Fiction logo

The Wintry Visitor

A visitor from......?

By william u cowserPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
The Wintry Visitor
Photo by Bobby Stevenson on Unsplash

With the pillowy snow that surrounded my family's cabin, I looked outside the living room window and smiled as the rays of sunlight began their slow descent over the mountains. My parents would be staying in town overnight due to the roads, which suited me fine, my "visitor" that would be coming soon may put them off if they were ever to meet. The sun's last rays over the mountain, sunset changing into hues of red and violet left me a mix of calm and excitement as to what was to happen next.

"She's almost here", i said to myself. Though it had been some time since our first meeting, i wondered if she would remember me? In the dim light of evening, the snow on the ground a bluish glow, and a light flutter of snow began to fall around the cabin. I decided to make some apple cider, seemed appropriate, one cup for me, the other for my guest. The apple air smell filled the kitchen and the coffee table space as I set the two cups down.

Outside the window, the snow though light, seemed thicker as it came down. And although I could hear no wind, the front door shook lightly. Slowly, the knob began to turn, and the door opened.....

In a white dress, stood my guest. Silver hair with streaks of blue, blue-in blue eyes, we both smiled at each other as I motioned her in.

Taking her cup, we sat and reminisced silently.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

william u cowser

46yr old enjoyer of reading interesting stories, sci-fi and anime watcher, and part- time gamer during my free time. plus enjoy challenging myself in obstacle course runs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    OHHHHH loved this so much, and the blue tones being repeated was magnificent

  • Is she a ghost? I enjoyed your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.