requested for backup from his other officers and I was told to stand aside while the car was searched..my thoughts were why me ? Why did I even engage myself ?, a million and one thoughts were in my head all at once…while I was shakily buried in my thought I heard one shouted sir!! We found drugs, arrest him..at that moment I just knew I was done for.

I was arrested and detained with lots of questionings in which I was asked to call who sent me, I tried calling the so leaders of the cults but to my dismay, I was denied.

They said they never knew about me, even my street bro had me denied….

I was told I needed to be arraigned to court the next week without chances of contacting any family member before then

Then I thought to myself…

Would I have done it differently if my parents really cared and fended for me ?

Was my background and story enough for me to have done what I knew was wrong ?

Who would take care of my siblings now, without them going astray like I did ?

was this really me or was I a victim to my circumstances ?

But I guess there are never answers to the question, I just hoped the judge tries to consider my story and help me become of a new leaf…

Short StoryYoung Adultfamily
8

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Iyapo Olajumoke9 months ago

    🥺

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.