Fiction logo

There is a pond on a lake

By Qwill R. Brennan

By Qwill R. BrennanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
There is a pond on a lake
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

There is a pond on a lake, in the middle of the ocean. in the middle of nowhere. On the lake, there sits a statue, a statue of a person. Be it a man, or a woman no one quite knows. No one can quite tell.

if you sit at that lake for a long enough time, it's said that the statue will somehow spring to life. It will dance, it will sing and fish through the night. as it tells you about the people it's seen in its life.

Like the old fisherman, who had searched night and day. for a chance to see the statue on the lake.

"he was withered and tired and on his last leg. when he finally managed to find this place. He'd put a hand on my shoulder as he'd quietly say."

"For years I've searched and now hear you are. I've heard stories from my pa when camping under the stars. Now that I've found you I can die without regret."

"and in that final moment, he drew his last breath."

There's also the story of the fisherman's wife who had come to the lake knowing something's not right.

"My dear husband has vanished in the dark of the night. I know he must be here."

"That's when I replied, I don't know of your husband. that said the other day, an old man made this place his death bed. the wife would then say"

"I pray to god, it's not my husband."

"but alas, though, it was so she soon followed suit to the cooing of doves."

There was also the story of the fisherman's son who would come here in a tux that was brightened by the sun.

"He would come with his lover." the statue will say

"Sometimes I imagine he's still walking this way. He had come to the lake to finally be wed."

"My father never gave his blessing." the poor boy had said

"So I was the priest at their wedding their happiness short-lived. As the two would then vanish, into the fog's abyss."

The statue will then point a finger at you. A cracked smile on their face.

"Then of course there's you. why you've come to this place I don't really know. Whether due to a feeling or stories from long ago. I'm afraid that you're trapped here. at least you have water. for you, my dear are that fisherman's daughter."

These words are its warning that you must leave quick. You were fine up till now but you won't enjoy what happens next. So despite the worrying pounding in your chest. Make haste to the boat or with her slightly cracked grin she'll grab onto your ankle and pull you right in.

There's also the chance instead, that she'll say.

"It's so nice to have a listener on this silent day. I've been oh so very lonely let me tell you more tales."

If she's said this to you then you've already failed. for you'll find the lake is like a snowglobe. There's no real way out.

You can cry,

You can plead,

You can scream,

even shout,

but in the end, you'll accept it and sit yourself down. Hear the stories she tells and soon, over time you'll find you've memorized each one each word, and each rhythm.

That's when you two will start freezing, from your head to your toes. till your body of ice somehow changes to stone and you'll sit close by with your own stories untold till a traveler comes by. Despite the teeth-gnashing cold.

as you guessed I am too, a part of the lake. I am here to warn others for their own goodness sake. As nice it may sound I hope that you take my warning and stay far away from the lake.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Qwill R. Brennan

I write stories, not much to say. I enjoy playing with reality. Writing more weird stories like twilight zone-type stuff. I’ve recently been diving into horror as of late.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.