Fiction logo

The Tattooed Man

A Story Every Day in 2024 25th Jan 25/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
5
The Tattooed Man
Photo by Steven Erixon on Unsplash

L.C. Schäfer is challenging herself and others to write a story every day in 2024. You can read about that here:

I rather stupidly decided to join her.

***

Prompt number twenty-five:

Write a story which features a person with tattoos.

***

"Nan! Nan?" Daisy stood over her nan where she lay in the kitchen. She fought back tears.

"Daisy," Aidan said, gently moving his girlfriend of two months to one side while he got on his knees to look at the woman who Daisy loved the most. He was a paramedic after all, although there are better ways to meet your girlfriend's family.

"What's your nan's name, Daze?" he asked softly.

Daisy sniffed and said, "Mabel. But she likes to be called Doris."

Aidan forgave the extra detail - shock had many masks when it appeared - and said, "Which one do you think she would answer to?"

"Doris, I think. Yes, Doris, for sure."

Aidan didn't take his eyes off Doris as he checked for vital signs, and called Doris' name, watching as her eyes flickered, relieved when he could feel a pulse. He reached into his pocket and called an ambulance. Actually, he called his friend, Sally, who was in an ambulance, another paramedic and was told she was on her way. He'd ask questions about the tearing up of red tape later.

That done, he reached for Daisy and held her while she cried.

***

When Doris opened her eyes, she had no idea where she was. She remembered being in her kitchen. Everything after that was a blur of strange voices and lights, and fear.

She took a moment and registered the rhythmic beeps puncturing the silence of her room. Hospital. She wondered what time it was. If she put the TV on, she'd know from the programme.

She turned her head and saw the most heavily tattooed man she had ever seen in her life, sitting in the chair next to her. He was nodding: snoozing, his face obscured by patterns. She felt her heart beat faster and the monitors broadcast this to the world.

He started to stir and stretch, and then, Daisy came in, smiling.

"Nan!" Daisy exclaimed. "Aidan, Nan's awake!"

How did Daisy know this man? His name. Aidan. Familiar. How?

"Aidan saved your life, Nan!"

"Him?" she said, querulously.

"Yep," Daisy said proudly.

And despite her reservations, Doris found herself smiling and wishing she had her teeth in.

***

366 words

What do tattoos mean to you? Do you have tattoos? I don't and neither do I want them but I have nothing against people who have them and don't make assumptions based on their appearance. However, it is easy to make snap judgements on what we see.

This story was inspired, in part, by real life as I had a heavily tattooed workman at my house this week. His boss had told me he had tattoos at his own request so I was not too shocked when I saw them. But still, he was conscious enough of how he looked to forewarn me.

I think tattoos have a different context now, like fashion for skin whereas in the past, they have been more about making a statement of aggression or belief. They still are that for some, to a certain extent but I know teachers with tattoos and they've not had them for that reason at all. Or at least, I don't think they have!

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do put a comment as I love to hear from my readers!

25/366

Short StoryMicrofictionLoveHumorfamily
5

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    I love this story, Rachel, especially the part about wishing she had her teeth in! To me tattoos are a matter of self expression. Yes, it's a form of expression that is likely to last a very long time so it's good to consider what it is you're choosing, but still. When our son died at the age of 18.5, one month before high school graduation, several of his classmates & friends got tattoos for his memory. It was a marvelously healing gesture they made.

  • Same like you, I neither have any tattoos nor do I want them but I'm totally okay if anyone has them. It's their preferences and I respect that. As long as they don't try to push their preferences on me or ridicule me for not having tattoos, I'm 100000000% okay, lol. I'm more of a "You do you and let me do me" kinda person. I loved your story! So glad Nan changed her opinions about Aiden!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This story is a lovely, moving slice of life, Rachel. I loved it. I have known a number of people who use tattoos as a form of remembrance for important events in their lives, or for people they have lost. Our son has a tattoo of his grandfather taking from a photograph from his young adulthood. He has a lot of tattoos, some symbolic, some silly, some quite beautiful. He has two tattoos taken from illustrations his sister drew.

  • Very heartfelt story and a reminder not to judge people by their looks

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    The title seemed sinister, which gave the closing revelation strength. Deftly done!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    It's funny, tattoos used to be a rebellion, didn't they. These days I see them.as quite conformist, like having the right trainers. Though extreme tattoos like this continue to be remarkable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.