Fiction logo

The Soulmate

he was her best friend. she trusted him with her life. she never could have guessed that he would be the one to cause her the most pain.

By MelPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
photo taken from stock images/google images

No matter what I've done to try and forget all about him, I can't seem to get that night out of my mind. Of course I can't. I cared about him. He was my best friend. He was the only person I was able to tell everything to.. he just had that kind of vibe about him.

Marcus. Why did you have to do it? We were perfect together. You and I were inseparable. My mom used to joke about how she was already preparing for the day we announced that we were going to have a joint wedding since we couldn't bare to do anything without the other. My dad used to give you those secret talks about how he'll "kill you" if you ever decided to hurt me. If only he was still alive to see what you did to me that night. Marcus, I trusted you. I seriously trusted you and you betrayed me.

I put down the pencil and picked up the picture frame he got for me with a photo of the two of us at prom together. He insisted we had to go together. I could still hear him pleading for me to agree to go with him. Originally, I was going to go with Hunter Spence, the captain of the debate club who I've had a crush on since 7th grade, but somehow Marcus managed to surprise me first with a gorgeous mauve colored gown as his way to ask for me to go with him. I still couldn't believe the effort he went into making that night the most perfect night from matching my dress with a mauve colored tux of his own, to going to my favorite burger joint afterwards so I was able to end the night with gravy fries. Of course I had to find out later on by Hunter that Marcus wasn't the one who actually brought me the dress or made the dinner plans.. Hunter did. Hunter preordered the dress six months before prom. Hunter made the reservations for the burger joint. Hunter planned it all. I threw the picture frame against the wall, "You just had to make that night as perfect as it was," I screamed out!

I fell to the ground clutching to my chest in pain, "You really had me thinking I had found myself the greatest friend of all time." I pulled myself up into the chair and picked up the pencil once more.

Hunter Spence came to visit me the night it happened, Marcus. He told me everything. He told me about how he found the dress six months in advance and all he wanted was to watch me twirl around in it. He told me how he made the dinner reservations a month in advance after he had already planned out exactly how he was going to ask me to go with him. Guess what Marcus? What he had planned would have been so much better than how you asked me. Oh, and Marcus? He told me what you did. Do you remember? You broke into his bedroom two days before asking me to prom, threatening him with a gun.. swearing you'd kill him if he was to ask me to prom instead of you. Was that how you got ahold of the dress? The dinner reservations? God, Marcus I wish he had called the cops on you that night. I wish he had pressed charges. He did too. That was mostly why he came to visit me at the hospital that night. He couldn't sleep. He felt as if it had been his fault.. he truly believed that he could have prevented what you've done to me if he intervened and called the cops on you that night. Hell. Maybe it could've. But I wasn't going to let him live on with that thought in his head.. so I forgave him. Something you'll never get to experience from me Marcus. Oh.. one more thing before I forget, Marcus. Hunter definitely won. He confessed to me that the main reason he felt so bad was because he has always cared so deeply about me over dinner during our first date. Ya know.. at that burger joint he had planned to take me too before you intervened. He also explained exactly how he wanted the night of prom to go.. so congratulations Marcus.. you really had me miss out on a dream of a lifetime simply because you couldn't handle the fact that I may have been with anyone else. You were so damn obsessed with me that you couldn't see that you were pulling me away from anything that would've made me the happiest I'd ever been. You didn't even like the idea of me deciding to take a break from us and stepping back for a bit..

After that night, I've always wondered what might have happened if I never decided to just take a step back for a bit. I wasn't leaving you Marcus. You do realize that, right? I was going to come back. I just needed some time by myself.. for me. It was never because of you. You were my best friend. I couldn't even imagine my life without you. How did you ever believe that I wanted to just call it quits with you?

I took one more breather before I put my focus back into writing.

That night. That dreadful, horrid night. You'd think after all that happened it'd be one big blur in the back of my mind.. but I still remember it so vividly. Every last detail. It's basically a curse instead of a memory at this point.

I was just shopping at the mall. It was Friday night. The mall had just closed for the night so I walked back to my car, throwing the bags of new clothes into my trunk when I heard light footsteps behind me. Thinking it was just someone who also stayed till the second the mall closed before leaving, I closed the trunk and walked towards the driver's side of the car.

"Don't you dare make a sound," a voice spoke out. One hand had been placed across my mouth while the other was being used to press a cold, metal object against my back. "Don't you dare make a sound." The voice repeated.

"Please-" I tried to say but he pressed his hand even harder against my mouth.

"What did I just say?"

A tear fell down my cheek.

"Turn around."

I didn't move.

"I said turn around." He pressed the object further into my back but I still didn't want to face him.

"God damn it," He forced me to face him, holding the small pistol to my neck, "I told you to turn around!"

"Marcus?" I asked. Only you would be stupid enough to pull this kind of act without covering your face, Marcus.

"How could you do it?"

"Do what?" It seemed like a stupid question now, but at the time I truly had no idea what was going on.. or what he had done.

"You were my everything."

"Marcus."

"You were the person I looked forward to being with."

"Marcus, you're scaring me."

He jammed the pistol into my gut, "You were supposed to be mine!" His voice echoed throughout the parking garage.

"Hey hey," My voice sounded shaky, "Marcus think about what you're doing right now."

"Oh I'm going to have you." He smiled at me. I'll never be able to get that smile out of my head. It's forever imprinted in my memory. "I'm going to have you no matter what you try to do."

He held one hand against my throat while using the other to unbutton my jeans. "Marcus, stop it." I tried to fight him but he was a lot stronger than I was.

"So you want to play that game, huh?"

"What game?" I asked innocently, "C'mon. Let's go home. My mom's making pasta toni-"

The next thing I remember was waking up on the ground of that parking garage with my pants laying next to me and Marcus standing above me with a gun pointed at my head.

"That wasn't as fun as I imagined it to be." He still had that stupid smile imprinted across his face.

"What wasn't as fun, Marcus?"

"You should've tried harder." He continued to point the gun at my head.

"Marcus," I held my hands up, "Put the gun down."

He started smacking the side of his head with his free hand, "You should've tried harder. You should've tried harder. You should've tried harder."

"Hey," I sat up, "Marcus, calm down. You are seriously scaring me now."

He quieted down and focused his eyes on me as he placed his gun against the side of his head.

"Marcus!" I shouted out.

Bang.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.