Fiction logo

THE ZOOKEEPER

... don't growl at me ...

By Margaret BrennanPublished 12 days ago 5 min read
6
photo by me

THE ZOOKEEPER

… don’t growl at me …

George was always a fun kind of guy. At least once you managed to pull him away from his computer. In addition to his fulltime job, he had two main hobbies: writing and photography. Very often, he’d be out taking pictures, then he’d go home and write about them.

It isn’t as if Goerge didn’t enjoy his job. It was a position he thoroughly liked and looked forward to each morning as he walked through the gates of the local zoo where he spent eight hours each day. As he made his way down the many pathways checking on the variety of animals who called the zoo home, he made sure to snap as many photos as possible of the animals’ behaviors and how they changed daily.

The proprietor of the zoo’s gift shop encouraged George to frame the photos and allow her to place them on the walls, hoping someone would purchase one or two. Very often, George managed to sell almost every picture he brought into the shop.

Yes, he really loved his job. It allowed him to spend time with the animals, walk in the fresh air and sunshine, and most of all, take pictures.

Unfortunately, between his job and hobbies, George didn’t spend too much time socializing.

While he always preferred his writing and photo editing, he made sure to spend a few hours each week with the few good friends he acquired throughout the years.

Ah! I see. You’re wondering if George had ever been married or if he was seeing someone special. He came close once, but it didn’t work out. Then met Claire.

It was on a sunny summer afternoon at the zoo, and ironically, it was his day off. But George being George, he wanted to spend more time taking pictures of some of the newly acquired aquatic mammals. It was Claire who initiated the conversation.

“Hi, I’m Claire. I couldn’t help but notice your intensity taking all your pictures. Should I assume photography is your profession?”

He smiled and said, “No, it’s just a hobby. As I entered college I had a choice: photography or zoology. I chose the animals. The market for professional photographers is already crammed with pros and wanna-bes. This way, I get to study the animals and take their pictures. I guess for me, it’s the best of both worlds.”

They spoke for a brief time before he asked if she’d like to accompany him to the small cafeteria for lunch. He saw the hesitation in her eyes and explained, “Today’s my day off. I just wanted to come and take a few pictures of the new members of our family.”

Clair smiled and once realizing that she wouldn’t be interrupting his workday, agreed.

George was infatuated with her and asked if she’d like to have dinner. Again, she agreed.

They saw each other frequently during the next few weeks and their friends formed a mutual group that shared fun and laughter each weekend.

Claire was sure she was falling in love. She remarked to her friends, “We make quite the pair. He’ll look at something and grab his camera and snap away while I look in the same direction and don’t see a thing. And yet, once he downloads the image onto his computer, the photo is quite outstanding. “

She thought of how her job as a hospital admissions administrator seemed boring compared to his, and when she mentioned this to him, she stared into her eyes and said, “Claire, what you do helps saves lives. It’s you who gets the ball rolling to help get people the care they need. While I dabble with animals, you’re saving another species.”

George made her feel on top of the world, and while she didn’t realize it, she made him feel the same way.

Yes, Claire and George made a wonderful couple.

As the months passed, George, every once in a while, encouraged Claire to pose near an animal pen. “Oh, Claire, how I wish you were allowed inside one of them. What a wonderful picture that would make. You’d be perfect. However, as much as I wish it, I know it would be much too dangerous and I won’t risk you being hurt.” He made sure she was never within reach of animals with long arms.

“George, I have a vacation due. Is there any chance you might be in line for one? I was thinking we could go away together.”

His smile was radiant. “Claire, that’s a wonderful idea. My vacation would begin in six weeks. Is there anywhere specific you’d like to go?”

She put her arms around him and excitedly said, “Nowhere specific. I was thinking about touring a few arboretums or nature parks.” And with a gleam in her eyes, said, “I was reading about a few places that are supposed to have magnificent zoos, unless, that is, you’re a bit tired of caged animals. If we both get three weeks off, there is always the idea of a safari!”

He grabbed her hands and squeezed. “Let’s go find the nearest travel agent and make plans.”

They laughed as they left her apartment and walked down the street.

The time spent waiting seemed to drag on and finally two days before they were supposed to board the plane for their exotic vacation, with their friends wanting to give them a happy send-off, she called to ask if he was ready. He should have arrived at her apartment thirty minutes before.

There was no answer.

She called his friend. “Sam, have you heard from George? I called and there was no answer.”

A few minutes later, Sam called Claire. “Claire, I don’t know what’s going on, but I’m on my way to George’s apartment.”

In almost a panic, she replied, “I’ll meet you there.”

She disconnected the call as she ran out the door.

As they climbed the stairs to George’s apartment, her stomach knotted with fear.

The door was locked but they had exchanged keys months before.

She placed the key in the slot and heard the lock click open. Her body began to shake.

Sam nudged her out of the way and opened the door.

He walked in first, then as Claire walked in, Sam heard her scream as she slumped to the floor.

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    so sad

  • Murali7 days ago

    I really enjoyed this story! It started out as a cute meet and then took a dark turn at the end. I can't wait to find out what happened to George!

  • Mariann Carroll12 days ago

    Did I miss something ? It started so romantic . Is there a part 2 ?

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Wait, what happened?

  • Wow! What an ending! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.