Fiction logo

Tracks

Gran warned me

By C. Lea RoufleyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Tracks
Photo by Riccardo Andolfo on Unsplash

It's weird how snow makes everything quiet, the way it absorbs every sound and makes the world feel like an abandoned home, decrepit and cold. I followed the prints ahead of me, boot tracks with deep treads.

I couldn't help but hear Gran’s voice in my ear, “Only fools follow strange tracks in fresh snow. You'll only find death at the end of that trail.”

Still, I walked on, maybe it was morbid curiosity. What really lay at the end of the tracks in fresh snow that Gran had feared so much that she locked doors the minute dusk fell over the prairie in winter?

The tracks became erratic, moving this way and that. Swaths of snow revealed dirt where the track-maker had fallen. I froze at one such swath, in the dimming light it was hard to tell, something dark left dyed stipples spread out across the snow. Was that…? It was. The sheen of red caught the last glimmers of light and turning back occurred to me as I looked ahead and saw that the tracks changed. A line carved a path along side one boot print going off into a gully.

I swallowed hard and slowly approached the edge of the ditch. The crumpled mutilated form that greeted my gaze brought horror to the very core of my. From under the fur lined hood of a shredded and bloodied coat, my own face gazed back at me.

“I tried to warn you,” Gran said from behind me.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

C. Lea Roufley

I'm a 27 year old wife and mom of three. Engaged. Born and raised in Montana. I've been writing since I was a kid and published a book at 17. Haven't written much in recent years, hoping to get back into it through this forum.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.