Fiction logo

Time Travel Pop

Science Fiction

By Jmjulius15 JayPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
1

The year is 2021, It’s Monday morning and Tyler Tomlin is asleep in his bed. On the bedroom walls there is a poster of Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker. Tyler’s phone was on his nightstand. The alarm on his phone went off, the Star Wars theme music started playing. He woke up sprung out of bed, and got dressed. Tyler is in his early 20’s, he has short dark black hair. He is wearing a solid black T-shirt that says “Crazy Cola” with blue jeans. He lives alone in an apartment. He wants a girlfriend, but is very shy around women. Tyler works at the Crazy Cola Pop Factory. He has been working there for four years. He grabbed his car keys and headed out the door.

​It was a bright sunny spring day, Tyler was stuck in traffic. There were many cars in front of him and there were many cars behind him.

“Come on, I can’t be late,” said Tyler.

He parked his car in the parking lot of the Crazy Cola Factory and ran into the factory. He was running through the factory his boss, Benjamin Beverage stopped him.

“Tyler, your late. Come to my office.”

​Tyler walked in Mr. Beverage’s office. Mr. Beverage’s office was small. The walls were painted dark red. There was a huge painting of the ocean hung up on one of the walls. There was a small wooden desk with a big computer and a keyboard on top. Mr. Beverage sat down in front of the desk. Mr. Beverage was a short heavyset bald man

“Have a seat, Tyler.”

“Tyler, this is the second time you have been late to work.”

“I’m sorry, Mr. Beverage. There was a lot of traffic.”

“That’s what you said last time.”

“But it’s true though.”

“Look Tyler, I like you, but if you show up late to work again I’m gonna have to fire you. Time waits for no man. Fifty years ago today in 1971, my great grandfather created Crazy Cola.”

Mr. Beverage stared at the picture of his grandfather that was hung up on the wall.

“My grandfather would be very disappointed to know that one of his workers was late for the second time.”

“I promise, Mr. Beverage it won’t happen again.”

“I sure hope so.”

​Tyler was working on a conveyer belt. He had to get all the cans of Crazy Cola off the conveyer belt and place them in a huge container. Tyler worked for three hours and then went on his lunch break. In the breakroom, Tyler was sitting at a small table with his friend, Dennis. Dennis took a sip of his pop.

“I love calling pop, pop,” said Dennis.

“I know what you mean. I hate the word soda. Calling pop soda is so dumb,” said Tyler.

Dennis laughed. “Your right, Tyler.”

​A man walked into the breakroom. He had short dark blonde hair, and he wore a black tuxedo with a black tie. He was Mr. Beverage’s son Bobby. He was a jerk, have you ever heard the saying taking candy from a baby? Well, he actually took a lollipop from a baby one time. Bobby was always coming up with crazy inventions. He invented his own jetpack to save money on gas, but one day he lost control of his jetpack, and crashed into a tree. He had to spend one month in the hospital. Bobby is 21 years old.

​Bobby walked towards Tyler and Dennis

​​“What’s up losers?” said Bobby.

​​“What’s up idiot?” said Tyler.

​​Bobby stared at Tyler. “Tyler, your just jealous that my dad owns the pop factory. Yeah, I can’t wait till I own this factory.”

“I may not have a dad that owns a pop factory, but at least I’m a good person.

“Sorry Tyler, I can’t hear you over the million of dollars that I have. I’ll see you losers later I have to buy a new sports car to add to my collection.” Bobby left.

Tyler had a frown on his face. “What’s wrong Tyler,” Dennis asked.

“Dennis, as long as I work here I’m never going to have a future.”

“Of course you will, don’t listen to Bobby.”

Dennis glanced at the watch on his wrist. “Looks like break is over.”

Everyone was leaving the breakroom.

“Are you coming, Tyler?” said Dennis.

I’ll be there in a sec I’m just getting something to drink.”

​The breakroom was empty. Tyler was standing in front of the Crazy Cola vending machine. The vending machine was dark purple. The two words Crazy Cola was on the machine in big white letters. Tyler was trying to choose a flavor. He pressed the button that said vanilla Crazy Cola. A small can rolled out of the machine. Tyler picked up the can of vanilla Crazy Cola. The can was dark yellow. The can didn’t even feel full. It felt like there was only a couple of ounces of pop in the can. Tyler saw the expiration date on the can. Best sell by June 15, 2071. He thought the date was a typo. Tyler snapped open the can and took a sip. He thought the pop tasted great. Tyler wanted to take another sip, but the can was empty. Suddenly Tyler vanished into thin air.

​Tyler was standing outside on a sidewalk. It was a bright sunny day. The sky was crystal clear blue. Tyler was wondering where he was and stared at all the tall buildings. He saw a row of flying cars zooming across the sky and realized that the pop actually took him to the future. Tyler was so shocked, his eyes were as big as marbles.

