Fiction logo

Unwanted Road Trip

Episode One

By Cordell HicksPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
Like

UNWANTED ROAD TRIP

CORDELL P. HICKS

SCRIPT FORMAT CONTEXT:

-INT. (INTERIOR)

-EXT. (EXTERIOR)

-CUT TO: A change in direction and/or to a character in the same scene/area.

-CUT SCENE: A change in location and characters.

-SLUG LINE: Occurs at the start of every scene and typically contains three pieces of information: whether the scene is set inside (interior/INT.) or outside (exterior/EXT.), the specific location, and the time of day.

-PARENTHETICAL: Occurs when a character delivers dialogue in certain emotion. It should be located underneath the start of a character’s dialogue in parenthesis.

UNWANTED ROAD TRIP

Victoria drives up to the Orlando International airport in a taxi. This airport is the biggest one in Florida. It’s equipped with flight alerts, on-site parking, terminal maps, shopping & dining, rental cars, lost & found, etc. Once Victoria arrives in her cab, she is immediately rear ended by another taxi pulling in behind her. This is the beginning of what seems to be a bad day for her but it’s only about to get worse. Victoria steps out of the taxi angry but slowly trying not to upset the fragile baby inside her stomach. She looks at the other cab driver.

EXT. AIRPORT--JEFF FUQUA BLVD--DAY

VICTORIA

(SHOUTING ANGRILY)

Are you blind?

Both of the taxi drivers instantly step out their cars.

VICTORIA’S TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

I think you need glasses because I was at a complete stop, and you weren’t paying attention to what’s in front of you.

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

You idiot! Who comes to a complete stop in the middle of airport traffic?

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

Well now you can see that since I’m pregnant, you’re definitely in big trouble. Give me your name and badge number idiot.

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

Fuck you! Fuck you both! I don’t have time for this, it’s completely insane! Clearly it was….

Victoria disrupts the faulted taxi driver.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

Clearly my ass! Don’t get beat up by a pregnant woman at an airport with PTSD and a boat load of connections. That’s ok, you’ll be fired today! You can kiss your taxi driving days’ good-bye.

Victoria pulls out her cell phone as the two taxi drivers continue to argue. Just then, a security guard and a pedestrian walk up to the accident scene. The security guard has on a black uniform and the unknown pedestrian looks suspicious with a traveler’s bag and a caged hamster in his hands.

SECURITY GUARD

What seems to be the problem?

UNKNOWN PEDESTRIAN

I actually saw the whole thing.

VICTORIA’S TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

Wait a minute, officer, this asshole came out of nowhere and hit me from behind and now my cab is dented.

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

Well, if you hadn’t stopped in the middle of traffic then maybe this wouldn’t have happened!

SECURITY GUARD

Hold on, just a second! Let’s solve this like mature adults and then we all can be on our way.

UNKNOWN PEDESTRIAN

Well, this lady’s taxi driver was clearly parked on the curb and this other taxi was speeding and rammed into the other taxi.

The second taxi driver turns his attention towards the pedestrian.

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

You little fucker, who are you anyway?

UNKNOWN PEDESTRIAN

My name is Jarrell and I love telling the truth.

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(ANGRY)

Well take your truth telling ass somewhere else!

Victoria starts to angrily disburse her frustration towards the gentlemen while still on her cell phone.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

HELLO! I’m pregnant and I don’t have all day!

SECURITY GUARD

Well, I can take both of you guys' information and write an incident report.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

THAT’S IT? I want his badge!

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(FRUSTRATED)

Well, you can’t have my badge! I hope your water breaks on the plane.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

And if it does imma’ break it right on your forehead!

SECURITY GUARD

Ma’am, please calm down.

JARRELL

This is ridiculous! We’re getting nowhere fast.

Victoria finally connects with someone on the phone who she is reporting the incident to.

She calmly walks behind the second taxi driver’s car and repeats the license plate number over the phone while talking badly about the driver.

SECOND TAXI DRIVER

(ANXIOUS)

You know what; I’m not sticking around for this.

The second taxi driver jumps back in his car and speeds off.

SECURITY GUARD

(SHOUTING)

SIR WAIT A MINUTE! YOU CAN’T JUST LEAVE!

JARRELL

Yeah, he’s gone so now what?

The security guard turns his attention towards Victoria’s driver to collect his information. Victoria hangs up the phone.

SECURITY GUARD

Well sir, I’ll take your information, and someone will be giving you a call before today’s end.

VICTORIA’S TAXI DRIVER

So, what am I supposed to do about my dented car?

