Fiction logo

Tulips with Three Eyes

A contemporary story with a medieval twist

By Shatanya SchePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

The clock strikes noon as I lie in the abyss of my chamber. Only my imaginations accompany me as I recall the evening I spent with a stranger. A stranger whose face has occupied the fantasies I dreamt since that night.

It was the fifteenth hour, that day, when I awoke from a nap later than intended and the taste for coffee suddenly overwhelming me. Grabbing my keys and slithering into my robes, I began to set off for the province’s central café. Along the path were the cemented grey buildings, sidewalks, and cobblestoned street. But the signature of this province lies within the endless stream of tulips growing between the cracks of cement and cobblestones. It has been forever an unsolved mystery.

After arriving at the café, I requested a Mocha Chocolate Chip Frappuccino and waited on the other side of the counter for my order number to be called. While waiting on the other side, I suddenly felt a small bulge against my back. I turned to find that the bulge was none other than a green-eyed nobleman, tall, with curly brown hair, holding a piece of paper in front of me. “You dropped your order number behind you,” he cautioned. I took the small slip from his hand and replied, “Much obliged” to which he refuted, “Not if you provide me your phone number for present and future endeavors.”

“How are you certain that those endeavors will not lead to danger?”

“If danger did present itself in the pursuit of those endeavors, then I’d willingly be tortured for the rest of my life.”

“Number 57,” a voice called, and I went to retrieve my order.

“Would it be any trouble if I asked to accompany you on the way home?” the gentleman beseeched me. “It would be a pleasure,” I responded.

As we strolled along the path, I took notice to the tulips once again, blooming effortlessly. My anxiety rising as no words were yet spoken between us. 1st voice (1V): Speak, will you? Has a ghost rendered you a mute?? 2nd voice (2V): Yes! Utter a few words, he may feel as an unwelcomed guest. “Appreciate sharing this walk with you.” 1V: Mother of Hades, what was that?!! I could puke at such a mediocre attempt.

“The pleasure is mine. If you could spare some extra time, I would like to admire a certain scenery with you tonight.”

He led the way to a grass cliff that had a view of the entire province. 2V: This must be what the heavens look like. 1V: Negative, it is rather the heavens’ view of an average town with a pitiful childish attempt at decoration from the plants growing everywhere. 2V: Either way, it looks beautiful tonight.

“The greatest legend ever told is the one of why tulips can grow from the cracks of cement in this province.” Puzzled, I asked, “What is the legend?”

“Legend has it that during the period of arranged marriages, there was a maiden who did not wish to be wed. She chased away all potential matches that her parents set before her, despite suffering many beatings and reprimands. One day, a match came to the palace without giving prior notice. He was known to frequent many taverns and brothels until his parents demanded his marriage be a priority. Steadfast in her decision, the maiden did not acknowledge him at all, not even to offer him a standard greeting. Strangely, this amused him as he began to pester her with incessant nonsensical questions until he had her full attention. Shocked by his persistence, she began to try another method: she invited him to a small feast and ate like a drunkard. Her elbows on the table, fast-eating, loud chewing, and belching. This performance, however, made him laugh, feeling relieved of the protocols of etiquette. She then grew angry as she initiated one last trick to repel him for good. She would create as much commotion as she could, screaming intermittently for help, slamming doors, and stomping her feet as though she were the last pre-historic reptile from centuries ago. After a moment, the match smiled and went to her parents to ask for her hand in marriage. Stunned and bewildered, her parents required an explanation from him. To this, he responded, ‘She with such a temper and such an attitude, if no one endured to have her before me, no one will be able to have her even after marrying me. For the only way to acquire a diamond is to be willing to endure hardship to attain it.’ Six months later, a marriage ceremony was held and after the reception, they embarked on a carriage ride to their new home. It is believed that although she looked out of the carriage in disgust, she secretly held his hand tight throughout the journey. Later, before he could celebrate their 50th anniversary, he was called to the other side, causing her to fall deep into the depths of depression. One day she decided to take his ashes and spread them across the same path the carriage took her on their wedding day, crying silently along the way. It is from the mixture of her tears and his ashes that tulips began to grow, tulips that would bloom every fall in this province forevermore.”

I looked back to the province after hearing the story.

“From the cracks of cement and stones bloom a portrait of a woman’s defeat against a man’s endurance.”

He turned my head and lifted my chin to him. “I am more interested in the portrait that may bloom from this stone.” His lips pressed against mine, his own root entering in.

1V: Had you gone to his palace for the night, he could have taken root in other places where you needed it most. You’ve been so stiff this past couple of days already.

2V: At least, she was able to leave with her dignity intact. I believe there was another message in that story for her too.

1V: Yes, he was describing her as a pompous stiff. And I agree. It has been months since she had been with the opposite gender, one would think she joined a convent.

2V: It’s been an hour already too and I’m beginning to wonder if he will ever call. Perhaps you were a little harsh on him. Could he have changed his mind? Is he even home?

1V: This province is not rigged with crime like the others, no need to worry about that. And if he does call, it’s probably just for amusement anyway.

2V: Probably not if he thought to call her. Then again, I’m starting to worry.

1V: Honey, you have already been down this path before. Are you sure that you want to get yourself in high spirits and then wait an eternity to hear from him again? Remember the noble Keith who went on to becoming a lieutenant for the province? You all enjoyed some time together in the theater one day only to see him several days after at the annual province fair with another woman.

2V: Why would you bring that up?

1V: It is for her own good.

2V: She’s not that gullible.

1V: Oh, is she not?

Still no text message from him.

1V: Don’t put yourself through the motions again.

2V: Get some sleep. We still need to go to the capital tomorrow to see your father receive an award from the governor. No matter what, you are still worth more than a thousand tulips that could ever grow in a single stone.

I drank two cups of tea and drifted off to sleep.

Three hours passed by.

New Text Message: ‘Apologies if this message finds you asleep. I enjoyed our rendezvous tonight and wanted to express my desire meet again tomorrow afternoon.’

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.