“OMG I can’t believe I’m in the future. This is a dream come true. I have to post this on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat. I wonder if those social medias are still around?” Tyler saw a big TV on one of the buildings. The news was on.

“Breaking news a man went camping and got eaten by a robot grizzly bear,” said the news anchor.

​Tyler saw the date on the bottom of the TV June 15, 2071. He looked around and saw robots walking the streets with humans. The robots were made of a silver gray metal. They were wearing T-shirts and shorts. Tyler walked on the sidewalk until he saw a restaurant.

​The restaurant was called Brainiac Burger. There was a sign that said Brainiac Burger the best brain food since 2030. The logo on the sign was a big brain that had eyes and wore eye glasses. Tyler walked inside the restaurant. Inside there were dark red booths and tables. The floor looked like a black and white checkers board. There were two robots standing behind the counter. They were wearing dark red T-shirts. There was a long line of people standing in front of the counter.

​Tyler was standing in line. The teenage boy in front of him was ordering his meal.

​​“What can I get you?” said the robot.

​​“Yeah, let me get a extra large Brainiac Burger with extra large Brainiac Fries. I have a math test tomorrow, and I really need to pass,” said the teenage boy.

“Would you like an extra large Brainiac Pop with that?” said the robot.

“Yeah, diet please!”

​Tyler ordered his food and was trying to find somewhere to sit. He looked around and saw a girl in her early 20’s sitting by herself. She had long dark blonde hair and dark blue eyes. Tyler thought she was really beautiful and walked over towards her table.

​​“Hey, do you mind if I sit with you?” said Tyler.

​​The girl looked at Tyler with a little smile. “Sure!”

​​“Thanks.”

​​Tyler sat down across from the girl.

​​“My name is Ashley, what’s yours?

​Suddenly Tyler became really nervous. “What’s my name? oh, damn I knew this yesterday,” thought Tyler. He was so nervous he started sweating raindrops. A whole nest of butterflies were attacking his stomach.

“Well, what’s your name?” said Ashley

“My name is Tyler.” Tyler said his name like he was a contestant on a game show.

“Nice to meet you,” Tyler.

“Nice to meet you too, Ashley.”

“What do you do for a living?” said Ashley.

Tyler was still a little nervous. “I’m from the year 2021.”

“Really! That’s so cool!

“Wait a minute, why are you not surprised.”

Ashley laughed. “Because I meet frozen people all the time. I met a caveman last week.

“But I was not frozen. I drank a can of Crazy Cola Pop and ended up here.”

“That’s interesting because I work at the Crazy Cola Pop Factory.”

“Really?

“Yeah, I’m actually the bosses granddaughter.”

“What’s your bosses name?”

“Bobby Beverage.”

Tyler was shocked he couldn’t believe that he was having lunch with Bobby Beverage’s granddaughter. How can a girl be so beautiful and be related to such a monster like Bobby.

“That’s cool! I use to work for his father.”

“Really? My great grandfather? That’s so cool! You should apply for a job at the factory.”

“Thanks, I will!”

​The next day Tyler was sitting in Bobby’s office waiting for Bobby to show up. Tyler was staring at the walls. On the walls there were many pictures of Bobby just smiling like the jerk he was. Bobby looked different though in the pictures. He was heavyset and bald just like his father. Bobby zoomed in the room on a power wheelchair and went behind his desk. Tyler stared at Bobby for a moment. Bobby was wearing a solid black T-shirt that said “Best Boss” in big dark red letters. Bobby was now 71 years old.

“Good news, Tyler. I looked over your application and your perfect for the job.”

“That’s great!”

“Yes, I think your going to fit in great around here”

Bobby laughed. “Tyler, funny, I once knew a Tyler you look just like him.”

Suddenly Tyler became really nervous and started sweating raindrops.

“Really?” said Tyler.

“Yeah, he was a real loser though, I mean if there was a contest for the biggest loser he would win for sure.”

“Well, sir I can assure you that I am a winner. I am such a winner I have chicken for dinner every night.”

“That’s what I like to hear see you tomorrow, Tyler.”

​Tyler told Ashley that he got the job. He even worked up the courage to ask her out on a date. Ashley said yes. Tyler was really excited to go on a date with a beautiful woman. Later that night, He arrived at Ashley’s house in a flying cab. Tyler walked inside the house, and went to the living room.

“Make yourself at home, Tyler I’m almost done getting ready.”

Tyler looked around her living room. There were bright white walls. A big fireplace. Above the fireplace there was a big flat screen TV. There was also a big snow white couch. On the couch he saw a big black cat with bright yellow eyes. He walked over to the couch and placed his hand on the cat’s back.

“Hey, buddy,” said Tyler.

Suddenly the cat said “Hey, buddy no body touches my fur.”

