Fiction logo

The War of Rumgar

Chapter 1 - What do you do when you face a beast?

By A. MarlerPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
https://www.istockphoto.com/photo/great-castle-dark-with-strong-rays-and-lightning-gm1188598734-336210013

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. It was said that dragons were common to the land of Rumgar, but many years had passed without seeing any and they became a myth. Yet, here I was, face to face with one and nothing to defend myself.

How do you fight a beast that wasn't supposed to be real? You run. That is exactly what I did.

Adrenaline was coursing rapidly through my veins and I knew it was only a matter of time before my body gave way to exhaustion. I hurdled fallen branches, each becoming more difficult than the last. I used the trees to my advantage. They were obstacles the dragon had no choice but to avoid. Each turn I made, each jump and twist, I waited, expecting the claws to crash around me or flames to erupt and turn me to ash. Instead all the dragon did was chase. It roared, snapping at me if I ever slowed too much. I didn't have time to wonder. All I could do was move. I knew the trees well and, more importantly, I knew where they ended. In the hopes of finally ending the chase, I put on a last burst of speed, weaving faster back and forth. The dragon followed almost willingly.

At last I reached the cliff. I was resigned to die if that meant I could finally rest. I sent a quick prayer to the gods and then let myself fall, spinning to catch the thick roots I knew would be sticking out of the side. The dragon, too, fell. I let myself lose track of the beast as my hands slipped from the root. What would be my preference of death? Falling from this cliff or getting eaten by a dragon? I found myself choosing the latter, knowing the story would place me in a heroic light. Or perhaps the tale would be of the foolish farmer who was daft enough to encounter such a beast. There was no way I was risking being a foolish farmer.

My hands finally found a firm grip and I risked looking to find the dragon. I expected to find the body far below or see its enormous fangs clamping into my flesh. Instead I spotted it, just having gained air from the unexpected fall, thrusting its wings in slow, strong beats to balance and take to the sky. It gave one last call that vibrated the dirt around me and made me cling tighter to my lifeline, and then flew west, slowly disappearing from view.

I wanted to laugh in my triumph. The adrenaline was already leaving my body and my fingers were losing their grip. I clawed my way back over the edge and collapsed, weak from the exertion and amazed at having survived. I fell to the ground, rolling over to my back, my arms outstretched on either side. I looked up at the sky with a smile. "Thank the gods!" I whispered.

"Rowan!" The name was called from the jovial drunk waiting at the bar. A ridiculous smile jumped to Rowan's lips as he joined his friend.

"Slade, I see you've begun celebrating rather early today." He clapped his shoulder firmly with one hand and held out the other to grasp Slade's in greeting.

Slade eyed him with a cocky smile. "Every day we are alive is a day to celebrate!" He patted his large belly, his face red with the drink. "I must get you one as well! The usual?"

Rowan smiled, considering how good an ale would taste after the day he'd had. But instead he shook his head, watching Slade's face fall slightly. "It will have to be another time." Rowan then slapped a coin on the counter and called over to the barkeep. "Another for my friend."

Slade's face lit. "Have I ever told you how much I cherish our friendship?" He took the tankard that had been set before him and gulped eagerly. The foam bubbled on his upper lip. "So where are you off to, then?"

Rowan leaned in closer to speak low. "Depends. What do you know of dragons?"

Slade snorted into the drink. He coughed, wiping his face with his dirty sleeve. "Dragons, unicorns, the little fairies that hide the things we can't find...what other mythical creature can I amuse you with?"

Rowan leaned on the counter, looking Slade in the eye expectantly.

"Oh, you're serious."

"I just barely managed to escape one not long ago at the cliffs off Trader's Woods." Rowan's voice was a whisper.

Slade looked at the liquid in the tankard, considering, then downed it quickly. Rowan couldn't help feeling slightly impressed. One thing Slade was good at, besides somehow knowing everything about anything was being a professional drunk. His cheerful nature and ability to remain cognitive while drinking made him a perfect resource for information. Not many people paid attention to the regular drunk and that made him one of the most important people in the Valley. "Where did you find it?"

Rowan recalled the events. After the usual start to the morning trying to get Lebernam to plow the fields, he'd given up on the old horse and taken a break behind his father's farm. The dragon had seemed to appear from no where. He had run right into the trees not far from his property, hoping to keep the dragon from the town center. "It's strange, he admitted, the dragon could have breathed fire at me or come at me as I was hanging uselessly off the cliff but instead it just flew away."

Slade shrugged. "My knowledge on dragons is about less than nothing. At this point you know more than I do. Even though the myths say they breathe fire, maybe they really don't. Perhaps they are no more than an overgrown lizard."

Rowan closed his eyes, trying to remember the maps of the area and the direction the dragon flew. "It might have passed over Madea." He opened his eyes with slight eagerness. "Maybe I can learn something there."

"Like what?" Slade said with slight disdain, "How to grovel at the feet of the Lords? You wouldn't find anything there that you didn't already know here."

