Fiction logo

Lighthouse Terror

Alone

By Sonja KellyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
3
Lighthouse Terror
Photo by Xipu Li on Unsplash

It’s 3 AM and my eyes are getting heavy, the glare from the Computer screen is starting to sting my eyes. "Just a few more sentences I thought" I was trying to finish the First chapter I wrote. My publisher wants my book by the end of the month and I’ve been having writers block, I started feeling myself nodding off ,so I decided to make a cup of coffee. Walking half asleep and Stumbling into the kitchen to make me one last cup of coffee. hoping it’s some kind of magic potion to at least get me though this chapter.

I was working on my latest horror story and usually the ideas would come to me fast, I’ve already written three novels and they did fairly well but this last one that was due soon had me feeling like I was getting writers block. After I poured my cup of steaming hot coffee, I took a sip and burnt my bottom lip “ouch” I guess I have to wait a minute before I can drink it. I blew on it gently to cool it down, walking back to my computer I heard a ding, a notification, rubbing my eyes I sat back down taken another sip of coffee.

Looking at the computer screen my eyes widening now with the caffeine pumping through my veins I read the notification. "spam?" Hum, I thought. It said there’s a contest fill out my name and phone number and I can win a trip to a known haunted secluded lighthouse, And it says perfect for writers. It couldn’t hurt to try and if they ask for money, Then i'll know it’s spam. And if I win this will definitely help me finish my book! maybe it’ll inspire me. I filled out the online form to enter the contest and then I hit send.

I continued with my work and forgot all about the contest, I kept writing and deleting hoping inspiration will come to me. I kept changing the title and the storyline feeling frustrated, I turned off my computer and went to bed “maybe I just need some rest”. I thought.

The very next day about 10:AM in the morning I just finished getting dressed my phone began to ring, I have my cell phone set on a spooky Halloween ring tone. I looked at my phone and didn’t recognize the phone number that was calling me it was from out of state in Maine. "Ha, hello?" I said in a confused whisper, A cheerful voice answerd on the other line. "Hi, am I talking to Janet?" " yes, this is her.'' Congratulations! you just won our contest to stay in the ghostly lighthouse on a little island off Mane.

how could that be I just entered the contest last night this Has to be some kind of scam!”I thought.

" Well that was fast I just enter the contest last night are you sure you have the right person?" “Yes dear we definitely did the contest just ended today by 8 AM and your name came up as the winner”. “Do you need me to pay a fee or something”? No no no it’s 100% you won!you pay us nothing the only catch is you need to be ready by tomorrow to be there.

I thought about it for a while I live in New York and Maine isn’t too far a few hours drive I could definitely make it, so I excepted the invitation and I spent the rest of the day getting ready for my trip, they told me that I don’t need a key and they gave me the directions to the Light House and said everything will be ready for me. I have to be at the pier to meet a man to take the boat up to the lighthouse because it’s on a secluded island that said to be haunted by a woman was murderd there by her light-keeper husband the story is that he drowned her but know one knows why.

I finnaly reached Maine and I was looking forward to reaching the Lighthouse. It was a long drive and I had thirty minutes to reach my destination. Driving down a long winding tree lined road my eyes were starting to play tricks on me. I thought I seen from the corner of my eye a ghostly figure of a women standing on the side of the road.

It must have been the shadow of the trees, I decided to turn up my raidio to wake myself up, then this time I was sure there was a women, the same one on the side of the road How is that possible?

I seen her just a mile back she couldent have walked that fast. with my heart pounding fast in my chest I hit the gas ,gripped my hands tightly on the steering wheel and drove as fast as I could to the pier.

I finally reached the pier and I was met by a small gray-haired man wearing a White captain hat, white shirt and gray plaid khakis. He Smiled and waved his arms in the air. I pulled up the car next to where he was standing in the gravel parking lot. “Hello are you my captain? “I asked smiling.

“ Yes, my name is Captain Bill, I will be taking you to the lighthouse this evening. I was so happy to see another fellow human being, I’ve been in that car for so many hours and it felt good to stretch my legs.

We walked down the cat walk onto the boat it was a small motorboat blue with some rust on it.

“I think we will reach the Lighthouse at sunset” Captain Bill said. It was a small island off the coast of Maine you can only get there by boat. “Will I be able to get a cell phone signal out there?” I asked.” No,no I’m afraid not but there is an emergency Phone in the lighthouse if you need it.” Just what I need no distractions then finally I can finish my book.

“ So how long will you be staying out there young lady?” he asked…” I won a week stay.”

“ Well, I’ll be coming in to check on you from time to time and I’ll bring you to town so you can get some groceries or whatever you need. I’ll be back tomorrow around noon if that’s OK with you?” Yes, I would love to go into town and do some shopping.

“Well ,are you sure you’re going to be able to stay a week? I heard that place is pretty haunted, I’ve heard stories about that place that can send shivers, up your arms.” Captain Bill said.

“I think I’ll be fine and I’m hoping it’ll give me some inspiration for the story I’m writing.”

We were approaching the lighthouse now the sun was starting to set against the horizon of the water it was so beautiful and you can see the lighthouse turn on.

“It’s an automated system “Captain Bill said. When it starts getting dark the lighthouse will turn on so the boaters won’t get lost.back in the old days we would have to light the lamp,but now it’s automatic.”

Captain Bill , dropped me off I waved goodbye to him as he Drove away in his boat. Standing there with my suitcase in hand I Looked straight up at that Lighthouse even bigger in person it looked old, the paint was cracked and some of the wood was chipping.

It was starting to get dark now so I grabbed the key under the mat and went inside.

It looked like it hasn’t been dusted in years All the furniture was there but it was so dusty, I knew I had some work to do before I could relax.

After spending most of the night cleaning up I went upstairs to get a good nights sleep So I could be refreshed to start writing in the morning .

I started to drift off to sleep when I was woken up by a loud scream! It sounded like a woman and she was in trouble. I looked out the window but I couldn’t see anyone but the scream seemed to be so loud!

I put on my robe and ran down the winding stairs of the lighthouse,I opened the front door used the flashlight on my cell phone but there was no one outside.

“hello is anybody out there?”I got no response I kept calling” hello” “hello” Starting to feel a little scared now I shut the door and locked it ,I sat down on the sofa to listen for any other Sounds.

As I was sitting there, three loud bangs at the door so loud it shook the floorboards.

All of a sudden smoke, started to fill the lighthouse! it’s onfire! The fire started at the top of the lighthouse smoke started to fill the air ,I couldn’t Breathe I had no choice but to run outside out the front door where the loud banging was.

I Couldn’t breathe,I was coughing and then collapsed before I reach the front door. just then I saw the ghostly woman she grabbed my arm and pulled me that’s the last thing I remember then I passed out.

I woke up the next morning laying In the grass in front of the lighthouse, it burned down. Captain Bill was there and I told him everything. Later they said it was electrical fire that started with the automated system that was worn out.

I believe the lady was the ghost of the murdered wife and she wasn’t trying to scare Me, I believe, she was trying to warn me, when I seen her on the side of the road. And if it wasn’t for the scream and the banging, I would have been asleep and I could’ve burned to death.

Let’s just say my book was a success thanks to the light house.

fiction
3

About the Creator

Sonja Kelly

https://twitter.com/writerscramp123https://www.facebook.com/Writerscramp123/ Hello:I'm a parttime writer from the Midwest and I’m a single mother of two young adults. My favorite place to visit is NYC I find the city so inspiring.Flollowme

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.