Fiction logo

The Spirit of the Lake

Enter at your own risk

By Nicholas McKennaPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
Photo by eberhard grossgasteiger from Pexels

“Legend has is that the spirit was once kind. Now, no man can enter the forest without fear of never returning. Each time a man is taken, he is made part of the forest and the forest grow larger. Some of the bravest warriors entered claiming to be able to put an end to the curse only to fail and feed the forest a little more each time. Realizing that the forest would overrun society, it was decided that no one would enter the forest to prevent it from growing and let it die on it’s own. That was 100 years ago… “

Morning at a log cabin about a mile from the forest. “I wish you wouldn’t go there.” Germael said to his wife.

“I sell flowers dear and the prettiest flower grow by the lake at the center of the forest. I have been several times and nothing has happened to me yet.” Esme collected her basket getting ready to walk out the door.

“You have been lucky so far. No man has entered that forest and come back alive! Even after the great war was won! They are seized and held there for all eternity!” Esme turned to her husband “Then it’s a good thing I am no man. ”

Germael began to raise his voice as he spoke. “I forbid you from entering that forest!” Esme was taken off guard. Her husband had never talked to her like this, and she did not appreciate it.

“You forbid me! You’ve never forbidden me a thing in my life, and you start now? With how I earn us coin? I sell flowers and you sell the deer you hunt. I never forbade you to kill animals to earn your coin and ill not have you forbid me from earning mine!” Esme stormed out the door and began towards the forest.

She was so bothered by this that steam could have filled all five feet of her. Blonde hair turned a bright red she was so angry. Muttering curses under her breath as she continued toward the forest. “How could he think to say such a thing to me! I even told him I’ve been here before. What could he be thinking?”

Esme tripped over a fallen branch and then realized that she was already in the forest about halfway to the lake. Looking around she saw trees that went high for miles, almost as if they could touch the heavens. Such vibrant greenery and flowers all around her. She had discovered a dirt path almost like an over grown walkway that led to the lake. She loved it here, the sound of peace in the air, the smell of nature all around her.

Esme continued down the path picking flowers as she went until she got to the lake. The light hit the water just right so it looked as if sparkling jewels were floating on the surface. Many different colored flowers were growing all around it. She stopped to enjoy the scenery. “I wish Germael could be here to enjoy this with me, but I’m glad he’s not here today.”

As she went down to pick flowers by the lake, she felt something tightening around her ankle. Startled, Esme jumped spilling most of the flowers. Looking down, she saw a garter snake wrapping itself around her leg. “Silly me, you can't possibly her me.” After removing the snake, she picked up what she dropped and went to pick more by the lake front.

The flowers were so beautiful by the water. Different shades of pink, blue, and yellow reflected off of the clear water in front of her. She had never went into the lake but thought she would one day. While smelling one, she felt her arm tighten this time. “Pesky little snake!” she cried. Reaching for her arm she felt it had multiple heads leading down to a mush larger body. Then it pulled her away from the flowers. Esme screamed not knowing what was taking her. Turning she saw a familiar face. “Germael! You can’t be here!” Germael looked sullen. “I couldn’t let you come here by yourself. If something happened to you, I would never forgive myself.” Esme smiled. “Is that your way of apologizing? If so, I will think about it.” Germael leaned in and kissed Esme. His hands on her hips pulling her in closer as if not getting enough of her.

“Are you done?” Germael asked. Esme looked around “I just need to pick some of those orange flowers over there.” Germael looked nervous. “OK be quick about it.” Looking at him with a coy grin Esme put her hand on his chest. “Are you really going to go there again so soon dear?”

She turned and started walking toward the patch of flowers. Germael went to follow her but felt snagged. Something had wrapped itself around his ankle. “Somethings twisted around my leg.” He shouted in concern. “It’s just a little garter snake. Nothing to be wary of.”

Just then something pulled Germaels leg out from underneath him. He fell on his face and began being pulled backwards. He was then lifted into the air, now dangling from a vine by a tree. “Germael!” Esme dropped her basket and ran to him. Grabbing his hand, she pulled with all her might. Germaels started screaming in pain as the tree pulled harder. The vine wrapping further up his leg squeezing tight.

“Let me go!” he said. “No I won't leave you!” Esme cried. Germael started sobbing. “As long as you can get out safe I will be fine. You still have a chance to get out. It hasn’t attacked you yet.” The two now sobbing both knowing that it was going to be him or the two of them getting taken. There were no other options. They looked into each other’s eye and choked out the words “I love you”.

