Fiction logo

The Story of Promiseum - Dream walker

Chapter Eight - Family Secrets

By Llwyd L. BreninPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
Like
The Story of Promiseum - Dream walker
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

When Danny fell asleep, he immediately went into Emily's dream. They were at the park. Emily was standing by the fountain when Danny approached her. She was watching the water flow out of the fish's mouth in the center. Emily could tell that Danny was there. Her dreams seemed more vivid and alive when he was. Even in real life, everything seemed better with him there.

"I always loved it here," she said. "Especially when you're with me."

"Me too," he said as he put his arms around her from behind and kissed her on the cheek.

They walked around the park holding hands and talking. Danny told her about Samson and the dream he found him in. He also told her about going into the medial Realm and about meeting his medial spirit.

"They sound beautiful," she said. "I wish I could've seen it."

"Maybe you will," Danny said. "I will find a way. I want to share everything with you."

They continued their walk through the park. Then they decided to dream hop. Danny showed her most of his dreams, and they went to a lot of her dreams too. Danny even showed her a replica of the world he created in the medial Realm. She loved that there were squirrels. Before they knew it, it was time to wake up for work. While having breakfast, they discussed the plans for his mom's birthday party. The party was just after noon when the shop closed. All the guests would be there by the time they closed. They would then move everyone upstairs to the warehouse area for the party.

Everything went according to plan. It was a relatively small party, but everybody close to the family was there. However, something just didn't seem right to Danny. Somehow it seemed like someone was missing. But everyone was here. He personally greeted them all. There was also something about his mom. She was smiling; it was a happy smile. But it seemed like something behind it was missing. Or someone? It somehow made this birthday party seem more like a going-away party.

After the guests left, it was still early. Anny was staying for dinner, so she was sitting in the living room talking to Emily. Danny had to run down to his office to finish up some paperwork. He was there longer than he thought because the next thing he knew, his mom was knocking on the open door as she walked in.

"Sorry," he said. "I didn't realize there was so much to do."

"It's okay," Anny said. "I came to tell you that dinner was almost ready. Also, I wanted to thank you for the party."

"I just wanted to do something nice for you," he said. "Do you like your gift?"

"It's the most beautiful jewelry box I've ever seen," she said. "I also have something for you."

She pulled out a large wooden ring box and opened it. Inside was a set of beautifully crafted rings. It was a wedding set. His and hers matching gold bands and an engagement ring with a large diamond set in the band.

"These were your grandparents' wedding rings," she said. "They have been passed down for five generations. The tradition is when your firstborn child turns eighteen, you buy new wedding bands and pass this on."

"Thank you," Danny said. "That's a wonderful tradition. But I think we should head up for dinner now."

They started to walk to the door when she saw it. It was the locket Danny had forgotten all about.

"Where did you get that locket from?" Anny asked.

"I got it from a friend," Danny said. "He said I would know what to do with it when the time came."

"What else did he say?" she asked. "It's important."

"He just said it belonged to someone very close to him," Danny said. "Why is it so important?"

She pulled out another locket exactly like it. She then took the other locket and held it close to hers. They both suddenly popped open. In the locket Lance gave him was a picture of his mother, and in her locket was a picture of Lancel.

"Because this is my Lancelot." She said.

"Wait a minute!" Danny said. "Are you telling me?"

"Yes," she interrupted. He's your father!

Danny had to sit back down. I should have figured it out, he thought to himself. All the clues were there. Why didn't they tell me? Now I'm sure none of this was an accident. We're so much alike. He's been in my dreams for as long as I can remember, and a "dream chamber!" Walter is his father! That makes him my grandfather! Why didn't they tell me!?

"Are you okay?" Anny asked. "And why did he give you this?"

"I'm okay," he said. "Just in shock. I do know Lancel, and when he gave this to me, he didn't say much. He just said it belonged to someone close to him."

