Fiction logo

The Wolf in My Apartment

The night that changed my life forever

By Jade M.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3

I woke with a jolt as a shrill scream erupted through my apartment building. My chest heaved as I forced myself into a sitting position and pushed my blanket away from me. My heart felt like it might burst from my chest. I shivered, but beads of sweat were rolling down my forehead. I forced myself to take a deep breath as I struggled to calm myself.

Light from my tv bathed the room in a blue glow, and I wondered if that’s where the scream had come from. I listened for another, but the only thing I heard was the sound of rain echoing through my apartment. I reached for the remote but froze when I heard another scream.

This time the scream was louder, so I knew it couldn't have come from the tv. It was a woman's scream, and it sounded like it was coming from right outside my door. Without thinking, I leaped from my bed and padded down the hall still clad in my Pac-Man pajamas.

As soon as I pulled open the door, a coppery smell flooded my nostrils. Doesn't blood smell like copper, or at least that’s how every horror novel I’d ever read described it? It would have to be a lot of blood to smell that strong. The hall was empty, but a feeling of unease formed in the pit of my stomach. The sickening smell grew stronger with each step until I was nearly gagging from the stench.

I noticed that one of my neighbors had their door open. The woman who lived there was a makeup artist who tended to keep to herself. I couldn't remember her name, but I thought it might be Olivia. I stopped when I reached the door. Did I want to see what was inside? What if something had happened to her? I knew that I should back away and call the police, but curiosity got the better of me. I peered into the room and saw the lifeless form of Olivia. She had been wearing a black dress, but it had been ripped and shredded to the point where it no longer covered her body. Long, jagged cuts covered her back. She had pink and black hair, which was covering her face. I dove towards her, but her body was cold to the touch. It was already too late for her.

I took a step back, wondering what kind of animal could have done this to her when I saw him. He was tall and lanky, with golden eyes that seemed to glow in the darkness and a hairy face that didn’t appear entirely human. He cried out as his bones seemed to move on their own, forming into something between man and beast. Crimson stains marred his face and body, and I knew it was Olivia's blood. The monster wasn't any taller than the average man, but I knew he would still tower over me.

He opened his mouth, revealing a set of massive teeth-no, fangs. “Run,” he growled.

I didn’t know if it was a threat, or a warning, but I forced myself onto my feet and ran as fast as my legs would carry me. My legs felt like they were covered in quicksand as I rushed towards the elevator.

When I finally reached the elevator, I pushed the button frantically, as if that would make it move faster. I glanced back to see the monster following me, he was on four legs now and he'd taken on a more wolf-like appearance. He was the most massive creature I'd ever seen, larger than a normal wolf. His paw slapped at my leg, slicing it with one of his claws. Blood trickled down my leg as I kicked at the creature until I was safely in the elevator. My body shook as the creature clawed at the door for a few seconds.

I took a minute to address my wound. The cuts were deep enough that I'd need stitches, and they felt hot. I had nothing to cover it with, so my blood dripped down onto the elevator floor. I felt nauseous as the room began to spin. I dropped to the ground and vomited. I wasn’t sure what had happened to me, but I knew whatever it was had changed my life forever.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.