VICTORIA

(ANXIOUS)

I need to hurry up and get on this flight so I can’t stick around with you guys.

SECURITY GUARD

That’s fine ma’am, you can go ahead and leave. Sir, I’m really sorry about your car. I can call the police if you want.

VICTORIA’S TAXI DRIVER

Naw fuck that, that’ll take too long. I’ll just leave.

JARRELL

Wait a minute, which flight are you getting on?

Victoria looks at Jarrell in total confusion.

VICTORIA

(CONFUSED)

Wait, who are you again?

JARRELL

I told you my name was Jarrell. I wanted to see what flight you were getting on. Maybe we can board together.

VICTORIA

First of all, back up with that rat, and secondly, I’m getting on flight 189 traveling to Los Angeles.

JARRELL

(EXCITED)

That’s fantastic! We can board together.

Victoria’s cab driver unloads her bag and wishes her well.

VICTORIA’S TAXI DRIVER

(SARCASTICALLY)

Well ma’am you have a wonderful day and thank you officer for all your help.

Victoria’s cab driver mumbles to himself in anger.

VICTORIA’S TAXI DRIVER (CONT’D)

(ANGRILY)

Useless ass flashlight cop!

Victoria’s cab driver gets in his taxi very upset and speeds off while flipping his middle finger out the window. The security guard walks back in the departure terminal entrance with disappointment.

JARRELL

Oh yea, this is Pudding my pet hamster. Not rat like you said.

VICTORIA

(CONFUSED)

What?

JARRELL

His name is Pudding, and he’s a hamster.

VICTORIA

Rat, hamster, squirrel, whatever! I’m leaving now; I have to catch this flight.

JARRELL

Well, I’ll just grab my bag here and Pudding and I can walk with you.

Victoria snatches her bag from the ground and power walks inside the departure terminal doors. Jarrell scurries to grab his travel bag and tries to speed walk right behind her.

INT. DEPARTURE TERMINAL 3--AIRPORT--DAY

Victoria looks back and notices Jarrell coming right behind her.

VICTORIA

(CONFUSED)

Are you following me?

JARRELL

Yes. I told you that we were coming with you on the flight, and I promise we’ll have an amazing experience!

VICTORIA

You’re going to have an amazing experience by yourself because I never agreed to you coming along.

With the airport packed and everyone rushing to get to their destination, Jarrell stares at Victoria with a confused look on his face. Suddenly with people hastening everywhere, a guy bumps into Jarrell by accident but keeps on walking without apologizing.

JARRELL

(SHOUTING IN ANGER)

Um, the word is excuse me!

Without any warning, another person bumps into Jarrell even harder making him drop the cage that his pet hamster is in. The cage breaks and Pudding runs out quickly across the gigantic tile floor.

JARRELL (CONT’D)

(SHOUTING)

PUDDING!

VICTORIA

(SHOUTING)

Get that damn rat!

As soon as Victoria yelled out rat, a few people nearby started to panic causing frenzy. People were yelling, a gentleman spilled his hot coffee, a woman jumped on top of the countertop, and there were some people who started to run. Jarrell chased after the hamster, but it was finally caught by airport security personnel. Two TSA individuals walked over to Jarrell.

TSA PERSONNEL #1

Sir, does this mouse belong to you?

JARRELL

(SAD)

Why can’t anyone tell the difference between a rat and a hamster? Yes sir, his name is Pudding and he belongs to me.

TSA PERSONNEL #2

Ok this could have been easily avoided. You almost started a real riot in this airport.

As other TSA personnel and airport staff tried to calm down the remaining airport guests, Victoria walks over to Jarrell.

VICTORIA

See, I told you no gerbils allowed here!

JARRELL

(IRRITATED)

It’s not a gerbil!

TSA PERSONNEL #1

Folks, I’m going to have to ask you two to come to the main office.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

For what?

TSA PERSONNEL #2

(ASSERTIVE)

Ma’am please, just make this easy on everyone. You and your friend need to come with us.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

FRIEND?

TSA PERSONNEL #2

(ASSERTIVE)

Yes.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

I’ve never seen this clown ass before in my life!

JARRELL

Well, that’s kind of not true, do you remember we met outside, and I helped you out against the rude taxi driver who caused the accident.

TSA PERSONNEL #1

There was an accident outside?

Jarrell starts to act weird while checking to make sure Pudding is alright. At this moment, a stranger walked over to Jarrell.

STRANGER

Oh, I see you recovered the runaway hamster.

JARRELL

(EXCITED)

THANK YOU, JESUS CHRIST!! Someone who actually knows the difference!

