Fiction logo

The Voice

A Story Every Day in 2024 April 15th 106/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 16 days ago 2 min read
12
The Voice
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

She was sat there, reading her book when she heard it. It was low, with a timbre that spoke to her on some level deeper than aurally. There was a laconic speed to it, like it was drifting out of its owner's mouth casually and with swagger, masculine swagger which spoke of sexiness and long mornings in white sheets in bright tastefully decorated rooms. It was the Mick Jagger of voices, exuding a confidence, a knowingness that was making her tingle at the prospect of exploration and fulfillment with the finding out.

The voice had aroused more than just her interest.

Irene was not prone to such flights of fancy. She had come into town for a new bread board and to have a few moments to herself. When she was given the chance, she liked to sit in a sophisticated coffee shop, treat herself to a cappuccino and cake and read her book, sat in a little world of her own making, letting her imagination take her off somewhere strange for a moment or two. Sometimes, she'd watch people coming and going and ruminate on their lives, but mostly, she liked the feeling of the image she had created of herself: educated, self-possessed woman, confidently indulging in the things that she knew would bring her pleasure and calm.

So when The Voice, as it would ever more be known to her when she thought of it, strode boldly into her consciousness, she let it do what it would with her. She forgot her book, she picked up her cappuccino and she sipped it with a delicacy, a savouring that matched her inner desire.

It really was quite remarkable, the way it made her feel. She had no idea what had been said.

And now, having reached the end of her time of repose, she was faced with a dilemma: should she look or should The Voice's owner remain a mystery?

Tall, dark, smouldering, sexy was her vision, as The Voice suggested but what if The Voice was all he had? She moved her head towards it but realised she couldn't bear the disappointment! She gathered her things and walked straight out.

The Voice remained intact.

***

366 words

I love voices. The right pitch, coupled with an accent, and a delivery that speaks to you on some other level. I am the same about singers. If their voices grate at all, then I find it difficult to rave about their music regardless of melody or orchestration. It takes something away from it.

And so, I took that idea of finding a voice enormously appealing, beguiling and resonating with you deep inside where it connects to an innate knowledge of what you are attracted to and making a story from it.

Should Irene have looked?

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers!

106/366

PsychologicalMicrofictionFantasy
12

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk15 days ago

    Rachel, Satan beguiled Eve with his voice...Adam was moved by what he saw in Eve. Women are seduced by sound...this reminds me of a story I'm about to write...one of my memoirs. Thank you for the inspiration and jolt to my memory.

  • John Cox15 days ago

    Although I agree with DK, reference a voice that does not match the speaker, the world Irene has chosen to live in may be enormous in a Walter Mitty sort of fashion, but it is narrow in every other respect. It is possible to have a life of the mind and one outside of it. Excellent and thought-provoking writing as per always, Rachel.

  • D.K. Shepard15 days ago

    Loved the concept at play here! It can be so jarring when a voice doesn’t seem to fit its speaker and she seems content with her imagination

  • Gerard DiLeo15 days ago

    A really interesting sensibility you explore here.

  • Paul Stewart15 days ago

    I adore voices and accents...so this was very clever and relatable. Well done on a scintilating little tale!

  • Caroline Craven15 days ago

    Oh this is so very clever. I am always amazed by how different people look to how they sound. I used to find this with work a lot.... Think Irene showed an incredible amount of restraint. I would have chucked the book down and been gazing round the room! Great one Rachel.

  • Hannah Moore15 days ago

    Ooh, I love her restraint. What a gift to herself.

  • Mark Gagnon15 days ago

    My first impulse would be to look. I never find the woulda. coulda, shoulda's, in life to be very satisfying.

  • Caroline Jane16 days ago

    With you on voices. Hugely influencing. Would I have looked? Yes. I am too curious a cat to not. 😆❤️

  • D. J. Reddall16 days ago

    Mysteries are especially enthralling when they remain unsolved! Deftly done!

  • Omgggg, I love voices too! I love guys who have deep voices and the sleepy/morning voice of a guy. That shit sexy as hell! Lol. In my opinion, Irene shouldn't have looked because I've had the same experience as her and was so disappointed hahahah. Loved your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.