Right as Esme was about to let go, a bright light appeared from the lake. The two shielded their eye with their hands until the beam was gone. The tension had loosened from the vine but was still holding on to Germael. They looked relieved until they saw something hovering over the lake. A woman, pale and around three feet tall. She had long dark hair and bright green leaves wrapping around her body like a tight dress.

The two were frozen in amazement. Not able to comprehend what they were seeing.

“I am Niasis, the spirit of this lake.” Germael and Esme were still in so much shock they couldn’t move.

“You there, man. Be you of Greavontis or of Nealaria?”

Germael still couldn’t speak. Esme spoke up first.

“We are from Greavontis. I am Esme and this is Germael my husband.”

Niasis floated around the two, inspecting them. She looked at Germael. “Why are you here? Did you not know that man is prohibited in my forest?”

The blood was rushing to his head making it hard for him to concentrate. Niasis rolled her eyes and with a wave of her hand the vine released Germael. He fell five feet to the ground landing with a thud. Now groaning while he rolls over onto his back, he looks up and sees Niasis staring down at him. “I asked you a question?”

Esme stepped between them. “He is sorry. I warned him, but he feared for my safety coming here. The blame is mine.”

“You are welcome here. I have seen you here many times. Taking care of the forest. Helping the flowers bloom.” Niasis said.

Germael stood up. “If I may ask wh-“

“You are not permitted to speak unless I demand it!” Niasis shouted.

Esme intervened. “I think what he means to ask is, why are men not allowed here?”

Niasis looked down. Now with a sodden look upon her face.

“Long ago, your people were warring with each other. I saw no reason to intervene until one of your kings approached me. The leader of the Nealaria pleaded for my aid against the Greavontis. I had no need to intervene with the disapproval of men until they told me that the Greavontis were burning the forests and cutting down trees to benefit their war efforts. I fought side by side with the Nealarian people to protect the forests. Unti I learned that it was the Nealarians that were destroying the forests, not the Greavontis. I went to speak with the king of Nealaria to voice my disapproval, but he laughed at me, believing me to be a fool for believing him. I vowed to never trust man again and left his kingdom. On my out, I turned one last time to look at the castle. Hatred swelled in me and I opened the ground beneath them and let the earth swallow them whole. I have lived in this lake ever since. Never again will I let man do harm the forests. But watching you just now.”

Naisis flew towards Esme. Reaching out, she put her hand on her check and wipes the tears away with her thumb.

“You would die for this man. Why? Doesn’t he cause you pain?”

Esme looked at Niasis, turned to Germael and then back to Niasis.

“It is true that he makes me angry at times, but I do the same to him. We both love each other and would want nothing but the best for the other.”

Germael put his arm around Esme as she wrapped her arms around his waist. Both staring at Niasis wondering what will happen next.

Niasis floated in front of them, the look of bewilderment on her face until she smiled.

“Just like I love the forest. I had not known that this feeling could be felt between two people. I must have destroyed much love taking all those men.”

Niasis dropped her head and floated back toward the lake. The vines now held Esme’s basket, handing it back to her full of flowers.

“I apologize for harming you Germael. I believed all men to be evil but if you can make her feel this way then maybe there is some good in men.”

Germael stood motionless until Esme elbowed him in the side. He looked to Esme and then to Niasis.

“You are forgiven Niasis. I hope I didn’t ruin anything in your forest.”

Niasis hovered over the lake again. “I will allow men to enter my forest again. However, if they cause any harm I will be forced to respond in the same.”

A bright light shown from behind Niasis. “Thank you for showing me that love can be shown to many things. It is a lesson I will not forget.”

The light got brighter. Esme and Germael shielded their eyes again until the light disappeared along with Niasis.

Esme inch forward until Germael grabbed her arm. “We should go!”

The two walked out of the forest and went home. A few days later Esme returned to the lake in the middle of Niasis’ forest. She smiled and began speaking.

“I wanted to thank you Niasis. Not just for releasing my husband but for the flowers. They are always so beautiful. I promise to thank you for all the flowers I receive here.”

Esme looked around and saw no sign of Niasis. As she began walking out of the forest, she turned to get one last look at the flowers. As she did, she saw two, three, four more bloom. All in different vibrant colors.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Nicholas McKenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.