Fiction logo

Truth Be Told

I'm writing a young adult fantasy fiction book. This is one of the chapters.

By Caroline-StoryGirlCAPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
7

Night soon approached. Kira stood on the ridge overlooking the broken city of Dun Lium. She looked up into the sky and saw the moon was full. She felt great relief after everything was said and done for the day. She had the habit of spending moments by herself which she truly enjoyed.

After spending so much time alone in the forest during the past four years with Raven, she began to welcome these moments of solitude. It gave her time to think and plan. She continued to gaze at the city lights, lost in thought when Aidan appeared by her side.

“Aidan,” She whispered harshly as if they were children again, “Don’t sneak up on me like that.”

Aidan ignored her annoyance, with both hands on her delicate shoulders he turned her, so she was facing him.

“Wolves on your mind? He asked.

“No!” She punched him in the arm. I was thinking about Dun Lium.” She looked up at Aidan, “We’re so close”

Kira

At that moment Aidan wasn’t thinking about Dun Lium. He only saw how beautiful Kira looked with the light of the full moon shining on her. Kira, oblivious to Aidan’s feelings, hugged him as she would her friend, but when Aidan returned the hug, she felt something different. It made her stomach tingle.

“Kira,” he began, “I need to tell you something. He looked deeply into her eyes. “It’s weighed on my mind for a long time.”

Kira stared at the ground, finally, she looked up at Aidan and remembered when they were children. He was such a skinny rug rat but that was then. She saw him now and she couldn’t help but feel a certain attraction to him. Suddenly she burst into laughter.

“Kira, stop laughing.”

Kira, hiding her nerves, covered her mouth and controlled herself.

“We’re not children anymore. You are my best friend, and you always will be, but I have deeper feelings for you. I hope you feel the same about me.”

She closed her eyes and took a breath. She glanced at her amethyst pendant which shone brightly in the moonlight. She placed a hand on his muscular chest. The warmth of his body flowed through her hands.

She met his gaze with hers and replied, “You are the only one who accepted me despite what others said. No matter if I wore pants, or a dress, if my hair was braided like the good girls, or not and if I didn’t like women’s work you didn’t mind. You were my friend. On top of that, you followed me to the Land of the Giants.”

“Which was absurd.” He replied with a smile on his face.

“Regardless, you are my greatest friend and I too, have feelings for you. I don’t quite understand them yet.” She looked away. “But here we are. I have planned this moment since the day Gunnar took my mother away. I must complete this dream. I must make it a reality if I can. My mother needs me.”

He smiled. “Yes, dear Kira with the wild red hair!” He laughed. He pulled her close and kissed her. Kira kissed him back. When they parted, he said, “I understand, and I will wait for you by your side as long as you’ll have me.”

After Aidan’s kiss, Kira felt as if she would topple over. She had never been kissed before. Kira watched Aidan walk back to his men by the fire, and she continued to watch the city of Dun Lium. Would they encounter trouble upon entering the city of Dun Lium tomorrow?

She heard Aidan and the other men laughing. And after this was over, she wondered, if their friendship will change?

Fantasy
7

About the Creator

Caroline-StoryGirlCA

Hi there! I’m a fiction writer. Written all my life. Want to inspire if I can. Living on a guest horse ranch in Baja California, Mexico. Married to a Mexican Cowboy!

Website: carolineaguiarauthor.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.