Fiction logo

Thrilling Days of Yesteryear

"Hi-ho, Silver! Away!"

By Don MoneyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

Two things happened on that blistering July day that, at first, seemed one to have nothing to do with the other. In hindsight, finishing my dad’s DVD collection of the old Lone Ranger TV show with episode number 221 and what seemed like the 221st time I watched Joey Martin knock down a neighborhood kid may have been fate.

I had unfortunately just spent my sixth grade year in the same homeroom as Joey. He lived four houses down from me on the block and loved to shove around anyone who was smaller than him around. This was every kid, seeing as how he was already six feet tall.

Due to the record breaking summer heat wave, my little sister, Tonya, and I found ourselves stuck indoors often during the oppressive heat of the midday sun. We had fumbled through my dad’s DVD collection of old TV shows and came across his complete five season collection of the Lone Ranger.

I was drawn into the world of the Lone Ranger and his kemosabe Tonto episode by episode. From the pulse pounding opening to justice winning at the end, my life’s mission became clear. I would follow the principles laid forth in the Lone Ranger’s creed, “I believe in being prepared physically, mentally, and morally to fight when necessary for that which is right.” I knew of only one injustice to be righted.

Joey would be my Butch Cavendish. I knew I was morally and mentally ready to fight for that which is right, it was just the physical part that concerned me. I knew the answer would be found in approaching the problem Ranger’s way. I would work against Joey’s weakness.

Joey liked to target kids when they were walking the neighborhood alone in the area behind the park. It maximized his intimidation factor catching them alone and minimized being caught by an adult. That was his vulnerable spot and that is what I would turn against him.

A brilliant plan began to form in my mind. To pull it off I would need a sidekick. I filled in Tonya on what I was going to do and she readily agreed to be my Tonto. I didn’t realize how into the idea she was until she showed up at breakfast the next morning dressed in her Pocahontas Halloween costume.

We headed out after breakfast but before we started out I tied the mask I had cut out of an old black t-shirt around my eyes. If I was going to follow the part, I needed to look the part. Step one was to gather up a posse of kids to pull off the plan. Tonya and I circled through the neighborhood trying to rally up support.

After leaving the first few kids confused with my Lone Ranger speech using part of the creed, “God put the firewood there but every man must gather it and light it himself,” Tonya suggested I be a little more to the point. Let them know if they want to stop being picked on by Joey Martin then they must help do something about it.

Knowing that Joey typically hits the park area just after dinner time looking for victims we got everyone hidden in positions around the area. The plan was simple; we take away Joey’s private crime time. Much like when the Lone Ranger had the town rally together in the episode The Town Outlaw, we would use numbers against Joey.

I served as the bait and began my head down trudge around the area behind the park. As if scripted, Joey shows up on cue and yells for me to come to him. With my head still down I walked slowly toward him. When I get ten feet from him I look up at him with confidence and justice blazing in my eyes behind the mask.

I click my fingers and suddenly Joey finds himself surrounded by an Indian girl and twenty other kids. I tell him his bullying days are over as he turns and runs.

As Tonya and I walk off I hear one of the other kids say, “Who was that masked kid?”

Young Adult
3

About the Creator

Don Money

Don Money was raised in Arkansas on a farm. After ten years in the Air Force, he returned to his roots in Arkansas. He is married with five kids. His journey to become a writer began in the sixth grade when he wrote his first short story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.