Fiction logo

The snowy cabin

Back to us

By Ioana AdrianaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
The snowy cabin
Photo by Blake Carpenter on Unsplash

We drove up the snowy, windy road towards the cosy A-frame cabin.

My partner Tom, and I have a hectic schedule. We juggle a lot in a day, between taking the children to school and picking them up, business meetings, shopping, cooking dinner, cleaning, washing up, and the to-do list goes on and on. Twenty-four hours a day are never enough. Because we live such dynamic lives, we barely find time for ourselves.

I don't remember the last time we were on holiday or even spent a romantic evening together.

Saying that, while I was scrolling on Instagram, an advert advertising a weekend getaway in a mid-century hideaway cabin popped out.

I felt hypnotised by its beauty and spontaneously booked it for the weekend.

I organised for the children to stay with our parents and prepared our luggage. I didn't think about repercussions. I just thought it might allow us to reconnect and remove us from our everyday routine.

Tom was furious with me. At first, he refused to come. Then, during the journey, he continuously mumbled and complained about everything.

"I had to cancel a crucial meeting because of your "moment of spontaneity." Why couldn't we plan this together at a more appropriate time?"

"It was meant to be a surprise. Plus, it would have never happened otherwise."

"Remind me, why we didn't include the children? At least I could have taken advantage of this and maybe spent some quality time with them. I feel like I overlooked them lately."

"Frankly, lately, I wasn't the best parent either, but I feel that for us to be more present with them, we must reconnect. We have been immersed in our routines and grew apart."

And here we are. The two of us. In the middle of nowhere with no internet and barely any signal on our phones.

Someone didn't take this news well, either.

We unpacked the car and entered the gate through the cabin, rushing to get inside because it was freezing.

I left the luggage and sunk into the sofa while Tom desperately tried to connect to the internet.

The cabin is full of charm. The atmosphere is very calm and cheery. The view outside is out of a fairytale. The cottage is surrounded by tall trees and pines covered in snow.

I noticed a bottle of red wine on the kitchen counter and marshmallows for hot chocolate on standby. I decided the wine was more appropriate. I also poured a glass for Tom.

"It is chilly in here. Would you like me to turn on the wood burner?"

"Yes, please," I answer, impressed that he knows how to.

I don't know if it was the Italian wine, the fresh air, or the fire crackles, but the tension between us slept away.

We spent the evening chatting and laughing while outside was snowing softly. We escaped to the bedroom where a super size king bed was expecting us, sprinkled with luxury touches.

We didn't enjoy each other's company so well in a long time.

I woke up the next day to the smell of fresh coffee and pancakes. We had a lazy morning and didn't feel like adventuring outside. We contend with admiring the views from the patio and deciding to make the best of the outdoor hot tub.

On our last day at the cottage, we explored the surroundings.

We had the most serene, beautiful walks. The fresh air was rejuvenating. We even spotted a deer with her cubs which were exceptional and sweet to witness.

Tom and I have been together for fifteen years. Funny fact, we met at a wedding, on the dance floor.

Have you ever experienced that moment when the DJ plays your favourite song, and you hurry up on the dance floor? Afterwards, suddenly, he decides to put on one of the most romantic songs in the world. All couples dance together.

I found myself awkward, and I think Tom noticed that. He invited me to dance, and I was mute in amazement. It felt magical, and the rest of its history.

And here we are many years later, on the porch of this house, slow dancing and falling in love again.

This weekend spent at the cabin was such a beautiful gift. It brought us closer. It reminded us how important it could be to spend quality time together.

We made memories to last, and we even promised to return and have this escape more often.

Short StoryLove
Like

About the Creator

Ioana Adriana

Rediscovering the love for writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.