Tyler was surprised. “You can talk?”

“Of course I can talk, cats have been able to talk since the year 2040.”

“Really? How?” said Tyler.

“A smarty pants scientist invented a collar that allows animals to talk.”

“That’s so cool! What’s your name?”

“Harvey! What’s your name?” said Harvey.

“Tyler.”

Harvey looked at the tuxedo that Tyler was wearing.

“Tyler, you look as sharp of my claws.”

“Thanks!”

Ashley walked in the living room. She was wearing a dark blue dress.

“Sorry, for the wait, Tyler. I hope Harvey didn’t bother you.

“Of course, I didn’t. Be good to my owner, Tyler or I will leave a dead mouse at your doorstep.”

“Got any plans tonight, Harvey?”

“Oh, you know I’m just going to watch my cat soap operas and eat tuna sandwiches.

“Sounds fun! Have a good night, Harvey.”

​Tyler and Ashley went to a fancy Italian restaurant. They were sitting at a small table.

​​“So, what was the year 2021 like?” said Ashley.

​​“It’s nothing to write home about?”

​​“What were your parents like? said Ashley.

​​“Oh, they passed away when I was little.”

​​“Really? I’m sorry to hear. So did mine.” said Ashley.

​​“Really?”

​Suddenly there was a loud ringing. “Oh, hold on, Tyler I have to take this call.”

Ashley blinked both her eyes.

Hey Harvey, What’s up?”

Hey Ashley, I just wanted to let you know where out of chocolate chip ice cream.”

“Thanks, for letting me know bye, Harvey.” Ashley blinked her eyes again.

“Sorry Tyler, cats are crazy.”

“What was that?” said Tyler.

“What do you mean?” said Ashley.

“You answered a phone call in your head.”

“In the future tiny phones are implanted into our brains.”

There was a lot of new technology in the year, 2071. The Fantastic Fridge is a refrigerator that can prepare any meal you want. All you have to do is tell the fridge what you want by talking. If you’re out in public and really need to change your clothes. All you have to do is zap yourself with the Fast Fashion Ray Gun, and your clothes are changed instantly. If your sick or break a bone, just take a sip of Magic Medicine and your healed in seconds. Tyler was adjusting well to 2071 because he loves science fiction so much.

Tyler and Ashley went on many more dates. A year later, Tyler proposed at a robot baseball game. Ashley said yes. One day at work Bobby wanted to see Tyler in his office. Tyler walked in Bobby’s office.

​​“Have a seat, Tyler.”

​Tyler sat down in front of Bobby’s desk. Bobby zoomed behind his desk.

​​“I know it’s you, Tyler.”

​​“Of course, you know it’s me, Bobby I’ve been working here for a year now.”

​​“I mean, I know it’s you from the year 2021.”

​​“How did you know?”

​“I just had a feeling. How did you come to the year 2071?”

​​“I took a sip of vanilla Crazy Cola and ended up here.”

​​“Well, guess what, Tyler?”

​​“What?”

​“I invented a pop called Time Travel Pop, but I was to afraid to drink it because I wasn’t sure if it was going to work. So I decided to put my Time Travel Pop in the vending machine in the breakroom. Waiting for a guinea pig to test it out.”

“Bobby, you invented a pop called Time Travel Pop? I should have known you were always inventing weird things.”

“And one more thing, Tyler.”

Bobby opens the top drawer of his desk and pulls out a gun.

“I can’t let you marry my granddaughter because you are the biggest loser in the world”

Tyler becomes scared. “Bobby are you really going to kill me?”

“Kill you?” Bobby laughed. “No I’m going to freeze you with my freeze ray gun. Just like I froze my father and Ashley’s parents.

Bobby aimed the gun at Tyler and pulled the trigger. A dark blue laser beam fired out of the gun. Tyler quickly ducked down. The laser beam reflected off a mirror hanging on the wall, and hit Bobby in the chest. Bobby was frozen. Tyler and Ashely got married.

The wedding reception was at the factory. All the employees were dancing to music. Ashley’s cat Harvey was doing The Robot on the dance floor. Tyler was standing next to Ashley. He was wearing a black tuxedo and Ashley was wearing a bright white wedding dress. Ashley raised a can of Crazy Cola.

​“Cheers to our marriage,” said Ashley.

Tyler raised a can of Crazy Cola.

​“Cheers to you becoming the new boss of the factory,” said Tyler.

​“Thanks, sweetheart! The first thing I’m going to do as boss is make you manager.”

​“Really?”

​“Yes!”

Tyler and Ashley extended both their arms out, bumped their cans of Crazy Cola together, and both took a sip.

“I love you, Tyler!”

Tyler gave Ashley a kiss. Time Travel Pop was the best beverage he ever drank.

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

Jmjulius15 Jay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.