"That's right," she said. "We were very close. I used to work for Walter when I met him. We were hiding him from someone, I think. He came to my dreams a lot, and we fell in love. Then something happened. I don't know what it was. After that, I think I was in a dream. I thought it was real life, but my Lancelot said I had to wake up. I never saw him again. I thought he was dead." She started crying.

"I can't feel him anymore," she said. "I thought I could for a couple of days, but he's gone, and I'm feeling tired again." She finished while still crying.

"It's okay, Mom," he said, putting his arms around her. "I'll fix this. I promise!"

They took some time to compose themselves, then they went upstairs. They all had dinner together while Danny told Emily and Robert what he and his mom just discussed. Emily was glad that Danny finally knew who his father and grandfather were. But when they got to the part about them being separated and dying, Emily and Robert cried too. They all ended up crying together. It was then decided that Anny would spend the night. Emily prepared the day bed in her room for her to sleep on. Danny decided to get answers. Danny started by calling Walter. He went down to his office to call from that phone. That way, it would appear to anyone interested to be a simple business call. He dialed Walter's number and waited.

"Hello," he answered. "Walter Hampton speaking."

"Walter? This is Danny," he replied. "We need to talk right now. It's important. Can I come to your private office?"

"It sounds serious," he said. "Give me five minutes, then use your dream door."

"Okay," he said, "see you in five." Then he hung up. Five minutes later, he was in Walter's office.

"Have a seat," Walter said from behind his desk. “I'm guessing you discovered Lancel's secret.”

"Why didn't you tell me Lancel is my father?" Danny asked.

"I made a promise to Lancel and Elizabeth-Anne that I wouldn't,” he answered. "Since they're your parents, I have to respect their wishes. But I think you deserve answers now."

He got up from his chair, walked around the desk, and motioned for Danny to follow. Danny got up and followed Walter into the dream chamber. The chamber was already activated. Danny didn't wait for Walter to say anything. He pulled the meadow dream into the chamber and called Lancel. Lancel stepped out from behind a cluster of trees.

"Why didn't you tell me about you and my mother?" Danny asked. "You were always in my dreams, but I never knew you. Now my mother is dying."

"What do you mean, she's dying?" Lance asked. "She should have been okay in her body. How do you know?"

"I can feel it," Danny answered. "Your medial spirits are dying too."

"How can you feel something like that?" Lance asked. "I know you can feel the energy, but a medial spirit’s life force!? It can't be possible!"

"When I went into the medial realm, I shared energy with my medial spirit," Danny said. "He was able to take on a physical form. We even created a new world. Well, just a six-acre garden, but it's not a dream. Anyway, we have a stronger connection now. He is aware of so much more, and he can share it with me."

"That's amazing!" He said, "but it doesn't explain why she's dying, or why the medial spirits are dying."

"Right now, all I care about is trying to fix it," Danny said. "Tell me how you did it, and maybe we can figure it out."

"When I first came to this site, I only knew Walter." He started. "Elizabeth, your mother, worked for Walter. She would check on me and keep me company sometimes. We started spending a lot of time together, and we eventually fell in love. Then something happened to her. At first, I didn't know what it was, but I soon realized that her double from the other side, Ellabith, had died. I couldn't come to the physical world here, so I had to wait for her to dream. When she was there, I made her stay asleep and took her to the medial realm. I explored every option. Then we only had one left. With my help, our medial spirits merged together."

"How did you get separated?" Danny asked. "If I know that, maybe I can help figure out a way to reunite you."

"It was a big shock for her." He continued. "Without a body, she couldn't do much. She had trouble adjusting, and she missed her old life. So, after careful consideration, I put her back in her body, and I hadn't seen her since."

"How did you put her back in her body?" Danny asked. "I mean, did you take her back or just wake her up?

"At first, I just tried to wake her up," he said. But she couldn't wake up because her soul was attached to mine. So, I gave her a little push."

"Let me try something," Danny said, half to himself. Danny held his hand out and touched Lancel's arm. He closed his eyes to concentrate.

"What are you doing?" Walter asked. "If you don't mind me asking."

