Fiction logo

The Wicked Doesn't Rest

Soul Exchange - The Devil May Care

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 10 min read
3
Cover/Logo is designed by me by using Canva Pro

Synopsis:

All humans received a Guardian Angel and a Guardian Demon. After awakening in Hell, we could choose between rehabilitation or becoming a Guardian Demon.

I chose the latter, gambling on a better life in Hell.

The Devil May Care Official Cover - Design by me by using Canva Pro

Previously on Are You Going To Be My Guy? - The Devil May Care Chapter Two...

Read the Second Issue of Devil May Care: Are You Going To Be My Guy? here

---

Disclosure: Please note that if you choose to click on a link and make a purchase, I may receive cash compensation. Rest assured that I only recommend products that I personally find helpful or enjoyable, and that I believe may also be of interest to you. Click here to find out who I am currently partnered with and affiliated with.

Discover high-performance productivity and security tools with Microsoft 365. Follow the link to learn more.

Disclaimer: Contains mature content. This is a paranormal romance.

Trigger warning: This chapter includes and/or implies sex, death, suicide, and violence. Please note that every thing here is FICTIONAL and in no way does it glorify or promote these themes.

Reader discretion is HIGHLY advised.

Chapter Three: The Wicked Doesn't Rest

I didn't have a name.

When I arrived in Hell just like the others, I was clueless why I was there. Some were able to recover their identities while I didn't. The only thing I remembered was the feeling of hopelessness and the inability to forgive myself.

I didn't know how long I stayed in Hell. Time moved differently there and a minute on Earth could be an eternity down there. So, I wandered until my feet bled, and sprinted away from the mindless beasts that chased after me.

Once, I have trusted an Entity while I was there.

However, I only ended up as his rat lab. Every night, he would visit my cell so he could extract whatever he desired. Since I didn't own a true mortal body, everything he took away would eventually grow back.

Unfortunately, Hell made sure that pain was something I would never forget.

When the Entity was finally bored of tearing pieces of me, he decided that I was pretty enough to to ease his physical desires. Sadly for him, I was a fast learner and I listened to his scientific rants every time he sliced me up.

Oh, how I relished in his screams!

He begged, as ugly tears streamed down from those hollow sockets of his. Oh! Praise Satan! I have never heard something as sweet and as musical like that.

When he no longer satisfied the raging vengeance inside me, I decided to make a meal out of him. Even when his meat left a sickening taste on my tongue, I savoured each moment of it.

I wanted more.

I wanted power.

No longer I would beg for salvation.

I will be my own salvation.

And where other place could I get more power but Hell itself? His memories showed me so. Thus, like the beasts who used to chase me, I went after them as I lusted for the majick that coursed through their veins.

After consuming countless of beasts and hounds, I have learned through their memories, that clawed for dominance in my brain, that I had a bounty on my soul. Unlike my other peers, I didn't choose rehabilitation like I was supposed to.

I didn't know that was an option.

If I did, would I be where I was now?

Who knew. All I cared about then was satisfying the insatiable hunger growing inside me. In consequence, I started attacking wandering souls who used to be just like me. Some deserved it and some...I had my regrets.

In my conquest, I accidentally wandered in a field that brimmed with life. Colourful flowers smelled sickly sweet, fireflies buzzed about, and the light breeze caressed my skin.

However, what truly stood out to me was the Immortal who was sitting by the dead tree. He had long ivory hair that put silk into shame. Blinding light surrounded him which devoured the darkness that could only be found in hell.

He was beautiful.

And his name was Helel.

Or what the modern mortals liked to call him: Lucifer, the Morningstar.

The Fallen. The Corrupted. The Deceiver.

"Hello, little one," he said without moving his mouth. "You look ravenous. Would you care for a bite?"

He held out an apple and although his tone was innocent enough, his silver eyes told a different story. I felt his violence and rage, which rendered my own insignificant in comparison.

"Would it give me power?" I asked and although my knees threatened to buckle at each step, I walked toward him without averting my gaze.

"Is that what you desire?"

Stopping just in front of him, I replied, "It is what I crave the most."

My answer must have pleased him since he was immediately on his feet with a wide grin across his face.

"Then power you shall have," he promised as he bit into the apple. Then gently parting my lips with his thumb, his mouth met mine.

A piece of apple landed gently onto my tongue.

---

"Dr. Evette De la Cruz?" A young man named L. Peterson, who looked far too overworked, entered the waiting room. His eyebags took a permanent residence on his face as he tried to hide a yawn behind his clipboard.

I flipped back my dark hair and pretended to straighten my black office dress. Although the length was appropriate and it barely showed skin, the fabric tastefully hugged my curves.

"That would be me, but you can call me Eve instead. Evette is too formal," I said in that sickly, sweet, innocent voice which would normally make me gag.

However, the wicked did not rest and if I must assume a different personality to get everyone to trust in me, then damn that was what I would do.

When his eyes landed on me, he took a big gulp. I kept my make-up light and wore coke sized glasses which seemed to be the new trend nowadays. Poor Peterson, obviously not immune to the needs of human flesh, hid his growing discomfort in his pants with the clipboard.