Jarrell starts to dance while Victoria and the others look at him with disgust. The stranger introduces himself mainly towards Victoria.

STRANGER

By the way, my name is Lamont.

TSA PERSONNEL #1

Are you friends or family to this man or woman?

LAMONT

Well, no but I’m a Federal Air Marshall and I wanted to make sure that all this commotion was settled.

TSA PERSONNEL #2

(CONFUSED)

So, is anyone going to address the accident that happened outside?

As the TSA agents are waiting for answers, Victoria starts to get very irritated.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

Look I have to catch this flight! You guys can figure all this stuff out later!

LAMONT

If you don’t mind me asking, which flight were you supposed to be on?

VICTORIA

Once again, I’m getting on flight 189 to Los Angeles. You all are gonna’ make me give birth in this damn airport.

TSA PERSONNEL #2

(NERVOUS)

It’s ok ma’am just try to calm down.

LAMONT

Wait did you say flight 189?

VICTORIA

That’s correct!

LAMONT

Oh goodness, I’m sorry to tell you this but that flight has been cancelled.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

WHAT!!!

While Victoria boils into a furious rage, the TSA agents try to calm her down.

TSA PERSONNEL #1

Ma’am, please try to stay calm.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

All this damn time I’ve wasted, and you mean to tell me that the flight has been cancelled? So, when is the next flight to Los Angeles?

LAMONT

I’m afraid it won’t be another one to Los Angeles in a few days.

VICTORIA

(ANGRY)

A few days my ass! I can’t believe this!

While Victoria is in fury, another situation occurs at a distant terminal that needs TSA assistance. The TSA agents run to the other terminal to identify the problem. Lamont looks at his watch and makes a suggestion.

TSA PERSONNEL #1

(ANXIOUS)

Uh-oh we have a Code Red!

TSA PERSONNEL #2

(NERVOUS)

Oh crap, let’s go!

LAMONT

Wow they left in a hurry. Anyway, it’s noon right now so if you’d like I could drive you to Los Angeles.

JARRELL

(AMAZED)

Wow, you would drive us all the way to Los Angeles? That is so awesome!

VICTORIA

(SARCASTICALLY CALM)

Let me be crystal clear when I say this, first of all, there is no “we” okay?

VICTORIA (CONT’D)

(FURIOUS)

Second, I’M NOT DRIVING NO THIRTY-FIVE FUCKING HOURS TO LOS ANGELES!!!

Everyone in the airport immediately turns their attention towards Victoria as she grips her belly in suggestion of pain. Lamont addresses the crowd.

LAMONT

(SHOUTING CALMLY)

It’s ok folks, I’m a U.S. Federal Air Marshall, everything is ok. There’s nothing to see here.

Everyone’s panic suggesting gestures subside as they continue their activities.

LAMONT

Ok you need to relax. Are you trying to start a disturbance in here? I was simply suggesting that my plans matched yours because I’m traveling to Los Angeles as well and I’m driving now because I’m also in a hurry.

JARRELL

Outstanding! We can all just carpool. I got dibs on the front seat. Pudding you can sit in the back with Victor and keep her company.

VICTORIA

(IRRITATED)

My name is Victoria!

JARRELL

(HUMBLY)

I know, but you’re acting more like a Victor. You have some serious anger issues. Alright let’s get some wheels! But wait, I have to pee pee first so don’t leave me.

In tremendous mental agony, Victoria silently agrees to travel to Los Angeles with Lamont and Jarrell. Lamont walks over to the car rental port and Jarrell walks to the restroom.

INT. MAIN RESTROOM--AIRPORT--DAY

Jarrell walks in the restroom with his luggage along with Pudding and places the cage on top of the sink. Jarrell then attempts to sing while talking to another restroom mate whilst using the urinal.

JARRELL

(CHEERFUL)

I hope you’re having a great day! I certainly am.

GUY IN THE BATHROOM

Are you talking to me?

JARRELL

(CHEERFUL)

Absolutely! I’d also like to introduce you to my pet hamster. His name is Pudding.

GUY IN THE BATHROOM

Dude, don’t you see me trying to take a piss?

JARRELL

(CHEERFUL)

Yes, I understand that, but it’s ok to have a little chat while using the bathroom with a potential friend.

GUY IN THE BATHROOM

(IRRITATED)

I don’t care about you or your rat, now please leave me alone. That’s gay as hell you tryna’ talk to another man while taking a piss.

JARRELL

Well, I don’t think it is offensive at all, besides after we wash our hands maybe we can exchange numbers as friends. And fyi it's a hamster. Do you have any pets?

