Fiction logo

The Time Capsule.

By Sonja Kelly

By Sonja KellyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The Time Capsule.
Photo by Brooke Campbell on Unsplash

It was a Saturday morning and I was walking over to my friend Beth’s house like I always do on the weekends. It was the late 1980s and I was fourteen years old, I only had to walk a few blocks only to reach her house back then we really didn’t knock so I opened the door, I could smell the cookies my friend's mother was baking.

“Hi” Sherry, her mother greeted me with a smile,”Beth’s is in her room." her mother said. I started Walking down the hallway and I could hear the music coming from her room. When I opened the door and Beth and my other best friend Mandy were dancing and jumping up and down on the bed to 80s pop music…They noticed me standing i. The doorway and grabbed my arms pulling me in the room. I started to dance we were having a great time. A while later there was a knock at the door, it was Beth's mother she had the cookies and Kool-aid with her. Beth, out of breath walked over to her radio and hit stop on the cassette player. We were handed the drinks and cookies and we sat crossed legged on her bedroom floor. It was a sad day for us because our best friend Mandy would be moving in a few days to New York.

-"Were really going to miss you Mandy." I said while sipping my red Kool-aid.

-I’m going to miss you too,You guys are my best friends." replied Mandy.

-"I have an Idea." Beth said.” We can make a Time capsule! “She said in an excited tone. We can put in our things so we can never forget this day.”We all agreed that was a great idea...Mandy jumped up and said she would be right back. And a couple minutes later Mandy returned with her dads metal tool box.

-"We can use this for the time capsule." She said. Beth stood up and opened her radio and took out the cassette tape. Beth called for her mother to bring the Polaroid camera and her asked her mother to take pictures of us for the time capsule. We made goofy faces and bunny ears behind each others heads laughing and giggling. Then we went into the kitchen and got out the Ziploc bags to put the photos in to keep them safe while in the capsule. I took off my necklace and wrote a note that we all signed and I placed it into the box. Beth put in the cassette tape and the photos and Mandy put in her little Frisbee that we always played in her back yard at her house. We went out back in Beth's yard and dug a hole by the back porch and placed the capsule inside. Beth covered it with dirt, We promised to come back in twenty years to dig it up together...A couple years layer I moved away and Beth’s parents sold the house after she graduated high school. Many years later we found each other on face book.

But we found out Mandy died in a car accent.

I lived only the next town over and Beth was in town so she asked to meet at Starbucks.As I walked into Starbucks I noticed her right away, I thought:

"-nothing really changed.” She still had long blonde hair and freckles and me just a few grays on my dark Brown hair.

-"It’s been a long time." I said. We sat there catching up talking about our families and some old times.

-"Do you remember the time capsule"? Beth asked.

-"Wow I’ve forgotten about it." I said.

-"Well when my parent's sold the house, I went to the back yard I dug it up on the day we were moving out." said Beth. She reached down into her bag that was on the floor and pulled out the time capsule and placed it on the table.

-"I never opened it." she said, pushing the box towards me across the table. Her eyes were watering up. I looked at the metal tool box a little rusty now. I opened the latch; everything looked like we just put it in there yesterday. My necklace the cassette tape we danced to that day and Mandy’s little Frisbee. On the bottom I can see the letter I placed in there I opened it and read it out loud. It said we promise to be together to open this time capsule and always be best friends together signed Sherry, Beth and Mandy. We begun to cry...I kept Mandy’s little Frisbee and Beth the tool box. I play that Frisbee in my yard with my children and sometimes when we play I think Mandy’s there watching us and smiling.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Sonja Kelly

https://twitter.com/writerscramp123https://www.facebook.com/Writerscramp123/ Hello:I'm a parttime writer from the Midwest and I’m a single mother of two young adults. My favorite place to visit is NYC I find the city so inspiring.Flollowme

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.