Fiction logo

The table without time

I run my hand along the scalloped edge of the table we shared for so many years.

By Anastasia SPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4

I run my hand along the scalloped edge of the table we shared for so many years. The cool metal feels as familiar as a hand against my skin, but this time I'm the one that's left with traces of his touch. I remember setting it up for the two of us, sometimes for a romantic date night, other times for a simple morning coffee chat. I love our memories here at this table. It became a fragment of us, something that remained untouched by the hands of time.

By Sarah Wolfe on Unsplash

The flame of the candle flickered as a gentle breeze blew through the front garden. The warm sun shone down on me and the table, casting shadows on our faces. We sat quietly, listening to each other breathe until there was enough space between us. He rested his hand on top of mine and leaned in closer to me. Our eyes met for a moment before he spoke.

"Do you remember when we first met?"

His voice was low, almost conspiratorial.

"It was after school, and you had just moved into your new house with the pear tree, right across the street from me."

I laughed, remembering the feeling of dread filling me when I saw him for the first time. The sound startled me; it had been over ten years since I last heard it.

"Yes! You were running back home, and I ran across the road to say hi," I giggled lightly.

"You didn't even look at me."

I chuckled again.

"Well, when someone sees you for the first time, they are always struck by your beauty, and especially those beautiful eyes. So, I looked."

By Maksym Kaharlytskyi on Unsplash

He smiled and reached out his hand.

"May I have this dance?"

I took his hand and placed it on my waist.

"Of course, Mr."

I smiled and closed my eyes.

"Dance with me."

He kissed the side of my head softly.

"And I will," he said softly.

We danced around the room slowly. My eyes opened slightly, and I could see the stars above us twinkling. I stared up at them, memorizing the patterns. They reminded me of the ones we made together as kids. He was still holding my hand when a soft melody filled the air. This was our song. I could feel the lyrics in my heart. This is where we fell in love. This song was our favourite. Our song, the song we wrote together as children. The one-piece that never changed. A song about the stars. About love and hope and forever. I pulled him closer, moving him gently with the music.

Our bodies connected perfectly, one made for the other. With glossy eyes, I looked up at him: a perfect reflection of what he meant to me. His hair, now shorn short, framed his face beautifully. His green eyes gazed at me lovingly, filled with affection. He whispered in my ear.

"I loved you then, and I love you now."

My breath hitched, and my chest felt light. I knew exactly what he meant. How could I not? The melody continued, and my body began to relax. I breathed deeply. I was inhaling the scent of fresh-cut grasses and honeysuckle, breathing in my favourite person. His fingers traced patterns on my hip.

By Niclas Lundin on Unsplash

I looked up at the sky, watching the stars shine. They twinkled beautifully. Stars like his eyes. This was everything that I wanted. Everything that mattered. I closed my eyes again, focusing on the sounds and sights around me. I felt his lips press against the crown of my head.

He whispered again, "And I love you now, and I love you now."

A tear slid down my cheek. I couldn't hold it back any longer. The tears flowed freely and silently, and soon enough, his arms wrapped tightly around my shaking frame. I buried my face in his shoulder, crying. He held me close and rocked me back and forth gently. I felt safe. I felt loved. And I cried because he was there. In my arms. In my life. He held me, kissing the top of my head gently. I could tell he felt the same way. The only difference was that I wasn't alone.

We stayed like that for what seemed like hours. But it couldn't be more than thirty seconds. Then we stopped swaying. It was just us now—just us in our little world. We sat back down at the table. We talked softly about nothing in particular. He would laugh. I would smile. He would take my hands. I would intertwine our fingers.

He kissed my knuckles softly. I looked up at him again, and my heart melted just a bit. He looked back at me with such adoration in his eyes. There was no hesitation or fear in them—nothing negative or angry or anything that could make me cry. There was none of that; there was only pure adoration.

"Will you be mine forever? Let's make our future infinite." He asked in a whisper.

I nodded, smiling and leaning forward, kissing him gently on the lips. He responded in kind, pulling me closer to him. When we parted again, the fireflies flicked into view. I watched their movements, captivated. They twirled around us, glowing like fairy lights in the dark. As they moved past us, I saw them land on each other, and their glow intensified.

One landed right in front of me. I reached out to pick it up, admiring its beauty. It twittered happily and flew back to its partner. We stood there staring at each other, entranced. The moonlight highlighted both of our features on our table. The table that has seen us grow older, wiser, stronger and happier.

I looked back up at him with a smile.

"Forever and ever and ever," I whispered back. He grinned and nodded, leaning in for another kiss.

*********************************************************************

Thank you for taking the time to read my story! I would appreciate it if you leave a heart or any tip is more than welcomed.

You can also check out any of my other articles on Vocal HERE or find me on Instagram at @anastasia_writes_1!

Love
4

About the Creator

Anastasia S

I always loved writing, but I never got the courage to start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.