Fiction logo

The Tavern Man

(Fiction)

By MizuNaniaPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like

I stare at the tavern door waiting for my favorite customer to enter. I sigh and check the clock that's located above the door. The time reads 2:30 in the afternoon. He always shows up exactly on the dot. Ever since I opened this place two years ago, he's been showing up, and it's the best part of my day. He always has a big smile and a cheerful manner to him. Plus, he keeps me company while all my other customers are having fun getting hammered.

I sigh as I wait another hour, then another two hours. Eventually it's closing time and he hasn't come in. I take one last look outside before closing up and locking the doors. As I walk upstairs to my living room, I feel an aching feeling in my gut as if something has happened. That whole night I kept thinking of all the things that could've happened to him. After all, he never misses a day to drink his ice-cold beer and chat with me.

That morning I got up and opened the tavern as usual. I greeted every guest and brought them their drinks. I waited impatiently for 2:30 to arrive. As soon as it did my eyes were glued to the door. As the first 30 seconds passed my heart sank. I assumed the worst. Just as I lost all hope he walked through the door. My heart instantly lightened.

He sat down and smiled at me, "Hello my favorite lady." I smiled back, "Hello my favorite man. where were you yesterday?" He shook his head, "It's not important." I shake it off and continue as if nothing happened. A full year went by, and we forgot about the one day he missed. Everything was the same except he stopped ordering beer. He just came in to hang out with me I didn't mind. He told me he quit drinking so I shrugged it off as nothing important.

One day he came in with a gloomy expression. I smile at him, "What's up with you?" He sighed and looked at me, "I'm sorry, but I can't come in anymore." "Why because of your wife?" I cracked a joke since he had no wife. He chuckled slightly, "No I'm not allowed to be in this realm any longer. I stayed to spend time with you since I know you worry about me but now I must leave." I look at him confused, "realm?" He sighed, "Remember when I didn't come in last year?" I nodded. "well, that day I died, and now I must go to the realm for the dead." I go speechless. He smiles as I watch him turn into light particles.

No one believes me when I tell them the story, but I know it's real. He was one of the best things that happened to me I'm so happy he came into my life and even stayed with me after. I put a picture up on the tavern wall of him so everyone will know how much he impacted my life.

MysteryYoung AdultShort StoryHistorical
Like

About the Creator

MizuNania

I'm an amateur writer who hopes to become a professional writer in the future. I mainly enjoy writing fiction and reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.