Fiction logo

Two peas on a Beanstalk

The Vocal + Assist Lost in a Story Challenge

By Erin W MPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
8
Two peas on a Beanstalk
Photo by Ben Griffiths on Unsplash

This story is part of the Vocal + Assist on Facebook Lost in a Story Challenge. You can learn more about it here: https://vocal.media/fiction/lost-in-a-story-the-challenge

There I was, reading Jack and the Beanstalk to my own little bean when I sneezed. "Ahchoo!"

"Fee Fi Fo Floo, who's that messing up my stew?!?" The voice was loud, the book, it shook! My ears were ringing, who was this cook?

A tiny voice, far, far away, said Bless you, mom! I thought, hey, I'm OK.

But then I realized, tumbled head over heels, I was in the book, the one where Jack steals!

"Fee Fi Fo Flee, who's this tiny Miss I see? Careful, careful tiny one, there was a ruckus just begun. I heard a dragon, yes I did, almost made me drop the lid! Might have smashed you good and flat, neither of us would want that. You go on, under the stool, I'll get you a bit of my good gruel. You won't want my lovely stew, unless you like the taste of you."

Well I knew there was no dragon, it must have been my sneeze. And I knew better than to trust the lady Jack had teased. Perhaps she wouldn't blame me for the actions that he took, but I had no idea, I never read this in his book.

So I stood under the stool and let her give me buttered gruel. I ate as small a bit as I could and found it tasted lovely as it should. Then I heard a horrendous roar and through the air I suddenly soared.

"Bless You!" Said I to my bean, never so thankful for a sneeze have I ever been.

Fee Fi Fo Fend, that was my story, now is the end.

By Jan Kopřiva on Unsplash

FableMicrofiction
8

About the Creator

Erin W M

Mother of three lovely flames that burn the stars. Two partners that help me keep them fueled with music and laughter. Three cats, one dog and a lemonburst ball python. We are a puzzle of chaos, constantly finding our pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Lol, this was so fun! I also love that you made it rhyme! Excellent work!

  • Absolutely delightful!

  • D. A. Ratliff8 months ago

    This is delightful!! Enjoyed this so much!!!

  • I love this!!! So poetic and clever. Very well written. I foresee a Top Story in your near future!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.