Fiction logo

True Meaning - Part 3

An Original Story

By Piper CurranPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
True Meaning - Part 3
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

“Hey, Jason? Right?” I grabbed the bowel behind him and pulled

the level for the fruity puffs.

“Yeah, the RA for your dorm hall. How was the rest of the night?” He was piling on the eggs that looked like they had more cheese in them than unpasteurized goats' milk.

“Oh, you mean after being awoken at like three in the morning. It was less impressive than the knocking.” The last of the blueberry muffin has been taken so I chose a raspberry scone instead.

“Look, it was nothing personal. I got woken up by those noise complaints. I had to do something otherwise I never would have heard the end of it.” He did have a sad look about him.

Now while I have never been one to peep on the lives of others but something about him made me curious, so I channeled the power within and felt something about him. Something familiar. This is how I learned that being an empath is the best and worst thing for a person in any world. Now, don’t get me wrong, I love my powers and everything that came with them. What I hated was being the one who knew secrets I wasn’t supposed to, who seemed to always be the one who tore families and other loved ones apart. Just once, I wanted to be the one who put them back together. Even if it meant that I was always in the shadows; that part I did not mind.

Knowing all this, I knew that there was something about Jason that did not sit well with me, and I had to know what it was. So, I thought about the only thing I knew. What Hazel would do but casting the spell here is a bad idea. I had to get him alone, but I didn’t know how. I don’t think I looked the part to be his type of mate.

“Hey Renai, did you hear about the party that is happening in Hannon Hall tonight?” The registration girl was at my side quicker than I was moving and she began urging me along, “The name is Sabrina by the way. How is Hazel? She seemed so interesting yesterday.”

That made me curious. She is the only one who remembered our names out of the dozens we met with. Is that normal in the human world or is Gorgon making me paranoid? “I don’t know about her, but I am glad to be eating this spread.” I looked with fake cheer around all the food around us. In truth, I didn’t know about Hazel no matter how bad I wanted too.

“What a weirdo.”

“That dress is awful.”

“How can she show her face looking like that?”

“Oh goodness. Does she know that she looks like that?”

“I don’t know who the blonde is, but the dark-haired girl is gorgeous. I really hope she is at the party tonight.”

Looking around I saw several faces that could have been speaking but I shouldn’t have been able to hear them. Then I realized what happened. The voices I heard were thoughts. Not people saying things... and they were getting louder. I panicked and forgot to put up my walls this morning to stop my powers from interfering in the day-to-day life of humans.

Quickly and quietly while the new girl, Sabrina, was talking with Jason and the others, I said my spell while touching my face as if to scratch an itch on my temple, “Scutum Magicae.”

“What was that Renai?” Sabrina was so cheered as our group walked over to the table.

“Oh, nothing. Just mumbling about how they are out of all the good stuff!” I tried to turn the fake cheer back on, but I wasn’t sure they were convinced.

“I know right! They don’t have my cranberry juice today!” A new voice joined them. One I knew and kind of hated hearing this far from Riverton. My cousin, Sarah.

“Oh, guys I almost forgot! This is Sarah. She is from some Scandinavian country up north.”

“Norway.”

“Norway.”

Sarah and I looked at each other. It seemed to be the first time she noticed me, and it took her a moment to adjust.

“Do you two know each other?” Some darkhaired boy caught my attention as Sarah adjusted her smile for the humans.

“Yes, we do Jason. Renai and I are cousins, but we haven’t seen each other in the last six summers. I don’t think I knew you were coming here!” With the last sentence, she turned and gave me a hug.

“Cousins? That is so delightful!” Sabrina seemed overjoyed that someone knew her friend as well.

“Yes, well our mothers are sisters and we played together nearly every summer since we were two years old. Some would say that makes us sisters!” I cheerful grabbed her and held on for as long as felt safe to tell her the truth, “We need to talk. He is back.”

Sarah glared at me but gave me a curt nod that told me she remembered our last summer together... It was the fight.

“I am glad we are here together. At least that way we can look out for each other since we are so far from home.” Sarah was being more honest than I would have.

“Well since that is settled, Jason, who is throwing this party?” Michael turned to him, as did the rest of us and I felt a blush creep up my cheeks when I realized he had been watching me.

“Technically, no one is throwing the party. Parties aren’t allowed on school property.” Jason began and looked stern. As the protests grew around him, he laughed, “Come on guys. You think that I would just dangle a party in front of you and not deliver? How horrible do you think I am?”

The laughs that bellowed from the students around him were contagious and slowly I began to smile. Suddenly, life outside of my world didn’t seem so horrible for a small moment.

*

“Renai, slow down!” Sarah and Michael were running to catch up with me as I was on my way to my next and least favorite class.

“Sorry guys, I have to hurry if I don’t want to be late again. Can we talk while we walk?” I had been avoiding her since breakfast.

“Where is Hazel?” Michael ’s question made me stop and they ran into me.

“I don’t know. My location spell didn’t work. I couldn’t find her.” I spoke quickly and quietly.

“You don’t know? We all thought she was here with you!” Sarah shrieked.

Pulling her into the nearest empty classroom, I realized I had to explain a lot. It was not going to be an easy conversation. We all lost a lot in the fight with him.

“Guys, Hazel was taken. We had protection and safety spells up, but Denali was trying to find us and by doing that, she broke them. She channeled the triple moon when it came across the Winter’s Horizon. By the time she got here, it was too late. When she told me what happened, I knew who had her but she was too drained to help me. I fixed her up and sent her to the Elder’s Council to tell them herself. Then I tried but sending her all the way there must have been too much for me because I couldn’t find her.”

“Renai, this isn’t your fault. You used your ancestors spell to seal him away. He never should have been able to get out. They still don’t know how he did it. His guard, the village surrounding it. It was all burned. They have nothing to go on. That is why Sarah, and I are here. Miranda wanted to make sure you were protected. Even if you are the strongest one of us all.” Michael smiled slightly.

“Miranda knows?” I was shocked. My aunt was not the type to send rescuers. Let alone her daughter and my former lover.

“Yes, my mother knows. Everything, even about who your dad really was.” Sarah narrowed her eyes at me.

“Well, doesn’t she know I can do self-sustaining magic? No one else needs to risk their life!” I was angry and scared at the same time.

“Renai, we volunteered for this. You don’t need to feel ashamed for wanting or needing us. No matter how much magic you can do with or without us.” Michael was trying to be nice, and Sarah was going in for a hug when we heard the voice.

“You guys should really find a less popular spot to talk about magic.” We all spun around to see Jason’s shadow emerge from the door frame of the adjoining room.

“I don’t know what you heard but I can make you forget it.” Sarah raised her hand to start a spell, but Jason laughed.

“The only one who has power to cast a spell over me is Renai. That is why Elder Maria sent me. I can’t be influenced.” Jason gave up with a small hand turned upwards as he walked towards us.

“Elder Maria? That is how I recognized you! You are the son that she sent to live in the human world.” I gasped when I remembered the stories.

“I knew you would eventually figure it out. That is why I followed you three all day. Trying to find a time when you were all together to let you know I am on your side.” Jason sighed and leaned his muscular frame against the desk.

“Yeah, tell me about it. We all have different schedules.” Michael mumbled, “At least you are in the same dorm as Renai.”

“Being her RA doesn’t mean I will always be able to be there. That is why Sarah is moving into the suite that was supposed to be just her and Hazel.”

“Uh, since when am I moving?”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Piper Curran

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.