"I'm memorizing his energy signature," Danny said. "That way, I can try to compare it to my mom's."

When he finished, he collected energy from the air and put it into Lance.

"That should help your energy level for now," Danny said. "Wait here. I'll be back."

He didn't wait for an answer. Danny stepped through his dream door and then into his room, and he walked across the hall and knocked on the door. When Emily said, “come in,” he entered. Danny walked over to his mother and put his hand on her shoulder. That's weird, he thought to himself.

"What's wrong?" Emily asked, noticing the confused look on his face.

"I don't know," he said. "I mean, I don't know what to make of it. I have to go to the medial realm. I'll be back."

Danny went back to his room, then into the veil of Dreams. He went to the medial barrier and stopped. Better get some extra energy, Danny thought to himself. He pushed his hand into the barrier and collected a large amount of medial energy, then crossed into the medial realm. His medial spirit was already waiting for him. They went to see his parents' medial spirit, where he examined their combined energy signature. Just by looking at them, you could tell there was a problem. Instead of looking like a cloud of energy with lightning, they looked like a plasma ball with bolts of static dancing everywhere. Then, Danny and his medial spirit discussed the problem.

After a lengthy discussion, they finally figured out what went wrong and devised a solution. Danny decided that the first thing he had to do was to take care of the medial spirits. So, he temporarily blocked the feedback and absorbed the excess energy. This made a big difference. She was now a beautiful medial spirit with silver and gold lightning dancing around each other. It was like an intricate ballet, performed in a bluish silver cloud of energy.

With the excess energy he absorbed, Danny went home first. He came out of his room. From there, he walked across the hall and knocked on Emily's door. When she said, “come in,” he entered. Emily sat in front of her vanity, brushing her hair, while his mother was sitting at Emily's desk working on the computer. Emily stood up and kissed him when he approached.

"That was fast," Emily said. “You were only gone for ten minutes."

"I know," he said. “Time works differently in the medial realm. I was actually there for hours."

"That's weird," Elizabeth said. "When I was there, it seemed like years, but they said I was in a coma for three months. I thought it was just my imagination because I was dreaming."

"What did you find out?" Emily asked. "Can you help them?"

"Of course," he said. "Don't move," he told his mom.

He walked over behind her and put his hands on her shoulders. Her shoulders started to glow as he put part of the energy he collected from the medial spirit into her and then changed her energy configuration to match the medial spirits.

"There," he said. "Now I have to do the same thing to Lance, then I can put you two back together. I'll be back as soon as I can.

"He went back to his room, through his dream door, and back out in the dream chamber. Something was wrong! He had to force his way in. When he was in, the dream chamber was turned off, and the door was locked. He went to leave, but the dream door was gone, and he couldn't make another one. What's going on, and why is Walter trying to trap me? He thought to himself.

But before he could form another thought, an artificial dream door opened, and he heard Walter say, "come through, Danny." Danny stepped through, and he was in Walter's office.

"What's going on?" Danny asked. "Why was I trapped in there, and where is Lancel?"

"Lancel is gone," he said. "They took him. They managed to break through my security. However, I managed to get back to my office and set that trap for them. I knew you were coming back, so I was waiting for you."

"Who took him?" Danny asked.

"The people from the sleep clinic," Walter said, "but they had help. They couldn't do this on their own. And Danny, I think I saw a spirit, but he was more powerful than he should be. Something was feeding him massive amounts of energy."

"How is that possible?" Danny asked.

"I would say it's not, but I'm afraid I underestimated my old nemesis," Walter answered.

"What do you mean, old nemesis?" Danny asked. "Is there something you didn't tell me?"

"Yes," Walter said. "You better sit down. It's about time you knew everything about your grandfather."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Llwyd L. Brenin

The stories that you see labeled chapter one - chapter sixteen are chapters from my completed book, The story of Promiseum - Dream Walker. So if you decide to escape to my fantasy world, start with chapter one and read them in order.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.