"Maybe," he pondered out loud. "Maybe not." He leaned forward with earnest, "I feel called to this, Slade. What is stopping me?"

"Your father's farm."

Rowan sighed. "I'm not a farmer. He died long ago and I can't keep it up. I'll sell it when I return."

Slade gave him a long look, then shook his head. "You won't be returning, friend. Once you leave, I know you won't return until your adventure has run its course...if that." He passed Rowan a purse of coins. It surprised Rowan that the Valley's drunk had been carrying it around with him. "That should be enough to pay for the farm." He held up a hand as Rowan made to protest. "You'll need money for your journey. I'll sell the farm off to someone else, maybe make a slight profit." He smiled at the thought.

Rowan faced his friend and reached out a hand. Slade took it firmly. "You've been a great ally to me. I sincerely hope our paths cross again soon."

"Not too soon I hope," Slade smiled, "I expect an epic tale. And if I don't hear whispers of your adventures coming through this very bar I will track you down myself to give you a swift kick in the arse."

The heavy doors opened as an alarmed figure strode to the front of the room. The man's face was pale and wrinkled, his hooded eyes darting around the room. He wore a heavy black robe that flew out behind him in his quick pace. Once he reached the man sitting on the throne, he sunk to his knees, his hands clutched within the folds of his sleeves. He gulped quickly, "My Lord, the prisoner has escaped."

The man on the throne only leaned forward slightly, his eyes boring into the top of the man's bald scalp. "How?"

"I could not say, my lord."

"Could not say, or will not?" The man's lip curled in slight disgust. He snapped his fingers, making the robed man jump to his feet. "Find her, you idiot."

"At once, my lord. Right away." He bobbed his head, hurrying quickly from the room with a quick breath of relief.

The man on the throne sat back again and rubbed his fingers together. Then he stood and made his way to the dungeon. He walked purposefully, knowing what he would find. Sure enough, he found the girl's cell empty. He turned and made his way up to a different area of the castle. While it wasn't considered a dungeon, one of the rooms had remained locked and guarded. There was satisfaction in opening the door and finding the other prisoner still bound inside. He closed the door silently behind him and sat down in a chair across the room. The dirty face that looked back at him was bound from speaking, but the eyes said it all. So much hatred filled those dark eyes. It made him smile. "Your sister escaped." As he had expected, the eyes cooled in relief. It gave him all the more pleasure to continue. "Shortly we will find her. When we do, you'll have the pleasure of watching as I slowly tear her skin from her body. As you know, I don't need both of you. I especially don't need both of you in one piece. Just...functional enough." He gave a quick smile and stood, ignoring the daggers that were flying from the dark eyes. "We both know she wouldn't leave her brother. So, it'll only be a matter of time. Tick, tick, tick." He left the room, bolting the door behind him, ignoring the muffled yells of profanities.

"Keep a close eye," he said to the guard.

The guard nodded. "My lord."

A smile grew on the man's face as he walked the halls. How long had it been since he had stained them with the blood of his enemies? His triumph over taking the kingdom had only grown once the entire country of Rumgar fell to its knees before him. He'd heard the rumblings growing louder as more and more time passed. Despite the budding hope that one day they would be free of his rule, there was something that the people of Rumgar didn't know. Those foolish enough to hope that the Old King's line would once again be restored and Rumgar would be saved were going to be devastated when they found out that the children had never left the castle. Soon he would claim the girl as his bride. He found himself eager for the day when the girl would stand next to him as his queen. Her hope would be as dead as her witless father. She wouldn't have a choice. Her brother's life depended on her compliance. He knew that she could count on him to always keep his word. Lord Bezduse always kept his word.

My hands closed around the cold grate and I pushed it open, feeling the resistance. Even though my strength had greatly been diminished, I still managed to push it open enough to squeeze through. I squinted, my hand rising to block the sudden light from the moon. I had been in the dark for too long. I hunched against the stone walls of the place I had once loved as my home. My heart ached for my brother as I thought of him trapped somewhere inside. While I hated to leave him behind, I knew he would be safe. Safe enough. I knew Lord Bezduse enough by now to know that I should only fear for his safety if I got caught. So it was simple. I couldn't get caught.

I'd run through the plan in my mind over and over for the past eight years. I knew the castle well from my explorations as a young child. I especially knew the tunnels that Leod and I had run many times to escape lessons. After that, all I had to rely on was faith. Father had spoken of a friend to our family. I only hoped that his loyalties still remained. Grasping the worn blanket close to my small figure, I hurried away from the castle, determined in my duty. I had to move with thoughtful care. Everything depended on this moment: freedom for me, freedom for my brother and freedom for Rumgar.

Adventure

About the Creator

A. Marler

I primarily write fictional stories, varying in time periods and sub-genres. Constructive criticism is always welcome as I want to continue to improve!

I am a mom of 3 rambunctious boys with a love of many, many things!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Nathaniel Warren2 years ago

    That was very well written and engaging! I very much enjoyed your usage and choice of verbs. I am sure this will be a standout in the challenge.

A. MarlerWritten by A. Marler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.