Fiction logo

The Tower

The Start

By Amber ZajecPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
10

“Have you seen my mother?”

I look down at the tiny human child. It’s the fourth one I found this week. I would never abandon a child. It sickens me that these humans are allowed to walk this Earth while my kind and I are forced into hiding.

I examine the child for any injuries, but none can be seen. She is covered in dirt, and her hair is knotted, but there is no blood. I have been doing this long enough to know they have gotten good at hiding the bruises under their clothes. The child smells female and has fiery red hair, one ocean blue eye, and one forest green eye. With the eye color alone, I know why this child was abandoned. The humans probably believe that some sort of demon possesses this child or that she will grow to become a witch. Well, they are not wrong. They are wrong about the demon possession but not about the witch. The child does possess some magic, but I won’t know until she reaches maternity. This child also shows no fear of me. Most children don’t. They usually look upon me with wonder and hope. I guess it helps that I am coated in white scales that glisten and change color within the sun. Unlike the other dragons, my wings are covered with long white feathers.

The child reaches her arms out to me, and I bow my head to her. Her breath is warm as she leans all her weight onto my snout. The child smells of soot which tells me that she comes from the mining town North of here.

“You're pretty.”

The child’s voice is barely a whisper and is thick with a northern accent. Now that she is closer, I can see that she is desperately malnourished. I need to get her out of here as soon as possible.

I reach for her mind, and since she is only a child, I can enter easily. Hello, dear one. The child’s eyes widen when she hears my voice echo in her mind. What is your name? The child points to her heart, confused by the question. What do they call you? The child looks at me, muddled as if no one has ever asked her for her name.

Her voice shakes as she speaks. “The people in my village call me a Sordida Meretrix.” I can’t stop the growl that rumbles in the pit of my stomach. They called this child a dirty whore. She is barely six years of age, and that is the name they gave her. I am sick to my stomach. I want to set fire to that village as punishment for their cruelty. They didn’t even give this child a name. If they had let her stay, she would have become the name that was pushed upon her. I will not let this happen because this child has fire in her soul and magic in her eyes. I will not squash that. What would you like to be called, child?

The child thinks for a bit. Her brain runs through all the names she has heard within the village. “I wanna be called Admirari.”

I smile at the name she has given herself. The name fits her beautifully. So does the smile that is now growing on her small freckled face. Nice to meet you, Admirari. My name is Salvare. Would you like to come with me? Admirari looks behind her. I know she is looking toward her village. I can’t make a child come with me; they must come of their own free will. If they wish to stay, I can’t do anything. Admirari, please don’t choose to stay. You will be safe with me. You will have friends. You will learn to be brave.

“Where are we going?”

A place with magic and other children just like you.

“People like me are there?” Her voice spikes with hope, and I hear her heart skip a beat at the thought of such a thing.

Yes.

“Ok.”

I smile, knowing I have saved another child from the evils of humanity. I lay down on the forest floor, spreading my wings, and Admirari climbs up. I feel her sit on her back, her small legs wrapping around me.

Hold on, my sweet child.

I feel her grip on me tighten as I call upon my magic and form a small bubble around Admirari to prevent her from falling. I stretch out my wings and fluff up my long white feathers. I pump my wings once, twice, and then I am in the air. I break through the tree line and head straight for the thick clouds rolling in from the southern mountains. I continue flapping my wings, getting higher and higher into the sky. Admirari’s grip on me tightens, and I gaze over my shoulder to see her eyes squeeze shut. Her heart rate is still normal, so I know she is not afraid.

Admirari. Open your eyes.

“I am supposed to be sacred.”

What has this child been through to be told what she should fear? It’s ok. I promise. Just open your eyes. I can see her small frame questioning the safety of my words, but she slowly flutters her eyes open, and it’s a glorious sight. Her eyes widen at the presence of the thick clouds just inches from her face. Her arms shoot up, and she stretches out her tiny fingers to brush the bottom of the clouds. A giggle breaks from her lips as the mist from the clouds rain down on her. I dip down ever so slightly, and a joyful scream releases from Admirari. I carefully fly through the canon. I fly lower than usual to give Admirari the best view.

The river here rushes over the colored rocks in white foam. The trees are all stuck in an eternal summer with thick green branches. The flowers that line the river's edge are in the colors of winter. Sugar plum purple, frost blue, and white babies breathe. The air here smells the cleanest. It’s not tainted with fires or the smells of roasting meats.

I dip even farther down, allowing the mist from the river to spray my face. The canon breaks to reveal a large valley. The valley is full of large rose buds that will bloom as soon as the moon rises. They are beautiful with their midnight-kissed colors and the mini constellations that decorate their petals. However, their smell is poisonous and could put one to sleep for centuries. I look back to make sure Admirari is alright, and I can see that this child will grow to be brave. She is now standing on my back, her arms spread open and her eyes in awe. She is different from the others. Most hold on to fear, the fear of change. But she embraces the change. She holds no fear, and I don’t know if that is a good or bad thing yet.

I make it over the valley, and the shimmer of the barrier comes into view. I created the barrier about a hundred years ago to protect our little paradise from the humans that seek to destroy it. I pass through my barrier, and it welcomes me home. The landscape changes to the familiarity of home. Long rolling hills that home the large weeping willows that have graced this land long before me. I fly over the last hill to the curling smoke of the city of Maleficis. It’s the largest city within the barrier. It’s also my favorite. They have the best raw lamb.