Humans. Weak and pathetic creatures they are. I thought, but seeing how I affected him caressed my ego well.

"Dr. Angelo Solis is ready to see you." He coughed as he led the way. He gripped the clipboard as he quietly cursed himself for not being virtuous enough.

I tried to hold in my laughter and stop the urge to further embarass him for my own amusement. Instead, I observed the pristine glass offices that we passed by.

Although there were meetings being held, no sound could be heard in the hallway. Others have stopped presenting when I met their eyes, and I took a mental note of which humans looked delicious enough to snack on.

We stopped in front of the office at the end of the hallway. It was the only one that didn't have glass walls and that had a polished oak door. The golden plaque nailed on it read: Dr. Angelo Solis, Chief Scientific Officer.

Peterson knocked once and a voice that was all too familiar answered, "Thank you, Mr. Peterson. Let her in."

I plastered a grateful smile at Peterson before he left Sorath - sorry, Dr. Angelo Solis and I in the office.

"Why am I not surprised?" I scoffed, dropping my mask. "Chief Scientific Officer? Really, now."

He leaned on his desk, his cardigan sleeves were neatly rolled up to the crook of his elbows, and just like me, he wore glasses. Aside from the triumphant smirk on his face of which I was sure was his normal expression, his get up made him look more approachable.

"Claws out, already. Wow. Is that how you should thank your new employer?"

"Go to hell." I snorted as I pulled out a chair for myself and crossed my legs. His eyes followed the movement and I had to stop myself from rolling my eyes. "So, how do you want to do this? Do you want to interview me? Ask me what my past experiences were?"

When he didn't say anything else, I continued. "Should I talk about how hard working I am and how I would do everything to achieve my goals?"

He dropped his grin as he stalked toward me but stopped midway when another knock demanded our attention. In a flash, he was sitting behind his desk and I had the seat in front of his. My hands were neatly folded on my lap as I assumed a friendlier expression.

"Sir? Dr. Apollyon is here," Peterson announced.

"Thank you again, Mr. Peterson. Let him in."

Hunter entered, looking far more haggard than this morning. His dark hair was disheveled and his eyes were red from staring at screens for far too long. If it weren't for the unhealthy amounts of caffeine that he regularly consumed, he would have fallen asleep on his feet.

"Hunter!" Sorath warmly greeted him.

Hunter pressed his nose bridge. "Sir, I'm sorry for not being able to meet the deadlines -"

"Hunter." Sorath's tone softened. "I did not call you here about that."

"Eh?" Finally realizing that I was in the room, his hazel eyes met mine. His mouth opened and shut, as if he thought that I was someone he met before. Which was odd since I have never assumed a human appearance before him until now.

"This is Dr. Evette De la Cruz. She has some experience in genetics." I briefly met Sorath's eyes, catching the subtle tone difference. Hunter did not, however. "She will be your personal assistant. Don't worry though, she is not here to take over your work. She is here to learn. After all, we pride our institute for our teaching abilities."

"I see," Hunter muttered. He walked toward me and held out his hand for me to shake. I stood up and smiled while I firmly shook his hand.

"It is an honour to work for you Dr. Apollyon," I eagerly exclaimed. "I've read so much about you and your work!"

I did. But I didn't read it to help with his research like Hunter expected me to. After all, I wasn't here on Earth to bring light and love.

I was here to ruin this man's life and everyone else that would get in my way.

Blush crept up his face, obviously uncomfortable with compliments. "Please, call me Hunter. We'll be working together. There is no need to be so formal with me."

I laughed and it sounded far too meek for my liking. "Well, in that case, call me Eve then."

At the corner of my eye, I saw Sorath raise a brow.

"Eve," Hunter nodded. "That has a nice ring to it."

Of course, it does.

"Doesn't it?" I agreed.

"Well," Sorath clapped his hands. "Now that you two are acquianted, I trust you two to enlighten us with more knowledge in the near future. Hunter, show Eve around and get her up to speed. Afterwards, please for the love of that is all holy, get something to eat and sleep!"

"Yes sir," Hunter nodded and with final pleasantries, we took our leave.

See you tonight, Eve. Sorath's voice echoed in my head. I glanced back and kissed my middle finger before I shut the door behind us.

I may have been more forgiving if he didn't dupe me just earlier, but he did.

And I was not the type to turn the other cheek.

---

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it!

Note: the chapter name is based on Ain't no rest for the wicked by Cage the Elephant.

Other than me fangirling about anime, books, comics, and shows/movies that I watch, I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

Speaking of anime, have you seen The Way of the Househusband yet?

"The Way of the Househusband" SHIBAINU Apron

If not, you're missing out! Click here to see my quick review of it.

Have you Heard of The Way of the Househusband Anime Series?

If you are also looking to build a website for your blogs, hobbies, store, or for anything at all, I recommend Bluehost.

Check out Bluehost here

If you would like to learn more, read my article: Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders.

Why Bluehost is Perfect for Novice Website Builders

P.S. I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, and/or leaving me a tip. If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

FantasySeriesHorror
3

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.