Fiction logo

The Tiniest Pool of Lava

A short story

By Rambler's SocietyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Tiniest Pool of Lava
Photo by Emily Powers on Unsplash

I soak my skin in the boiling water that will surely burn away the excess dirt from my skin. The lava-like liquid that engulfs my sense of touch in a tingling sensation paints my skin a bright red hue. My small tiny frozen toes burn as I dip them in seemingly one by one. Next is my ankles with nothing but skin and bone to submerge ever slowly. Every little shock of my nerves sends a burning feeling to my brain. Little by little I continue. If only my lobster skin could tell more than the fresh scar that is evidently left behind. It feels surreal.

With every heartbeat, I can feel the rushing blood flow through my body. Hypersensitive to the movements of my skin. It’s the closest we’ll ever get to full omniscience. Every inch of shifting muscles and joints burn instantly once submerged but stings after being taken out. It was all I could focus on. The pain that burned up my legs came and went until finally the rest of my body could stand the sensation.

My heart thumped its way into my ears and behind my eyes. Flowing through my veins and suffocating me while my lungs are full. No matter how big of a breath I gasp for, I can never catch my breath. My vision becomes shakey, so I close my eyes. Forcing my body to calm down and take all of these moments slow. It's okay.

My hair clings to the watery flesh that still remains unscathed and uncharred. They swirl aimlessly, chilling steadily with the cool air that surrounded me in this molten tub. I grab the sides and sharply breath in before lunging myself up onto my feet. The rush of iced air cooled my face breathing new life into my skin. Step by step I released the water and stepped out of the tub.

Emerging out of the dank tiled room, dripping the viscousless residue. It soaks into the carpet, leaving a trail behind me. Darkened footsteps of invisible men follow me and reveal my path to my bed. Who knows how long those will last before fading away into the original color.

As the chilled air freezes my skin inch by inch in what can only be described in an icy tomb I try to wrap myself up. My efforts were focused on conserving what heat I still had. Make it through until I warm up, that's all I had to do. Slowly but surely my body temperature regulated itself.

My brain fills with intoxicating visions. The dreams I lived while wide awake clouded my senses. Falling forever into a dizzying abyss that swallows me whole every time I get swallowed by their presence, my newly cleaned body instantly feels that much dirtier than it should. My covers, sheets, blankets, throws, pillows, and duvets crush me under their weight. Once again I have returned home.

Laying beneath the suffocating pressure, my eyes lull themselves asleep under their own heaviness. My body started to drift away yet again into an experience that eludes a definition. My fingers. My toes. My arms. My legs. What is left awake will surely follow suit in no time, but I won’t be there to notice. My surroundings have already drifted into a foggy haze of blurry masses. It was a matter of seconds before I'd be gone to such a giddy sense of peace. The sounds that resonate with the four walls around me, start to dull in the back of my mind. Mushing and forming one big droning hum.

I'll wake up in the morning only to relive such wonders again.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Rambler's Society

Hello everyone! I write fictional surreal stories and poems. I love writing and I hope that you enjoy reading what I've to offer. I have plenty more written down on my website so I'd love it if you'd go check it out!

ramblersociety.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.