I fly over the bustling city, and the smell of meats and spice swirl in the air. I feel Admirari lay down on my back in an effort to get a better look at everything. I take the long way to The Tower to give Admirari the best view of the city. I fly over the musicians playing on top of the balconies to the dancers twirling in brightly dyed dresses, then the mages who perform their elemental tricks on the streets. I fly over the library that is carved out of a large emerald. Tall pillars carved as dragons hold up this grand library.

Ahead, I see the twin dragons, Ignis and Gelu, play-fighting. Ignis is coated in dark red scales with large golden spikes that run down her spine, while her twin brother Gelu is covered in ice-blue scales and has two large opal horns twisting from his head. Ignis is tormenting Gelu by launching small fireballs at his tail. He turns and shoots out an icy blast, only for Ignis to dodge. I can hear her laughter echo through the wind.

Ignis, Gelu, be careful now.

They both turn their heads to me and fly immediately over. Ignis takes my right, while Gelu takes my left. I feel Admirari stand again to get a look at the twin dragons that fly at my sides.

Hello, your majesty.

I huff in irritation. I told you not to call me that when it is just us.

Gelu tucks in his wings and rolls over. He is showing off to the new arrival, and it's working because her eyes don’t leave his scaled body. Where did you find this one?

The North. Her name is Admirari.

They both look back at Admirari, who is trying to reach for Gelu’s smooth ice blue wings. Curious little one.

Yes, she is. She will do well here.

One can only hope.

With that, they both break off and fly down to the streets below, most likely to get some food. My stomach rumbles at the thought, but I must drop off Admirari before I meet my needs. I take a sharp right, and The Tower comes into view. The Tower swirls up in multiple colors, and murals of dragons, warriors, witches, warlocks, and fairies cover the brick from bottom to top. The murals change from day to day. The children that live within are the ones who paint the walls. They have always been supremely gifted. Thick beams shoot out around the tower. A few of the beams rest sleeping or perched dragons. The Tower is about seven hundred feet tall and houses about sixty dragons and one hundred abandoned children. I twist around The Tower to allow Admirari to admire all the dragons and art painted upon it. Her eyes are so large that I wonder if she even blinked in the past thirty minutes. I land at the top of The Tower. The wind whistles fast up here, but the view is immaculate. One can see all of Maleficis. You can also see the southern hills of Crescere and the edge of the forest of Fortis.

I lay my wings down so Admirari can slide off. She slides off with ease and excitement. I can hear her small heart race, but not out of fear. As Admirari lands, the door opens, and Docere comes walking out. I found him abandoned in the East mountains twenty years ago when he was only ten. His icy blue eyes are now full of wisdom, but his wild white hair still has not seen a comb.

Hello Docere. I have a new one for you.

He walks over, his dark blue suit snapping in the wind. He always dresses so clean, but that damn hair needs a brush. “Hello, Salvare. How was your flight?”

It's not about me, Docere.

He scratches below my neck, and my body purrs in response. The dragons call him the dragon whisperer behind his back.

Thank you, Docere. Now, please. The child.

Docere steps away and gives me a slight bow. He walks over to Admirari, who is leaning over the rail to get a better view of the city. This child is going to be a wild one. Docere leans over the edge with Admirari, his hand hovering over her back just in case she falls. “Hello. What's your name?”

She looks over to Docere, her eyes taking in his dark skin and white hair. She stops leaning over the edge and stands. “My name is Admirari.” Docere extends his hand for a handshake, but Admirari stares at it, confused. She has never been offered a handshake before. Docere drops his hand and introduces himself. “My name is Docere; nice to meet you.” She looks over at me with a big smile on her face; it warms my soul to see this child happy.

“Admirari, would you like some food?” Her eyes widen even more. “Really? You have food?” I can see Docere swallow back the emotion that gathered in his throat with that question. He, too, once lived with no food and water. “As much as you wish to eat.” He holds out his hand, and Admirari grabs it, practically jumping. They walk to the door, but before they walk through, Admirari turns and runs to me and wraps her tiny arms around my snout.

“Thank you, Salvare.”

She releases me and runs back to Docere, who is waiting by the door. I have saved yet another child. Who will she grow up to be?

14 Years Later

“Admirari, get down from there.”

I walked to the edge of the top beam in The Tower and am about six hundred and fifty feet in the air, which is still not high enough. Docere is having a mini heart attack watching me stand out on the edge. I swear if his hair was not already white when I met him, it would be white now. “Oh, come on, Doc. I am just having a little fun.”

He points his cane at me, and his arm shakes in frustration. The sight makes me laugh. “Last time you did this, you broke your arm.”

I can't argue with that, but it was because of a small miss calculation. It won't happen again. “You will just heal me again.”

“Admirari, you know magic does not work that way. Now get back here.”

I rise to my feet, and the wind whistles around me. It dares me to jump. I must answer its call.

I jump. Because my name is Admirari, I will fly.

FantasyShort StoryAdventure
10

About the Creator

Amber Zajec

I have always loved the art of story telling. The magic of words and how they can create new worlds and people.

Please help me out with a tip or pledge so I can continue my passion for writing.

Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Sydi Ditleabout a year ago

    super fun. I enjoyed it

  • Sarzeabout a year ago

    I hope there is more to this story

  • Mike Zajec2 years ago

    Incredible story. I liked the rich and visual writing of the characters and the environment.

  • Billie Zajec2 years ago

    I love the color this story painted and the creativity. I want more .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.