GUY IN THE BATHROOM

(IRRITATED)

Dude, get the fuck away from me!

The guy immediately zips his pants and leaves the urinal. He mumbles angrily while washing his hands.

JARRELL

(OFFENDED)

Well, that was a little rude. I just wanted to start a little friendly conversation.

The guy instantly leaves the bathroom after washing his hands and mumbles on the way out.

GUY IN THE BATHROOM

(IRRITATED)

Sweet ass fucker!

After washing his hands and grabbing Pudding, Jarrell leaves the restroom.

INT. DEPARTURE TERMINAL 3/CAR PORT--AIRPORT--DAY

Jarrell joins Lamont and Victoria at the car port.

JARRELL

Hey guys, are we all set to go? By the way I met an amazing man in the restroom.

Lamont and Victoria just stare at Jarrell in confusion.

LAMONT

Um…yeah, we’re all set.

JARRELL

What kind of car did you get?

LAMONT

They gave me a brand-new Nissan Maxima.

JARRELL

Awesome! I got shotgun.

VICTORIA

I can tell this is going to be the worst trip of my life.

JARRELL

No, it’s not, let’s move it Victor!

As they head to the exit to get the rental car, Jarrell notices that he doesn’t have his luggage.

JARRELL (CONT’D)

(SHOCKINGLY)

Oh, wait a minute!

LAMONT

(CURIOUS)

What’s the matter?

JARRELL

I forgot my bag in the men’s restroom! Give me a sec I’ll run and get it and you guys better not leave without me. Lamont hold Pudding please.

VICTORIA

(IRRITATED)

You and your desert are about to get left behind. Hurry up!

As Lamont is holding the caged pet hamster, Jarrell dashes back to the men’s restroom to obtain his luggage.

VICTORIA (CONT’D)

(IRRITATED)

I don’t feel like standing anymore plus my stomach hurts. Let’s go wait in the car and I’m driving.

Lamont looks at Victoria with a terrified expression.

LAMONT

You’re trying to drive?

VICTORIA

That’s correct. I have the need for speed, and I have some aggression to let loose. Let’s go!

Victoria and Lamont walk out the car port exit with their bags as well as Pudding and proceed to get inside the rental car after receiving the paperwork and keys from the attendant.

EXT. TERMINAL 3/VEHICLE DEPARTURE--AIRPORT--DAY

Once all loaded inside, they wait patiently for Jarrell to come.

INT. CAR--VEHICLE DEPARTURE/AIRPORT--DAY

As Lamont and Victoria wait inside the car, Victoria starts to smile suspiciously and turns her attention towards Lamont.

VICTORIA

I have a wonderful idea. Would you like to know what it is?

LAMONT

What is it?

VICTORIA

How about we leave Humpty Dumpty here and just drive off!

LAMONT

Victoria, I’m practically the law and that wouldn’t be a nice thing to do regardless. We can’t do that.

VICTORIA

Sure we can! I can leave Ratatouille here right on the curb and we can pull off.

LAMONT

(IN LAUGHTER)

You’re too funny. I can tell this is going to be an interesting journey.

VICTORIA

(EXCITED)

Oh, you thought I was playing….

Without a second thought, Victoria presses the gas pedal to the floor and speeds off like lightening.

LAMONT

(SHOUTING IN FEAR)

VICTORIA NO!!!!

At that exact moment, Jarrell comes running out with his luggage and tries to chase down the car.

JARRELL

COME BACK WITH MY PUDDING!!!

Jarrell runs after Victoria and Lamont dropping his luggage while screaming loudly. As Victoria is making her speedy getaway, Lamont is yelling for Jarrell’s recovery while she is dodging traffic and honking the horn trying to make sure Jarrell doesn’t catch up.

With Jarrell left behind, Lamont stuck in awe and Victoria in “Cruella de Vil” mode, a new adventure is on the horizon. The fun and excitement continue to build up for these three individuals in the next hilarious segment of “The Unwanted Road Trip: Part 2.”

Title: Unwanted Road Trip

Subtitle: N/A

Series: Part 1

Story Event: Fiction

Genre: Comedy/Action

Author: Cordell P. Hicks

Source: Original

Copyright: 1/2/21

Draft date: 6/27/20

Contact: [email protected]

Amazon.com: Unwanted Road Trip: 9798656504966: Hicks, Cordell: Books

AdventureHumorLove
Like

About the Creator

Cordell Hicks

I am the best at script writing. If you love film, then you'll love my writing. I write all genres. I'm the best Actor writing in his own movies!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.