Fiction logo

Tale of Mongomery Chapter 8

Weapons

By Lily CaudillPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
1

I could see the Fortress in the distance on the horizon. As we got closer, I could make out the outline of Carrot running towards us with her tiny legs. Luca's horse began to slow her gallop into a trot. I gave a slight tap at the reins for the horse to stop, and she came to a halt. Luca jumped off, and Carrot reached her feet, squirming and panting with excitement. Luca picked him up, and Carrot began licking him as fast as he could. "Good girl, Carrot! Did you miss me?" asked Luca in his gentle voice.

As we approached the fortress, it seemed very quiet. There was no one outside, so we went inside. No one was there, but a note was left on the table. Luca picked it up and read it out loud.

"Luca, Brush the horses and clean the barn. We have gone to hunt for pelts for the next 2 days. Show Lilith around and teach her how to use one of the weapons. Let her pick which one."

Well, I guess it's just you and me until tomorrow," said Luca.

"Let's look at the weapons first," he said as he ran towards them, with Carrot running beside him. The sight made me laugh a little.

He grabbed the weapons and laid them on the large wooden table in the middle of the room. They included 3 large knives, a bow with arrows, a spear, and an ax.

"Which one catches your eye?" asked Luca.

I picked up the bow and drew it back before laying it back down. It felt good, but not quite right for me.

I took the knives in both hands, but they felt awkward in my grasp.

I reached over and grabbed the spear. It felt light in my hands, like it might be hard to control.

So the ax was left. I grasped it. It felt strong, and I felt more powerful holding it. It was the perfect weight.

With the ax in hand, I felt a newfound sense of confidence. It was as if the weapon and I were meant for each other. "I choose the ax," I declared, a smile spreading across my face.

Luca grinned approvingly. "Good choice! The ax can be a formidable weapon in the right hands," he said, patting Carrot's head, who was still by our side, wagging his tail.

By Colin Horn on Unsplash

We spent the rest of the day exploring the fortress and its surroundings. Luca showed me the stables, where he carefully brushed and tended to the horses. Carrot was delighted to join in, rubbing his small furry body against the horses and playfully nipping at their tails.

As evening approached, we returned to the main room of the fortress. Luca started a small fire in the hearth to warm the room, and we sat down to share a simple meal of bread, cheese, and dried fruits. Carrot nestled close to me, and I absentmindedly stroked his soft fur while Luca told me stories of his adventures and the people he had encountered on his journeys.

As the night deepened, we decided to rest. Luca showed me to a cozy room with a comfortable bed, and I thanked him for his hospitality. "Thank you for welcoming me here, Luca. It means a lot to me," I said sincerely.

He smiled warmly. "You're part of the team now, Lilith. And Carrot seems to have taken a liking to you," he chuckled, giving the little creature a playful scratch behind the ears.

In the morning, we set out to complete the tasks left in the note. I helped Luca with the horses and the barn, finding a sense of fulfillment in the simple tasks that connected me to this new world I had entered. Afterwards, Luca taught me the basics of handling the ax, showing me the proper stance and swing. It was challenging at first, but with his patient guidance, I began to improve.

The following day, as Luca and I practiced with our weapons, I couldn't help but feel grateful for the unexpected bond that had formed between us. I had come seeking answers about my past, but I found something more precious — friendship and belonging.

By Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

As the sun dipped below the horizon, painting the sky in hues of orange and pink, we returned to the fortress. Luca and I shared a comfortable silence, each lost in our thoughts. Carrot, tired from the day's activities, nestled against Luca's side, and I felt a sense of contentment settling over me.

That night, as we sat by the hearth, I couldn't help but reflect on the twists and turns that had led me to this place. I had left behind the life I once knew, but in doing so, I had discovered a new home, a new purpose, and a new family.

As the embers of the fire glowed and the warmth enveloped us, I knew that my journey was far from over. But with Luca, Carrot, and the fortress as my companions, I felt ready. I felt guilt about my friends back at the Castle. Hopefully Detrix was being left alone by Mongomery. Maybe this would give Carrac and Wilbur time to become better friends.

I thought to myself about my dear Carrac. The place for him in my heart was begininng to close up with everyday I spent with Luca. I remembered I hadn't heard Carrac's voice in days now, not even for a single story in the morning. Funny now, that was my favorite time of day, but here with Luca and the Knights Carrac's stories seem to have lost their luster. How would I explain this to him? Would he be heart broken I had found another? or would he even care? All those thoughts swirlled around my head like a sworm of bees buzzing in my ears.

By Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Series
1

About the Creator

Lily Caudill

I take inspiration from my family roots in The Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky. You will find that my works have a darker undertones with a dash of humor. I am currently working on a novel Conflict of Interest. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.