Fiction logo

The tale of Montgomery Chap. 9

Books

By Lily CaudillPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like
The tale of Montgomery Chap. 9
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

I awoke the next day, snug in one of the hammocks, the soft morning sunlight filtering through the ceiling above. I couldn't tell how long I had been asleep. As I stretched and sat up, my eyes fell upon a plate beside my hammock. It held a delightful breakfast of scrambled eggs and buttery potatoes. It must have been Luca's doing. I couldn't resist the temptation and started eating, savoring the perfect texture of the potatoes.

Amidst my meal, I heard a faint whimper. Looking down, I found Carrot, Luca's little companion, gazing up at me with those innocent eyes. "Are you hungry, little girl?" I asked, considering the possibility. To test it out, I offered her a piece of my breakfast, which she quickly devoured, before sitting closer to my hammock.

"She's not hungry. She ate half of my breakfast this morning," I heard Luca's voice from across the room. He entered with his wavy black hair falling over his face, appearing tired despite the early hour.

"She's just a little con artist, is all," Luca continued, picking up Carrot and affectionately rubbing behind her ears. "How's the stables?" I inquired, feeling a bit guilty for not helping him earlier.

"All done," Luca replied, with a hint of weariness in his voice. "I was going to help you," I protested, nearly choking on my breakfast.

"I know... I know," he said, understandingly. "But you looked so peaceful, I didn't want to disturb you."

I frowned, feeling a mix of emotions. "I could have helped you, though," I stated, hoping he wouldn't misinterpret my feelings.

"Well, I actually do have something you could help me with," Luca said, his eyes lighting up with a new idea. "To be a true knight, I have to memorize and recite the entire knights creed. I was supposed to have it already memorized, but I kept getting distracted." He walked over to a shelf and retrieved a beautiful brown book bound with strips of leather and filled with crystal white paper. "Can you read this, and then I'll repeat what you said?" he asked, handing me the book.

My heart sank as I realized I couldn't read. Memories of Carac,, surfaced. Insecurities filled my soul.

Summoning the courage, I admitted, "Well, I would love to help you more than anything, but I can't read."

I feared Luca might be disappointed, but he only surprised me with unwavering support. Carac had always told me it was to late.

"I'll teach you, and then you can help me," Luca said with a warm smile. My heart swelled with joy as he assured me it was never too late to learn.

2 years prior

Carac walked into their humble quarters, rubbing his tired shoulders. Lilith looked up with excitement in her eyes, and Carac couldn't help but smile at her enthusiasm.

"Hey, Lilith," he greeted her, "you look excited tonight."

"I am!" Lilith exclaimed. "One of the goats in the courtyard had babies, and Frog was going to throw away the smallest one. But I convinced Felix to let us keep it. We'll have our very own goat for milk and everything!"

Carac shook his head with a touch of sadness. "Back where I am from, I have a whole flock of goats. My life is pathetic here. I spent my entire day moving the Queen's throne back and forth throughout the castle, only to put it back where it was originally placed."

"Come here, Carac," Lilith said, her voice filled with sympathy. "Let me rub your shoulders. I've had a tiring day too, moving all the castle's books into another library, and my back is killing me."

Carac settled down between Lilith's legs as she sat on their only stool. Her skilled thumbs moved in a circular motion, easing the tension from his shoulders. He let out a contented breath and smiled gratefully at her.

Then Lilith revealed a surprise. "I have something for you, Carac," she said, pulling out a book from her pocket. "You always talk about how much you miss reading, so I hope this will bring you some joy."

"A book?" Carac almost shouted in excitement, causing Lilith to hush him. "But this book seems...old," he observed.

Lilith explained in a hushed tone, "It was thrown away by Montgomery because wine was spilled on it. But it's still intact, and I thought you might enjoy it."

Wilbur, who they thought was sleeping, stirred and scolded Carac for not showing enough appreciation. "Boy, she could have been killed getting that book for you," he said before rolling back over.

"Thank you, Lilith," Carac said sincerely, "I really do appreciate your effort. It's just that my life will never be what it once was. I am envious of you because you never knew the difference. You've always belonged to the castle."

His words struck a chord in Lilith. She thought about her desire for freedom and independence, a life not tied to the castle's demands.

"Read me the book, Carac," she requested, trying to change the subject.

Carac agreed, saying, "Fine. That might calm my nerves as well."

He began reading the first chapter of the book to her, and Lilith was instantly captivated. It had been so long since someone had read to her; even the King's readings were usually too advanced for her to enjoy.

"Do you think you could teach me to read, Carac?" Lilith asked eagerly after he finished the chapter.

Carac hesitated, "I just think it would be too complicated, Lilith. Most people learn to read when they are young, with an actual teacher."

Back to present

"You really don't know what this means to me Luca" I said quickly

"Oh, you're just being Silly Lilith, It won't be anytime before your reading as well as me" He said with a little grin and poked her arm.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lily Caudill

I take inspiration from my family roots in The Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky. You will find that my works have a darker undertones with a dash of humor. I am currently working on a novel Conflict of Interest. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.