Fiction logo

Unknown Sender

The Dog, the Drone, and the Mysterious Box

By S.J. ParkerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Unknown Sender
Photo by Brandable Box on Unsplash

"Yeti, where are ya going?" I call out to my dog as he leaps off the bed, running to the back door of my small apartment. Yeti starts sniffing the gap at the bottom of the door vigorously then huffs at whatever he thinks may be on the other side.

"There's no one there silly boy, come away from there," I call again. Yeti ignores my command, his ears perk, and he starts scratching the door with his paw. I sigh and walk up to the door opening it for inspection.

"See, there's no one there," I say looking at Yeti, then I look at my stoop and I'm surprised to see a small box sitting infront of the door. Unexpectedly, Yeti zooms past me running into the yard knocking me aside in the process. I grab the door post to steady myself, and that's when I notice what has captured my dog's attention. A little grey drone buzzes away from the doorstep, Yeti's teeth snap behind it a moment too soon as the little flying robot clears the fence to safety.

"Huh." I muse to myself. I have never experienced a drone making a delivery before. I also didn't order anything, so it must have been delivered to me by accident. I pick up the small parcel off the ground and call Yeti to come back inside.

Walking back inside my apartment I turn the small box round in my hands looking for the address label. I want to bring it to whichever neighbor this delivery was intended for, however, there isn't an address label anywhere on the box. In fact, there isn't anything on the box; no markings, no logos, nothing, it's just a small plain brown cardboard box. As I turn it, I hear the sounds of multiple small metal items clinking together. Yeti's pink wet nose touches my hand as he sniffs the strange package.

"What do you think it is boy? Should we open it?" I ask. Yeti blinks in response.

"You're right, it could be dangerous. But what if it's something important?" I debate. Yeti sits silently looking up at me, his white fluffy tail mindlessly sweeping the floor. I inspect the tape that seals the box. The tape is clear and doesn't look to have been disturbed, no powders or chemical residue, so I decide to risk my luck and open the box.

I grab my pair of kitchen scissors and glide one of the blades beneath the tape. The cardboard flaps pop up slightly freed from their restrictions, but the box isn't open all the way. I gingerly take the flaps one by one in between my thumb and forefinger and fold them back, careful to check for anything dangerous that could be lurking inside. As the contents of the box become visible, I see five small coins of a foreign currency, and at the bottom sits a folded piece of paper. Curiosity overcomes me and I carelessly reach in and take the paper out, unfolding it to see what's written inside.

Hello,

I hope this package found you well. I am the finance manager of a very wealthy man in my country, who has recently passed away. Sadly, he didn't have any immediate family at the time of his passing. I have been searching day and night to find the one who will inherit his entire fortune. You are the closest person to him who shares the same last name and will inherit his fortune. Please send me your banking information and social security number so that I may transfer you his massive fortune without delay! Please accept these coins as proof of the legitimacy of this letter.

I take the coins in my hand and inspect them further, for the most part the coins are fairly normal. However, as I inspect them closer I see tiny lettering engraved on the bottom. Squinting, I read the inscription; Made in China it says.

Humor
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.