Fiction logo

The Wicked Truth

Belief

By Kai K ColbyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

"I don't remember you." Her tone is sugary sweet, even if her eyes betray her. She has probably made this statement in one form or another at least fifty times since they'd been here. She's tired of it.

And, yet, it has no effect.

"You will." The blond man nods once, a gesture of absolute certainty that only manages to aggravate her more.

"Oh? And when will that be? When we both starve to death and die on this God-forsaken island?"

"You wouldn't have to starve to death if you'd just eat what they provide."

"They, who?" She can't hide the bite in her words, and the collar around her neck gives her a sharp jolt.

"Goddammit!" Another jolt, her fingers digging into the sand as she bites down another curse.

"And what about you?" She asks the question through gritted teeth, blinking up at the man with her light green eyes.

"What about me?"

Dammit, he annoys her with his smug tone and his warm eyes. He's a master at this stupid game, and it makes her wonder if he is the one behind it all.

"You don't eat it." She takes a deep breath, exhaling slowly as she pulls her body upright again, studying him curiously.

"No. I don't need to. You know that, Elliot."

"That's not -" She pauses, gulping down the anger that clings to her words before taking a deep breath and trying again.

"That isn't my name. My name is Ella. I've told you that."

"You have." There is a quiet beeping sound, prompting them both to pause their conversation, backing away from the flat rock between them to watch it in anticipation.

After a moment, the image of a young woman appears. She is bound and bloodied, but it no longer shocks Ella like it used to. She has seen it so many times.

"Your topic: First Love. Begin." Her clear voice fills the air around them, making it unmistakeably clear that this island they inhabit is not entirely real. Not as she understands reality, at least. And then the image is gone. And they are left. Looking at each other. Waiting for someone to speak.

"My Father." His tenor voice both soothes and aggravates her, igniting some nostalgic memory deep within her that she can't quite pinpoint. She wants to roll her eyes but, instead, she raises her brows in interest.

"I am because he willed it. He crafted me with loving hands, and I was born to love him." He shakes his head, licking his lips and looking out toward the black sea that taunts them with its endless existence, its perpetual freedom.

"And now? Do you?" Ella is studying him, begging him to give her anything she can use against him, anything to cause him some of the pain she has endured.

"Yes." His voice breaks, and he looks seconds away from crying, but the collar doesn't punish sadness. No... only anger earns the shock.

"But I love you more, Elliot. I always have. My completion. My absolution." He's staring at her with enough intensity to make her uncomfortable, and she looks away, shaking her head in response.

"Look, man." She swallows down hard, finding the courage to look at her companion with something resembling compassion.

"When we woke up here, I didn't know you from Adam. I still don't. I have a life, and I remember it well. I have a girlfriend who is waiting for me to come home, a partner who needs me back at the firm. I am not who you think I am. The only thing you are to me is the person keeping me from my life. So please... please. Stop this delusional bullshit and admit that you're wrong!"

The shock that follows hardly phases her. She keeps her eyes on the man in front of her, examining his beautiful blue eyes for any sign of remorse.

"But I'm not." She exhales forcefully, trying to ignore how heartbroken he looks, trying to pretend she doesn't see the tears in his eyes.

The beeping stops things again, the silver-haired woman appearing once more.

"Your topic: Greatest Lie. Begin." And she is gone, leaving the two alone together. He opens his mouth to begin, but Ella beats him to it, surprising them both.

"I don't love her." She shakes her head, excited to beat him to the punch, but also terrified, knowing she has to go through with what she's started.

"I've always felt something was missing. She's loving and sweet and beautiful and kind, but... she doesn't... she isn't..." She takes a deep breath, closing her eyes and searching for the words she's trying to say.

"She isn't... the one." When her eyes find his, he's once again full of sympathy, hands resting gently on his knees as he studies her with eyes full of regret.

"She couldn't be. She isn't even real."

Before she can respond, the woman appears again, gray eyes as vacant as always.

"For Elliott. A gift from Father." And then she is gone. In her place lies a package wrapped in brown paper, Elliott's name written elegantly across its side.

Both parties stare at it for a long moment, the silence finally growing too loud for Ella to ignore. She lunges forward, grabbing the package quickly before returning back to her little spot.

"What do you reckon it might be?" She runs her fingers across the brown twine wrapped around it, glancing up at her companion questioningly.

"I suppose there is only one way to know." His soft smile calms her fears, and she nods, turning back to the box, pulling the string slowly, and setting it aside. She pulls back the paper wrapping, her impatience growing as she finally lifts the flaps of the box.

"Sam!" She gasps quietly, meeting her companion's gaze again, shocked even further by the shock reflected in his sky blue eyes.

"I... we..." She bites her bottom lip, looking into the box one more time before closing the flaps.

"I understand." With that, she hurls the box into the make-believe sea, taking a deep breath and turning her green eyes to her cohort.

"Sam. I'm sorry. You don't have to please him anymore. That's why we're here. That's why I brought us here."

As the key sinks to the bottom of the ocean, their collars begin to crumble away.

The mind can make of Hell a Paradise.

A new world.

Something no man has ever truly known.

"Sam. We are free."

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Kai K Colby

pursuing my passion and my dream

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.