Fiction logo

Vengeance

The tormented look of the mutt...

By Deasun T. SmythPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Vengeance the dog

This sinister deed was done.

When I left the house — hiding my assassin’s blade. I trotted lively down the cobbled street, for what had I to fear? I’m nothing but a shadow in the background of a city, an assassin who’s job was done. My confidence and posture told a story of a gentleman. Till’ at the bend of the street, I saw a dog sitting near the ditch, the dog was something I couldn’t quite understand. Its face was almost black, with brown peppered across its muzzle. It had pointed ears, and bright eyes, it was a rather handsome mutt.

I looked at it, and it stared at me. I patted it, “good dog!” I told it. But it kept staring, it was awkward, so I tried to walk away. As I walked down the street the mutt stepped in front of me, and looked deep into my eyes. “Good dog. Why don’t you run along?” I pointed it down the block, “go to your home”. But it didn’t leave. Its eyes peered into my soul. I soon grew uneasy with it. Anxiety overcame me. Why does it watch me?

That nemesis! How dare it watch me! Do I deserve its malicious stare? Does it know my heart? I’m not bad… I was just hired. I am not the villain!

The dog must have sensed my anger, for it took of with a bolt, and I gave chase. “Come here you demon!” I shouted at it. An observer might have thought of me mad, for I raved at the dog like a mad man. “Come here you elusive mutt! Curse the day you were born!” We ran around the block, the dog was always out of my reach, my feet slammed against the cobbled road. How was this possible? I was being out-smarted by a dog! So I decided to out-smart it, I stopped the chase, I noticed how it only ran around the block, so I hid behind the fence of a neighbour, and waited. Sure enough, the dog ran around the block, and I leapt. The dog slipped from my grasp, and it stood, I could have sworn it was laughing.

“Curse you! How dare you mock?”

My blade sliced through the air, quick as lighting. I stabbed through nothing, trying to hit the dog, but it eluded my reach. That is when a guard came, he rushed towards me, asking if I was possessed. I took my dagger and plunged the bade into his heart, for I was no longer thinking, I was worried the dog knew. It raced away, this time, not in the direction of the block’s road. It knows! It knows I’m suffering, it mocks, and laughs. I will take this blade, and plunge it into the heart of the dog! Whilst ending it, and my suffering. For when a dog stares into you, I knows… it knows your heart, soul, and mind.

I raced after it again, running into an alley where moss covered the cobble stone. Vines grew from the skeletal buildings, the trees were bare and naked, not a leaf grew. It was locked into age, but I didn’t stop to see. The mutt’s howl was shaking the bones in my body, it howled once again. Foam filled my mouth, rage was my only friend. I attacked, but the dog stood still, and my slashes missed. What sorcery could this had been? For every slash at the dog, it missed. And that was when I noticed, that I’ve been trapped. For in my rage I ran into this alley, not realizing that there was only one way out, and that my thrashing must have toppled the crates of old milk bottles over, making my escape harder.

I turned towards the mutt, it stood atop of a fallen block of concrete, its teeth were bare, and a low hum growled from its throat. I glared at it, we stood facing each other. This was it, the final confrontation. I reached for my dagger — it wasn’t there — the dog leapt from its position. Its teeth crunched around my throat, I choked for air, “why” I weakly asked. The dog bit down unmercifully, the tag on its collar flashed around my eyes, I read it before the vision left my eyes.

Vengeance.

MysteryHorror
Like

About the Creator

Deasun T. Smyth

I’m a First Nations 17 year old young man, probably an old soul (not that there's anything wrong with that). I live in Saskatchewan, and I love reading, writing, conlanging, and collecting sarcastic T-shirts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.