Fiction logo

The Walk

A Short Story

By Kayleigh TurnerPublished about a year ago 2 min read
The Walk
Photo by Benjamin Voros on Unsplash

We walked, teeth chattering, calves burning and fingers so cold, they couldn’t really be used as fingers at all. Other than the occasional clumsy bumping of shoulders – due to my unreliable balance – we never touch. I focus, measuring each stride. Every time I dare to lift my eyes from the fresh layer of leaf cover, towards the canopy’s mysterious upper reaches, my face absorbs what feels like the full force of the phantom wind. It whispers and flutters around my ears, sending delicate waves through my hair.

The phantom curls around my body, threatening to swallow me whole. It teases my centre of gravity. My feet, constantly on the verge of lift-off, waltz with the wisps of leaves encircling them. My legs grow stiff. They no longer wish to move. My efforts of mobilising them are hopeless. Before I can say anything, Caide’s sturdy hands are on my shoulders, gripping them firmly. He is the only hope I have, of not collapsing in a heap on the damp earth, still, beneath my boots.

“Your lips are blue, Thea,” Caide slowly surveys my face, a shimmer of concern glazes his eyes and strengthens their hold on me. “Let’s head back. I’m worried you’ll get sick, if we go any further into the forest,” He grasps my hands. Warmth radiates from them, into my numbing fingers. “You’re frozen,” He drops his eyes to the ground, momentarily studying the vibrant carpet of leaf litter, before returning to stare at me, with now burning eyes.

Without warning, he scoops me up into his arms. I let out a surprised squeak. After I regain my breathing, steadying it to a shallow pant, I look up at him, taking in his strong features. His chiselled jaw and cheekbones, intensified by the late day’s shadows. With deep-set eyes, their dark shade gentle, serious and daring all at once – he observes the surrounding landscape. I watch the reflection of the setting sun sink from his eyes, no longer illuminating the hidden flecks of amber buried deep in their depths.

I relax, pressing the side of my face into his chest. He tilts his face down towards mine, his bronze curls drifting loose in the cool breeze. I unconsciously grin at the thought of him. His features soften, a smile hovering over his lips.

Rhythmic shivers ripple through my body. An intense shudder contorts my vision. Caide stiffens and tightens his arms around me. I clench my teeth, desperate for some internal control. A subtle ringing fills my ears. It echoes and amplifies. I shut my eyes, so tight it hurts. My thoughts are overwhelmed by the unbearable cold, clinging to my entire body. It’s engulfing my internal organs. I barely have a chance to scream out, before I’m overcome by a sickly darkness.

Short Story

About the Creator

Kayleigh Turner

Welcome.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kayleigh TurnerWritten by Kayleigh Turner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.