Fiction logo

The Starting-Gun Sleep-Slide

The Muse meets The Sleeping Pill.

By Conor DarrallPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
The Starting-Gun Sleep-Slide
Photo by Daria Kraplak on Unsplash

100 with which to play; my fingers jitter in anticipation of their dance.

I’ve smoked, taken my meds. I feel comfortable.

The room is quiet-deep; pale-painted wood waits for the keyboard-song.

My mind wanders around the painting I am trapped in: the world sleeps.

Words will bounce around the room like bone-dice in a tavern betting mug.

Dice rattle, and hearth smoke. I see it. I’ll write a tavern scene.

I close my eyes and let my body sink for a moment. My stomach growls.

Hydroxyzine takes 60 minutes to kick in. Less when I’m hungry.

The tavern fades…

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Alina Zabout a year ago

    I liked the ending a lot. You conveyed beautifully the elusive moment of creativity onset. If only the meds wouldn't interfere....

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Awww bliss

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.