Fiction logo

The Silent Treatment

Happy endings require a longer conversation

By Prart RPublished 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
1
The Silent Treatment
Photo by Deva Darshan on Unsplash

She sat there silently, completing her stitch as she heard him in the talking to his friend. "You're seeing it right? How impossible she is? What was it that happened that she left me to live separately now?" She leaned gently on the window. "I can't with her.. just.." He is still ranting.

The next couple of days was a repeat of the same beats. She would seat herself, he would be talking to his friend, complaining; his friend, whom she could never hear talking. Argh. "You know her right? Always giving the silent treatment to me, expecting me to go and beg her." She shook her head and took a deep sigh. "She didn't bring the kids between this, they are still splitting half week here and at her place." He was continuing to explain to his friend. Her eyes widened and she nodded to herself as she heard it. She almost said something but stopped herself short as she heard him again, her heart breaking this time.

"She isn't speaking to me at all. I wish she would." His voice was breaking. "She is the first person I feel like sharing anything with. I wish she would just talk to me." She couldn't hold her tears back as she heard it. I wish she would talk to you as well. She wrapped her knitting, wiped her unseen tears and closed the window, hoping the stranger she has been hearing downstairs would have his happy ending.

LoveShort Story
1

About the Creator

Prart R

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.