Fiction logo

Titans Aboard the Titanic:

A maiden mirage

By Danielle UrciulloPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A deck of Patience cards, a chequered handkerchief and a postcard belonging to British lawyer, suffragette, political activist and former Titanic survivor, Elise Bowerman. A deck of Patience cards, a chequered handkerchief and a postcard belonging to British lawyer, suffragette, political activist and former Titanic survivor, Elise Bowerman.

I was one of 713 people who nearly died on those two fateful nights: April 14th and 15th during the year 1912. There were a myriad of other artists and socialites aboard the ship formerly known as the Titanic. We liked to call ourselves Titans, not after King Titan in the Little Mermaid but rather, after Gaia and Uranus, otherwise known as Heaven and Earth. Others who did survive did not retain their human nature, whereas I always strived to connect with the utmost humane parts of myself.

I wondered if others’ had parts that felt disconnected due to the vertical movement of the ship as it slowly sank from the bow into the midnight hour, splitting by the first and second smoke stacks. There were some distinct differences between the first and second stacks, however there were four in total. It was curious why they split after the second, and I thought it might have been contrived. The space that existed between second and third was filled with injured men and women who couldn’t seem to make it through the gravitational pull to survive.

This divide bothered me so, and I made it a mission to discover it's nature and it's truth. My spirit continues to live on into the year 2022, otherwise known as present day. The future is excited to understand the experiences we shared together that evening. There was a cold air mirage that was assumed to be simple fog, however it may have been a sign from something larger and more imminent. This fog masked the captain and crew's ability to see the iceberg that laid ahead. What was once a massive ship was headed for destruction while parties played below and people danced about the various cabins.

As a wealthy woman, with a future to be nearly robbed I hung out in the background of the party on Deck 27 avoiding any alcohol and other tonics. Water began pumping itself in decks below while I had a sixth sense, intuition or Godly powers if you will, that something had gone awry.

A near and dear musician friend had grabbed several spiritual comrades to investigate. I wanted to beg him not to but I felt he was strong enough for the task. My intuition told me not to stand back and watch but I could barely move. As the ship began to tilt to the left I was hopeful my friends would return. Music continued to play and I thought I heard the sound of bikes but I knew that could not be possible while in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean.

More than a brisk breeze blew by me and I was suddenly chilled. I continued to think about my friends and colleagues and wondered if anyone else was alarmed. Star list five was almost in full effect. I looked down and abruptly noticed a child in my womb, and there were many others soon to come. I was not afraid yet, but when it all happened and we decided to take flight from the wreckage I felt instantaneous pain in my wing space. I wondered what wing space others had with them both above, below, and all around me. All the ship's maidens rushed to the front end of the massive ship weighing in at 700,000 tons with expectation to get off onto floats first.

I had an inkling to shove some men off rather than allow them to hand by hand assist the delicate women with debunking. I knew disaster had come already so I floated away with all my jewels in hand. People were begging me to ruin their lives and I was very much concerned with not ruining my own any longer. With a little patience and a lot of virtue I continue to pride myself in being a survivor.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Danielle Urciullo

Connecticut based therapist, creative entrepreneur, self-love enthusiast, and writer of short stories, fan fiction, horror, and also some sweet stuff these days. Find me @ www.bostontherapie.com. IG: @therapiespace & @daniella_urciullo.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.