Fiction logo

The Unknown World

What’s that I see?

By Salina LehnPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Ever wonder what lies beneath the sky limits? Is there a world of unknown that we have no idea about where everything is completely different? Or maybe it is the exact same.. let me tell you a story of this time where all of my daydreams of this unknown world came true…

It was mid October in Wisconsin so the weather was getting crisp and cool where sweater weather and sipping pumpkin spice lattes were in. Everyone was getting their Halloween decor up to welcome and spook all of the trick or treaters for the year! It’s definitely my favorite time of year… or was.

My neighbor was a little old lady that really got into every season. She was the sweet lady that gave cookies to all the neighborhood kids. Everyone knew who she was in town and stopped by her house to always say hello and check in. Her husband passed away years ago, so she was all alone in her old Victorian home that she lived her whole life. She had kids, but no one ever saw them come around too often. I mean, I am not one to say anything about kids or family not visiting. I never like to pry for information, and I do not think it’s anyone’s business. Little did I know, I would be finding out the reasons why, this spooky Halloween.

Now I am not a believer of much unless I am shown the facts. I always keep an open mind, but I will never truly decide what I believe until there is hard evidence splashing in my face.

One night I am sitting up later than I normally do just binge watching the newest series for the week. All of the sudden, a couple of cars pull up to my sweet, old neighbors house. I have never seen her have visitors this late at night! It was Midnight! I had to ease my mind and make sure all was okay.

Getting off the couch, I struggle to get my boots and sweater on to take the hike over to her house. I grab a flashlight, my phone, and some water just in case it is nothing. She does like to talk and my mouth gets parched at times if it ends up being a while. Walking over there, I hear a man and lady’s voice saying, “We are only here one night. As soon as we get confirmation, we will take her with us.”

What?! Take her with them?! What are they even talking about? I walk up. “Hi, I am the neighbor. Is everything okay here?”

They stare blankly at me like I was this annoying little kid that is getting into mischief. The lady was tall and slender. She had a resemblance of my neighbor’s face, but a lot younger. The man was bigger built and looked like one of those professional wrestlers that could take out anyone. To say I was not intimidated, would be a lie. I was terrified!

She finally said, “Oh! You must be the neighbor my mother talks about!”

“Yes! I live next door. Your mother gets a lot of visitors, but never this late. I just wanted to check to see if she is okay.”

Her daughter proceeded to let me in the house. All I could think is thank goodness I brought my water.

My neighbor looked at me terrified! She shrieked, “Why are you here?! You must go home!”

This was not like my neighbor. She always welcomed everyone with open arms into her house. I wouldn’t think that time would have even mattered to her.

Her daughter looked at us and just laughed. “Mom, the more the merrier! She can come with us too!”

Here’s where I should have made a mad dash! But I didn’t. I was mesmerized. Her daughter suddenly had this green glow to her literally! Her presence was entrancing. This green ring appeared around her and her husband. She motioned for me to come closer. I couldn’t believe it, but it’s like something forced me to come to her. I couldn’t stop!

Next thing I know, I am in this tunnel. It is like I am flying through this Milky Way of green orbs all around me. It was beautiful! My neighbor was ahead of me flying just like I was.

We landed in a world where everything was lucious! The trees were full of big, green, bright leaves with humongous fruit! Every field had amazing, plentiful stock where you could feast for days! This was a beautiful world. But with beauty, you pay the price.

Everyone around me had green, nasty, ogre bodies. Including myself. I had transformed into a creature that I had never seen before! No one talked, it was all grunts to each other like it was not okay to say actual words. I missed my voice even if it had only been two hours.

My neighbor was still by me. I could tell it was her by her eyes. It was like everything had changed besides our eyes. I started to cry. Green slime came from my eyes and nose. It was like I had turned into a swamp monster.

She gave me a hug to comfort me until she got ripped away like she wasn’t allowed to do that. I couldn’t believe a world this beautiful had these nasty looking monsters who couldn’t show no love or affection with no voice.

We went to a cottage in a marshy area over looking all the beautiful trees, flowers, and fields. I went to go lay down because I believed I was stuck and I would never be going back to my little hometown. I felt hopeless. I cried myself to sleep with green slime coming out everywhere.

I woke up back in my actual bed in my house. I couldn’t believe it. I could talk, I could laugh, I had my body back!

Running to get my boots on to check on my neighbor thinking that I must have been dreaming, I see a police car. An officer comes by me and asked if I had seen my neighbor. I let him know that her daughter came to see her last night, but didn’t tell him everything.

He looked at me like I was crazy. He said, “Her daughter has been missing since she was 12, so that is impossible.”

I sat there stunned, not knowing what to say. I know that what had happened was real! Her daughter came back to get her mother. She took her to another world! I sat and talked with the officer a little longer until he said that he would be keeping a watch out for her and left.

As I shockingly walked back to my house, I see a green orb coming toward me. Just like the ones in the Milky Way! It was my neighbor. The orb suddenly made a statement. “Live your life fully down here, and always see the beauty in people before it’s taken from you.”

It disappeared.

It’s been 1 year. My neighbor’s house is up for sale. They never found her. I know where she is, but if I say anything, I will not be around for long.

I keep that night a secret and will always remember the advice given to me. Now I am the friendly neighbor or with lots of visitors who gives out cookies. I will always see the beauty in everyone, but I am not a fan of the color green anymore.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Salina Lehn

I am a single mom of three beautiful kids. Love to write in my free time on things going on or that have happened in my lifetime. Hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.