Fiction logo

Titanic

a fictional short story

By Dyllon RodillonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3

The year was 1912, I was 20 years old and I'd gotten a job aboard the Unsinkable Titanic. I was just a general crew hand so anything and everything that was needed of me, I'd help where I could when I could. Essentially sun rise to sun set I was working and afterwards I was free to do what I pleased. It was good money I could send back home to my wife and son. Forgive me, where are my manners? My name is Howard Trevor, pleasure to meet you. This is my story aboard the Titanic.

As I just mentioned I was a nobody just trying to make a living. Just about everyone on there was a rich, pompous, snob. They never did anything directly to me so I never had a problem with anyone specifically so I just kept to myself and worked hard. That was until I laid my eyes on this mysterious woman. She was absolutely gorgeous, every man had their eye on her but not a single person could tell me who she was. No one had the courage to actually go up and talk to her and she was all by herself, very strange for a woman during those times. One night while just trying to observe the night's sky I luckily ran into the mysterious woman. She introduced herself to me, once again very strange behavior for a woman in those days. Her name was Diana.

Diana was amazing, she was the complete opposite of all the rich elitist I had the displeasure of interacting with while working. I had asked her where she was from because I couldn't identify her accent but she just kept telling me "Oh you've never heard of where I'm from. Let's just refer to it as back home, besides I don't like talking about myself too much. It feels so self absorbed. I love learning about others." . We'd talked for hours, she was very easy to talk to and it was refreshing to talk to a normal person again.

Everything was going well until we hit the iceberg and the Titanic was sinking fast. I was terrified, thankfully Diana grabbed my arm and shook me out of my shocked state. We knew immediately we had to get the women and children to safety, Diana and I went to work just saving anybody and everybody we could find who needed help. We saved as many as we could but there was no way we'd save everyone. The worst was yet to come, once they had run out of lifeboats he had to worry about ourselves. We got as high as we could to make sure we spent as little unnecessary time as possible in the frigid water. It was absolutely terrifying.

Once we were in the water and found something just buoyant enough to hold on to so we wouldn't waste any energy trying to keep our heads above water I noticed something peculiar. "Diana, how are you not freezing??" "Let's not focus on that, clear your mind and focus on surviving. We're not dying tonight and we're to continue to do what we can to save as many others as possible." Diana responded. "Yeah, and how do we propose we do that?" I asked "First we need to group everyone together. everyone is scared but if we're all together it will be easier for rescue to get everyone. Once we do that we have to just wait. Rescue will come, I promise."

Once we grouped everyone up who would listen Diana looked over to me and said "Tell me about your son, focus on him. Use your family to will yourself to survive no matter how cold we are". "My son is so brave already, that little man has absolutely no fear in his eyes. He's already got some platinum blonde hair. Steve almost never cries. His full name is Steve Rockwell Trevor, I have faith whatever he chooses to do in life. He'll be great and really make an impact on the world. "

"Howard I promise you, you will see your son again. Don't give up, keep fighting for your family."

In the end Diana was right, right when I start to truly think we were on death's door until the RMS Carpathia and her crew to save us. It was a frantic mad scramble to get out of the cold, and yet Diana still was doing all she could to save everyone else. She was so selfless, a true hero. I don't know how but we got separated on the Carpathia and I never saw her again.. I tried to look her up years later but with no last name or country of origin it's kind of difficult to look up a ghost. I'd given up and continued to live my life, eternally grateful to Diana for every single second of live I have thanks to her.

Fast-forward to 1987:

Today is the 75th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic. There are so few survivors I am 95 years old so my vision isn't exactly what it used to be. Steve became a pilot, he's actually here with me. I recognize a few faces, some I've spoken to and some I never got a chance to speak with. But I swear, I see Diana. She tried to hide herself, but you can't hide beauty like hers. She's just as breath taking as I remember her and hasn't aged a day. Who on earth is this woman??? I tried to show Steve but by the time I grabbed his attention she was already gone.

Thank you for your time, I hope you enjoyed what you have read today, feel free to subscribe. I have plenty of different articles on many different topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly; if you really feel so inclined tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are always appreciated but by no means required.

Historical
3

About the Creator

Dyllon Rodillon

Jack of all trades, master of none.

Feel free to use my link to sign up for vocal+

https://vocal.media/authors/dyllon-rodillon?via=dyllonrodillon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.