Fiction logo

The Warning of Cocoa

The Mouse Who Knew Too Much

By Leona ValentinePublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Selena Vladowski was a young entrepreneur, and she loved the idea of living in a mansion. She came across a luxurious mansion with a “For Sale” sign, and eventually, bought it.

The mansion had everything she wanted. It was surrounded by acres of well-manicured gardens with fountains. It was also an architectural masterpiece, boasting a grand and imposing exterior.

As Selena entered the mansion, she was greeted by a spacious foyer with high ceilings and marble flooring. The walls were adorned with oil paintings. The main staircase with red carpet was wide and majestic. All the rooms were spacious and opulent.

Selena's bedroom was a sanctuary that featured a king-sized bed and an ornate dresser with a large mirror. The walls were painted in rouge, and the matching curtains were made of silk. The room had a walk-in closet that could rival a small boutique, complete with rows of designer clothes, shoes, and handbags.

One night, Selena noticed a tiny, brown mouse in her bedroom. It did not bother her that the mouse was staring at her from the floor. In fact, the mouse reminded her of an old pet.

She smiled at the mouse and leaned forward. "Hello. Oh my, you are cute. Are you lost?"

To her surprise, the mouse unexpectedly spoke. "No."

Selena gasped as she jumped back.

The mouse moved closer to her. "Please don't be afraid of me. I’m Cocoa."

Selena remained speechless as she stared at Cocoa with her widened eyes.

"What is your name?" Cocoa asked.

Selena reluctantly moved forward. "Selena. I never thought a mouse could talk."

"I guess I'm one of the lucky ones." Cocoa innocently giggled.

Selena gradually smiled as her fear was subsiding.

"Do you like it here?" Cocoa asked.

Selena carefully moved closer to Cocoa. "Actually, I love it here. It's a place I dreamt of living in."

Cocoa smiled. "I'm glad you're not afraid of me. Not many humans like mice."

Selena went down on her knees to make herself comfortable. "Well, I had a pet mouse when I was little. Her name was Lily. Sadly, Lily ran out of the house and was run over by a car."

Cocoa jaw dropped out of sadness. "I'm sorry. You must loved her very much."

"She was my best friend," Selena responded.

Cocoa smiled. "I can be your friend."

Selena slowly smiled, finding the idea comforting. "I would like that."

That was the beginning of their friendship. For months, Cocoa would often come out of hiding to see Selena. The two would talk and laugh. They had a special bond, like Selena had with Lily - only she was able to engage in conversations with Cocoa.

Six months later, Cocoa appeared before Selena in her bedroom, looking unusually serious.

"Selena, I have something important to tell you," Cocoa said.

"What is it?" Selena asked, intrigued.

"I never told you this, but I have been living in this mansion since it was built in 1945, and I have seen things that you wouldn't believe," Cocoa said. "This mansion is haunted by a very powerful demon named Severen. He has been here since the mansion was built, and he won't rest until he takes over the souls of everyone who lives here."

Selena laughed, thinking that Cocoa was joking. "That's impossible. How could you know such things? You lived that long?"

"Yes. Believe me, Selena. I have seen Severen's powers firsthand," Cocoa said. "Please, you need to leave this mansion before it's too late. Sephiroth won't spare anyone."

Selena went into a state of confusion. "If this is true, why didn't you tell me in the first place?"

"Well." Cocoa was feeling overwhelmed with guilt. "I wanted your friendship. I never had a friend before. Those who lived here were afraid of me, and they would ignore me. Then, they would end up being Severen's victims. You were never afraid, and you wanted to be my friend. Severen's birthday is in seven days. That is when he steals the souls of his victims. I figured I would enjoy our friendship until we get closer to his birthday. Selena, I'm so sorry." She lowered her head as she started to cry.

Selena ignored Cocoa's warnings because she did not believe in ghosts and demons.

Seven nights later, a loud noise woke Selena up in the middle of the night. She saw a demonic creature standing in front of her.

The creature stood over seven feet tall with a muscular frame. His skin was dark red. He had pointed ears, and his black hair was long, flowing down his back in untamed waves. His hands and feet ended in sharp, black claws that were capable of tearing through solid stone. He wore a tattered cloak made of blackened leather, which swirled around him in an ominous fashion as he moved. This creature was Severen.

Selena tried to scream, but her voice was trapped in her throat.

Severen's eyes glowed red with an otherworldly intensity, and his deep voice had a hint of malice. "I have come for you, Selena. Your soul is mine," he said.

Selena tried to fight back, but she was no match for Severen's powers. He grabbed her, and before she knew it, she was whisked away to the darkness.

Hours later, Cocoa scurried into the bedroom, looking for Selena. Cocoa knew that Severen had taken her soul. She felt utterly guilty and wished she had done more to convince Selena to leave the mansion. She had tried to warn her, but Selena did not believe her.

Cocoa continued to live in the mansion, but it was never the same without Selena. Every night, she would pray for Selena's soul and hoped that one day, she would find peace.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.