Fiction logo

The World of Letters

Poetic Prose of Memory

By Phoebe BlakePublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
The World of Letters
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Some ancient letters and some novel letters.

I never liked soup as a child. One afternoon, after lunch, a mother purchased alphabetical soup and said that if I ate it, I would learn all the letters. She deceived me, but my spirit was not convinced.

However, the letters remained the main stronghold of all my illusions. I met the power of the letters that govern my hinge and create such images in my head, from which my imagination strengthens to boundless, threatening heights.

I actually remembered my father reading to me. I remember staring at some black lines that meant nothing. When I pretended to read, my folks started to laugh. I rearranged the letters and ventured into the shadows where the legends of the daughters of Zeus are told. I would demand that my father read to me again so that I could recall the words. Out loud, everywhere. It became more and more intriguing to reach the sentences. Then everything starts to be felt in novel ways.

What does a word mean to me?

" Everything has already been written. "

It follows that everything is already out of life and done, which is not far from the truth. Despite the grey hair of printed words, people remain writing. Some are less aware of the revolutions of historical ones, and others (less happy) are fully aware, which makes them problems. Ask yourself; why we do what we do and why someone should do what we do may be the only thing we can do, yet.

Words of love. We blur the bloodiness of a world whose blood continues to flow somewhere. We never stopped talking. We say we live. From the soul, words run and grow and heal all those woven words in the ubiquitous silence of speech.

The words are worlds that are spread into the womb of the galaxy, self-proclaimed to be confirmed on the sharpness of the drowned scrolls in my belly. Words, they are, and they are not.

Words started bringing it well before bringing it ill. They, like all other forms of relief, contain some poisoning. In words, peace is triggered, the conflict calms down, puts down its conscience and words are thought, and thoughts are lived.

In words, Ares and Aphrodite merge, the bloody roll in the letters defeats the noun of sighs with warm spring and summer showers. And, not to be ambiguous about its tautological implication, but to comprehend that thinking, speaking, and writing are necessary in order to record.

Words, words, words...

What is your genealogy of the Word? Wo (as a surprise); ord (as an edge of order); rd (ready?); drow (as profound); or draw (as raffle)?

W-O-R-D. And they howl me into their fog again, making me like their cosy, juicy, soft touch; and I want to get to the essence through the heart unrest. And then they fight like old rifts and remain a victim of a spark.

In some of the worlds, opening lines are: Hey, don't be evil; the next time will be better.

Words are a passage. They are worlds that pass dimensions. But what are the words, I ask again?! Shaped mass of lands letters in which the minerals are vowels, the vitamins are the accents, with them agrees on reptiles and beetles-vowels.

The letter land where words without words cannot. What if people get numb? How to argue? How to love? How to seduce? If words did not exist, people would be viewed as loathing political beasts left without a noble instrument of communication other than whining, huffing, and glaring with malice.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Phoebe Blake

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.