Fiction logo

The Song of Reeds

Fiction

By DanilBosPublished 2 years ago 4 min read

Two years ago, when I was working in Shanghai, I remember a friend said to me: early winter to Wuhan, if not to see the river bank in Hankou reed flowers, that is really called regret miles! Now that I am working in Wuhan, I remembered the friend's words, and if I don't go to see the reedbud flowers on the river bank, it would be more regretful for life. I was thinking about this, and suddenly I remembered some time ago, with a few friends in Wuhan, when we talked about the ancient and modern, talking about the Jiangtan reed flowers, one of them said to me: "generation of teachers, you know what? In Wuhan, in addition to the Hankou river bank can see the reed flowers, there is a place can also see the reed flowers."

I hurriedly smiled and asked the friend, "Is that so? Where is that place?"

"At Houguan Lake in Chaokou, Hanyang, where the reedbuds are not much inferior to those on the river bank." The writer said to me seriously. After hearing the words of my friend, I thought: the Houguan Lake in Chaokou is not too far from my workplace, it is near my company. I thought: first of all, it is very feasible to go to the nearby Houguan Lake to see the reed flowers, and when there is time, then specifically to see the reed flowers at the river bank, is not also a very good idea? This thought, I am ready to choose a good weather, to go to the Houguan Lake to see the reed flowers.

All along, I would treat the reeds as reeds and the reed flowers as reed flowers. The reed and reed shape, like my hometown sheep grass, my hometown in the Dabie Mountains in southern Henan, as a child, every year in spring and summer, with small friends grazing cattle, often see the green sheep grass swaying in the wind, every late autumn and early winter, sheep grass flowers with the wind flying scene, vividly, remember as heart. But the sheep grass in my hometown generally grows on the edge of the mountains, or grows in the nooks and crannies of the earth, is dry land, while the reeds and rutabaga grow in places close to the water, because of the different growth environment, I think, this is also the sheep grass and rutabaga reeds are different from the place of it! I remember some years ago, I went to Zhejiang Xin'an River to collect wind, and when I saw a green tent in front of me, I softly shouted, "This reed is so spectacular!" But the reservoir manager who was with me, Comrade Yang, smiled and explained to me, "That green tent is a reed instead of a reed." From then on, I learned that reeds and reeds are two different plants.

It was only after careful understanding that I gained a deeper understanding of reeds and rutabagas: the reeds of the north and the reeds of the south actually belong to the same family, except for one genus of reeds and one genus of rutabagas. The reed in the north is also called reed. The poem "poetry" cloud: "reed pale, white dew for frost. The so-called Iman, on the other side of the water." Is the description of the water reeds that kind of sprightly romantic scenes. The reed people also called reed bamboo, literati and writers of all generations, the description of the reed is endless, such as Liu Yuxi "Xisai Mountain Huai Gu" poem: "Now for the four seas for home, so the base Xiao Xiao reed autumn." There is also Bai Juyi in the poem "Pipa Xing": "Xunyang River head night to send guests, maple leaves and dilly flowers in autumn." I think: reeds and reeds are close relatives, and the biggest difference between them is the environment they grow in, right?

No matter how different they are, I have always thought of reeds as reeds and reed flowers as reeds, and I have never changed my mind. The two plants have never been divided into two, like the reed is like the reed flower, like the reed flower is also like the reed flower.

The first thing you need to do is to go to Houguan Lake to see the reed flowers, that is, to see the reed flowers in my consciousness. The moment I mentioned going to see the reed, my mood ah! I was particularly excited and relaxed, so why did I have this state of mind? I think: from the beginning of the love of rutabaga, the name of rutabaga, a good feeling, the deepest memory, to the best impression of the time, that has to be traced back to the mid-1980s, when I was in middle school, I experienced some things, meet or learn about some people, and let me remember a long time. I've always thought: maybe the reed flower, as her name suggests, is as gentle and moving, dazzling, white and flawless, and that's why I'm attracted to it!

Classical

About the Creator

DanilBos

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DanilBosWritten by DanilBos

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.