Fiction logo

Through the Amazon.

Exploration.

By Jordan ZunigaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1

The vibrations from the Amazon River traveled both to the east and to the west as Javier continued to row west side, and Ernesto paddled near the east. The buzzing of mosquitos continued to randomly flutter around my ears at the worst times as the sunlight continued to rise upon the east. My dad sat near my side, as the other tourists continued to gaze around them. I looked up at my dad in curiosity. "Dad, are you sure Ernesto knows where he's going? I wanna go see the macaws!" I noted.

Dad gave a sigh as he turned and looked at me. "I don't know if we're going to be able to see any macaws today, Jordan. We may see them, and we may not. Besides, Ernesto's determined to get us through this tour. He's done it a whole bunch of times! He knows where he's going!" Dad tried to persuade me.

I began to pout. "How can he know where he's going if he doesn't know where the macaws are at?" I groaned.

Ernesto looked around as he continued to paddle the oar, as I turned my head from his direction and put my hand on my chin and sighed. I became impatient. I wanted to see the macaws so badly, and I didn't want to have to wait. I hated waiting. It sucked miserably.

"Oh! Look, over there! Up on the tree! It's a toucan!" an older white Woman noted.

I turned ecstatically. There it was! It's large mixed colored beak constantly turning as it watched us from a tree bank curiously. "Wow! Dad, take a look at that!" I responded.

Dad chuckled a bit. "You're excited!" Dad noted.

"It's a Toucan! What do you expect?" I responded. It wasn't ever day you got to see a Toucan upfront after all! Why wouldn't I be excited?

"Up there! What kind of bird is that?" an older white Male asked.

A Tour Guide began to stand up on the boat very carefully as he took out his binoculars. "That, is called a Hoatzin. Also known as a Stinkbird. It's native to these South American swamp regions. Their diet consists of the plants that grow around these marshy regions. Although they will eat fruits and flowers on occasions," the Tour Guide stated.

The Hoatzin gave a slight hiss followed by a croak, as it then jumped from one tree to the other.

"Horrid sounding thing. How come it jumps the way it does? Can't it fly?" The older white Woman asked.

"They aren't the best fliers. They will jump from tree to tree," the Tour Guide noted.

Dad suddenly started pulling my shoulder.

"Jordan, look over there!" Dad noted.

I enthusiastically turned around as I saw them. Two Macaws sitting on a tree. "Wow! There they are! They're so pretty!" I responded.

I was excited, that's for certain! There they were. Sitting there, one's beak was stroking the feathers of another. I eagerly turned my head towards the Tour Guide. "How come that one keeps rubbing its beak on the other? Why do they do that?" I asked.

The Tour Guide smiled. "I'm glad you asked! It looks like one is preening the other. It's a way bonded animals will show affection towards each other. They look like quite the happy couple from the looks of it!" the Tour Guide stated.

The Tour Guide began to clear his throat. "These Macaws are endangered! There are many who would like to cut down these regions and endanger much of the wildlife that inhabits it! These birds and this forest, is a gift and we should treat as such! So I would pose a question in all your minds: What can we do to preserve these forests and save the macaws and other birdlife from their extinction?" the Tour Guide asked.

I sat there and thought about what the Tour Guide said. "I hope nothing bad will happen to the Macaws," I thought with a said feeling in my heart.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my content. If you like my work, then please give my pieces on here and my pieces on Instagram a like, follow me here and on Instagram @cccreativewriter, then read and rate my work on Inkitt so I can potentially receive a publishing contract, and consider donating to my support my efforts! Also, if you enjoy my work and want to help grow the ministry, please show your support by leaving a donation here on vocal if you want to support my work! With every donation or piece you read, you can help grow my ministry! Keep your head held high, and smile! ;)

https://www.instagram.com/cccreativewriter/

https://vocal.media/fiction/the-warrior-dwelling-in-the-twilight

https://www.inkitt.com/stories/fantasy/610198/chapters/4

https://vocal.media/geeks/a-new-adventure-rbbdt50ec0

https://vocal.media/criminal/the-treading-of-the-winepress

https://vocal.media/poets/through-it-all-and-despite-it-all

https://vocal.media/poets/refined-and-approved

https://vocal.media/poets/regardless-of-what-i-will-still

https://vocal.media/fiction/what-was-what-is-and-what-is-yet-to-be

https://vocal.media/petlife/all-suffering-will-be-equal

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jordan Zuniga

Aspiring christian creative writer creating pieces to provoke thought and give God and Lord Jesus Christ the glory! God bless and I hope you’re doing well!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.