Fiction logo

Trapped

Chapter 2: The Haunted Hallway

By GiaPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
1
Image description:The Figure in the Hallway (Credit: Edutopia.org)

Best friend

Papa and me waited for some time until mama finally calmed down and said that we should go before we got even more late. Papa decided that he would drop me off at school and come back home to stay for a few hours until he certainly knew mama was alright or asleep. This had happened about 6-7 times now, I was tardy and papa sometimes chose to stay with mama for half a day. Few times, he even came early from work because he was worried if she cooked lunch by herself.

Later, I reached my high-school and like always, Gia stood right at the entrance waiting for me. Gia was my best friend since 6th grade, she was a nerd like me but she was more confident about herself. Ever since I started getting late, she excused herself to the bathroom or made some sort of excuse so that she could get out of class and wait for me in the lobby or outside. Gia and me were targets for bullies but she once punched Jackie Allen in the stomach, he was the most popular kid in school, she did it when he called me a dweeb and threw my books out the classroom window when the teacher left for a moment. Gia got detention for doing that instead of Jackie because he was the son of the most successful man in the town. That situation still had some pros, it made us best friends and it showed everyone that she wasn't a person to mess around with.

"Finally! I was waiting longer than ever, Mrs. Harper is pretty close to getting me into trouble you know." Gia said looking at me with slight annoyance reminding me a little bit of my mother.

"Well, I didn't tell you to wait for me like you always do! Go! If we come in together, Mrs. Harper will obviously know that you lied." I said.

She smiled a little and run down back into the corridor and headed back to class.

Elevator

I decided that this time, I would take the long way to my literature class, there were only 20 mins left until math class got over and besides I didn't need to be that worried about it because I was already 2 classes late. I usually went up the stairs directly when I was on my own because there were rumours that the elevators were haunted cause even the teachers didn't use it often.

I took my headphones and phone from my backpack and put on some music, then took my half eaten peanut butter and banana sandwich and slowly went up the stairs while eating it. Finally, I reached the 3rd floor, exhausted, I went down the hallway to use the elevator instead, it was awkwardly quiet with everybody in their classes. I reached the elevator and pushed the "up" button, the elevator took a while and stopped with a loud squeaky sound. It opened and then closed and opened again, I looked at it weirdly as I don't think it was supposed to do that. "Must be because this school is almost a thousand years old" I thought while trying to shrug off the feeling of goosebumps. I entered and pressed number "5", I waited for a while and realized that I didn't feel like it was moving so I jabbed the button again and the elevator finally did start moving. The doors opened and I stepped out with one foot and looked around, now realizing that it brought me to the 2nd floor. Confused, I was about to step back in when I saw a figure standing at the end of the hallway. The figure kept on flickering, for some reason, I couldn't move away. I just kept staring and rubbed my eyes again and again, RING RING. I jumped back and let go of my sandwich. I was relieved after I understood that it was just the school bell. I reluctantly looked at the hallway again and saw the figure walking away and disappearing as students poured into the hallway. I jumped back again and jabbed number "5" a bunch of times "No No No This is just you imagination..." I thought until the elevator started moving again. Then, I realized that I had made a big mistake, what if the silly elevator got to the wrong floor again? To my surprise, when it opened again, I was on the 5th floor. I ran into the crowd of students moving to different classes and got into my literature class in room D3.

Scared

I sat in my seat and waited until I saw Gia walk in, concerned.

She sat next to me and turned saying, "Why didn't you come to Math? I was waiting for you."

"I saved you from getting Mrs. Harper suspicious. So technically you should be thanking me." I said to Gia, crossing my arms and smiling, trying to act normal.

"You're hiding something. What happened?" she asked.

I panicked and tryed to think of something to say but I couldn't find any words in my ol' noggin.

Before Gia could ask any more questions, Bryan came in and ran up to me.

"Heyo! How you doin? I was hoping I would see you here." Bryan said.

Bryan was my second best friend who Gia and I met in 7th grade. He was not like us, he was an average school guy but really loved basketball. He was also an understanding person and never took anyone's words to heart.

"Oh, I'm doing fine." I said, faking another smile.

We did our handshake, Mr. Anderson came in, and class finally started.

familyMystery
1

About the Creator

Gia

"To gain your voice, you have to forget about having it heard." - Allen Ginsberg

"Stay faithful to the stories in your head." - Paula Hawkins

“I write because I don't know

What I think

Until I read

What I say.” - Mary Flannery O'Connor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.