Fiction logo

Till Death Does Us Part

the truest of love are created by those who would do absolutely anything for their "person"

By MelPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Butterflies filled my stomach the more breath I would let into my lungs. Today was the day. Today was the big day that most girls have dreamt of for years to come. Staring back at the reflection in the mirror in front of me, I couldn't help but imagine what was to come after this. Would he be proud of me? Would he be infatuated by me for an eternity? The clock tower in the room struck 12 noon. This was it. This was the final hour of being a free woman.

My eyes found themselves staring into the reflection staring right back at me once more. My face had been stained by the mascara stains left behind by the tears I had cried just moments earlier.

"You can do this." I told myself, with as much confidence in my voice as I could conjure up, "He's the perfect mate. He's your perfect mate. You deserve this, Catie. You deserve this."

A knock on the door broke me from my confidence boost.

"I'll be just a second!" I quickly got out, rummaging through the supplies laid out on the desk next to me to try and fix my make-up once more. You deserve this, Catie. He's perfect for you, Catie. The two of you will make the best couple.

There was another knock on the door, this time a bit louder than the last.

Shit. I scrambled through the product to try and fix what I need to in a faster motion, checking myself in the mirror once more before opening the door. Standing in the doorway was a man wearing a tux of black and white coloring; the tie had been a bit crooked, but I fixed it without hesitation. Spots of red splotched all over his fresh, white dress suit, and his face had been covered with splashes of red. He held out his hand, which had been covered in blood that was dripping all over the floor next to his black oxfords; good thing he decided to go with the black over white color scheme, otherwise those shoes would've been such a hard giveaway.

"I was starting to worry about whether or not you've gotten cold feet." He took my arm in his, walking me out down the hall.

The butterflies in my stomach began to fight against one another as we waltzed down the hall. Arm in arm. Hand in hand. The red spots splotched all over his tuxedo matching the red dotted all over my face and dress. Today was the day. Today was the day most girls would dream of. That big day. That day all girls plan before they were even old enough to be attracted to another. You got this, Catie. You got this. You can do this. He's perfect. The two of you are the most perfect couple. Everyone would be jealous that you scored such a man. You deserve this, Catie. You deserve this.

He turned to me as we were standing at a door. The door. Pools of blood spilled from the bodies that had surrounded the church. Bodies of family and friends; bodies of those who were once so excited to celebrate this day with me. Bodies of those who woke up today excited to finally get to see me, Catie Stephens, became Mrs. Joseph Kipper. "Are you ready to exit into the real world?" He smiled at me, pushing a strand of hair behind my ear before wiping a bit of blood off of my cheek.

You got this, Catie. You can do this. You deserve to do this, Catie. You deserve to do this. Without thinking about any hesitation, I pulled the knife out that I had hidden under my garter and stood in front of him. My hand had been shaking as I looked back up into his eyes.

"Catie?" He questioned me, "Catie, what are you doing?"

"Something I should've done a long time ago." Without hesitation, I plunged the knife into his chest and shoved him to the ground. "You are not the perfect man for me," I yanked the knife out of him before slamming it back in, "We do not make the perfect couple."

"Catie-" He tried to get out as I yanked the knife out of his body once more, sliding the blade across his neck. The blood spilled out all over my hands as he reached up to grab ahold of it. "I thought you loved me." He gasped out.

My fingers laced over his own, our wedding rings almost touching as the blood began to cover both of our hands, "That's why I had to do this."

My body fell backward off his body as I pushed myself up against the door of the church. Bodies had fallen over, slouched over one another as I took one more look at this massacre. Today was supposed to be the day. That big day that most girls have dreamt about since before they were old enough to feel attraction. My eyes fell onto the man in front of me. Mr. Joseph Kipper. The man that everyone would fall head over heels for. The most perfect man for me. My eyes fell onto the ring on my finger that had now been covered with his blood. You deserve this, Catie. You did it. You freed the world of him. You saved the world of this monster. You deserve the win, Catie. Don't feel so blue. You did it.

My head leaned back against the wall as I scanned over the massacre that occurred here today. If I won the battle, why do I feel as if I still lost? My eyes fell onto his body once again. If I had won this battle, why do I still feel as if he still got the last laugh?

My arm wrapped around my stomach as the butterflies began to fill up once again. Today was the day. A sharp pain began to slowly increase inside. Today was supposed to be my special day. Blood started to leak out from between my fingers. Today was supposed to be the day I married the man of my dreams. The tears began to stream down my face once again. You got this, Catie. My head couldn't hold itself any longer. You did good, Catie. My body keeled over onto the floor as I still held onto my stomach. You deserve this, Catie. My eyelids were feeling quite heavy now. Just go to sleep now, Catie. Stop fighting. The last thing I managed to see was a blurred image of the door being kicked in as a bunch of uniformed men with helmets and guns stormed inside. "Hel-" I tried to gasp out before everything turned dark. You did it, Catie. Congratulations. You defeated the monster. You get to see your family once again. You won, Catie. You won.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.