Fiction logo

Those Who Matter

Microfiction

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
Those Who Matter
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

I watched them.

I watched their cold, calculating faces.

The flat frowns lacking light. The sharp eyes wrinkling divides of disparity at their corners. The inner search behind bored pupils for words to beat me down with.

I told them the truth about myself, after weeks upon weeks of fearing what they would think. Even though I knew the answer.

I told them the real dreams and desires I had, after deafened by the screeching question in my mind of whether I’d be supported. Even though I knew the answer.

Yet as I sat there under the long, painful silence of scrutiny, forcing myself not to wriggle under their gazes, a light flickered in the darkness of my mind.

And I remembered the friends that know more about me than they do.

The peers from my communities that cheer every step I take.

The chosen family, who loves me for who I am, more than this family by my birth.

My eyes blinked the warm tears away before they were seen, as my chest swelled with a fearless, yet comforting, embrace around my clenched heart.

Finally, lips parted on their side. But I spoke first.

“You don’t have to believe in me.”

The words were resolute in the air that stunned them; myself included. The hint of a smirk twitched at the corner of my mouth as my chin lifted ever so slightly. The faces no longer creased in judgement, but were agape in awe.

“Because I believe in myself.”

Stream of ConsciousnessPsychologicalMicrofictionLovefamily
8

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: linktr.ee/lindsaysfara

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Good for you, MC! 👍👍👏

  • We all need to have the confidence to believe in ourselves. If I didn't would have never stayed on Vocal, although my friends and audience help me a great deal

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Chin up. Exactly. Well done, Lindsay.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Loving one self is the true key to happiness. This is an important story, well and bravely told!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.