Fiction logo

To my dear sister

I don't know if you have read the letter I once left at your bedside. I don't know if you read it carelessly and then threw it away, or if you read it carefully and have a hint of guilt.

By Gloria TurnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
To my dear sister
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

Dear sister, before I left, I left a letter on your bedside, a letter I thought about for a long time before I finally decided to write it down and send it to you. I don't know if you were full of care or a twinge of guilt when you read this letter. And when you see this letter I have gone far away and am no longer by your side.

At this moment, are you still living your life in a scattered and aimless manner, or have you decided to make a change to welcome a new life?

Perhaps you feel that the long letter I wrote overnight is just a scrap of paper and full of nonsense for you. You think you know everything, you think you understand everything, and you don't need people to tell you what to do with your life.

As your sister, I wish you well more than anyone else, and I hope you don't let yourself go on like this, you need to pick up your education and finish it. Otherwise, I think your situation will only get worse if you keep doing nothing every day.

I know you have always felt that you should be a free bird, free to roam the skies as you please. But, my dear sister, you have to know that such happiness is short-lived, can you be a free bird for the rest of your life? Of course, you can, but only if you have achieved freedom of wealth, don't you think so? I think if you have not struggled and worked hard for your life, then you will never know how much value you will create.

I am not asking you to get into what kind of college, I just hope that you can have an unforgettable memory before your 18th birthday, this time records your youth, records your spiritedness, records your hard work moment, no matter what the ending is, whether it is good or bad, it will leave a luster in your life, this is a wonderful life that you should not miss.

I am not imposing how you must be and what you must become. I want to ask you to try to make some changes, even if it's just on your way to school, you can enjoy the beautiful scenery along the way and feel the beauty of the world, even if it's just a little bit like this.

I hope you become sunny, energetic, full of youth, and upwardly mobile, rather than your current depressed look, the way you are now, mom and dad are a little disappointed in you, they do not know what your future will be like, so they will worry about you. And I'm also angry about your current disheveled look because I have no way to walk through your path for you, I can help you some, but I can't help you forever, the only one who can help you is yourself. Although I am your sister, you should not expect me to help you through your life. I will just point out that brightest path for you at your most critical moment, as now, I am doing my duty as a sister and writing this letter to you.

Dear sister, you and I are the same, we are both a child, and once both grew up with the expectations of our parents, both had the urge to leave home to escape, and both hesitated on the road to 18 years old. But the difference between us is that every step I took was a steady and solid course, I knew what I wanted and I could go forward for my goal, I knew that knowledge offered me not only those in front of me but also endless benefits, it was a bright window that illuminated what was ahead of me so that I could go farther and fly higher.

Dear sister, I said so, I just want you can make a change, because you are a bright pearl, and you should not cover your light, you should shine, cheer up, I hope you can become better, can you?

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Gloria Turner

Love to read and write

Like to travel, love life

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.