Fiction logo

The Sentinel

by Bethanie Clark

By Bethanie ClarkPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 10 min read
Like
The Sentinel
Photo by Mindaugas Vitkus on Unsplash

“Jo?”

“Mm?” Josie replied dreamily, savouring the soft breeze against her skin.

“Parcel.” Marnie placed a weighty parcel in Josie’s lap and gently closed the window beside her. Josie tested the box in her hands, heavy, for its relatively small size.

“You’re sure it’s for me?” She said quietly.

“Josie Hullman, 13 Maple Street, Gallsfield.”

“Marnie...” Josie’s voice wavered, “no one is supposed to know I’m here.”

“Probably just from your Mother, it’s been a while since she sent you here, I’m sure she’s just letting you know she’s thinking of you.” There was an unnatural singsong tone in Marnie’s voice and she shifted uncomfortably on her feet. Josie ran her hands over the smooth paper, thick and rigid, it was clear the sender had taken great care. Her fingertips traced the intricate writing, following the loops and curves of her own name.

“It’s not her writing.” She whispered, strumming the side of the box, unsure how to proceed. Marnie sat down beside her and took the box in her hands, pressing it to her ear and gently shaking it.

“Well either way, whoever sent it knows you’re here.” Marnie sighed, “Probably best to open it so we can at least decide if we need to run.” Josie swayed in her seat but nodded slowly.

“Would you mind opening it?” She whispered, her eyes to the floor. Marnie squeezed her hand and began to undo the parcel. Josie closed her eyes, painfully waiting for a bang or a scream. She felt the wrappings drift to the floor by her feet and then Marnie let out a small gasp.

“What is it? Do we need to go right away?” Josie was already on her feet.

“No...” Marnie took Josie’s hand and pulled her back to the seat. “It’s from your Father.”

“My what?” The laugh that escaped her lips was malicious and alien.

My dearest Josie...” Marnie began to read.

“Please stop it.” Josie’s voice trembled. She walked to the kitchenette and poured herself a glass of water, a feeble attempt of calming the torrent of emotions in her chest. Each sip burned as it forced itself passed the lump in her throat. Marnie remained on the seat, greedily absorbing the letter. Josie began to return their breakfast cutlery to the drawer, making a conscious effort to make them clatter among their kin to drown out the quiet gasps coming from the corner. She moved on to the plates, tears threatening to fall. Her trembling hands rattled the first plate as it made contact with the others in the cupboard, the second one, slipped from her grip and crashed against floor. Shards of porcelain scattered across the room, a jagged triangle skidded to a halt by Marnie’s feet. Josie clung to the worktop, her face as white as her knuckles, furious at the warmth spilling down her cheeks. Marnie silently moved across the room and took Josie by the hand, guiding her through the porcelain and brown paper debris, back to the sofa. Marnie’s hand was soft and comforting and her floral perfume filled Josie's senses. They sat in silence for a while, Josie holding her knees to her chest while Marnie wrapped an arm around her shoulder.

“I really think you should hear it.” Marnie said finally.

“Do you believe it is from my Father?” Josie whispered to her knees. Marnie kissed the top of her head.

“I do.” She sighed. Josie nodded her assent without raising her head from the crook of her knees.

My dearest Josie, let me first start, by apologising. If one thing has haunted me above else, it is missing my opportunity to be your Father. So many nights I have squandered in anger over my responsibility.

"As a young man, I was given a gift from my Father, a gift of unthinkable power. At the time, I thought it wonderful. I was grateful, but I was naive. The possibilities that lay at my feet were unfathomable. The limits I had learned through childhood were blurred and altered. I had thought myself humble as a boy and gracious as a teen, but the power I found as a man was dizzying. I had become a symbol to the people, of strength and of hope. Many longed to be me or just to be close to me, even just for a while. They would pose for a picture, wait for an autograph then bleed their problems into my ear, glowing smiles turned glowering suspicion when I failed to suggest immediate solutions. My face was used as a pillar in society while the people of the society marred my heart. It haunts me still, the consuming loneliness.

"Your mother was different. She was warm and thoughtful, she listened. I was severely injured, I knew better than to try to maintain privacy at a hospital where the walls had ears and the beds were lined with people waiting for a story to sell. I stumbled into a veterinary practice; your mother was locking up when I fell through the door.

“Never before and never again, have I felt happier, than during my short time with your Mother. Please know, I didn’t leave due to a lack of love, I left due to the overwhelming presence of love. It was brief, but it was real.

"If there is one thing, man seeks above all else, it is power. Many believed that if power could not be earned, it could be taken. My situation was dangerous; I couldn’t allow your mother to be dragged into it.

"You were seven years old when I learned of your existence. I had been called to assist with a robbery near your mothers practice...”

“It can’t be.” Josie’s breathing had grown ragged and her voice was hoarse.

“What?” Marnie whispered her eyes wide with anticipation. “You remember?”

“Yes...” Josie’s brow furrowed and she bit her lip. “Please carry on.”

As I turned to leave I saw your mother staring at me from across the street, holding the tiny hand of the most beautiful thing I had ever seen. I could feel it in my very being that you were mine. Despite inheriting your Mother’s heartbreaking smile, I’m afraid to say, you got your eyes from me.”

Marnie paused as she heard a stifled scoff come from the cushion Josie had buried her face into; she cleared her throat and continued.

“You probably don’t remember, but we spoke briefly. You told me about school and your pet rabbit, Jonesy, you were so funny and eloquent, but most importantly, you were happy. I wish I could have told you how proud of you I was. How proud of you I am. I do hope you remember. You did not know who I was, I made sure of that, I thought it would be easier for you that way. I think your mother understood too, I have always hoped she understood. We parted that day and I kept my distance, please know it was because I believed it was in your best interests and a small part of me withered away every day we were apart. Sometimes I would face the night sky and hope you were too, so in some way we could share a moment, be together, even if we never really knew.

"I’m so sorry that you grew up thinking you were left behind or unloved. I realise this is just a piece of paper, but I have poured my sincere feelings out in the ink.

"How I wish I could have told you this in person, this feels very hollow.”

Marnie laid the letter on the coffee table and pulled Josie to her chest. She tucked a stray tendril of hair behind her ear and rocked her gently as her body trembled.

“He’s gone.” Sobs racked Josie’s body as the words floated around the room. Marnie pulled her closer to her chest.

Josie woke to the sound of Marnie in the kitchen. Her face felt numb and swollen, her mind buzzed with screaming thoughts and emotions. She groaned and pulled herself upright.

“Ah...” Marnie walked across the room and placed a mug on the coffee table. “You’re awake.”

Josie took a long sip from her mug and savoured the burning feeling of coffee spilling down her throat.

“The Sentinel.” She said quietly. “The Sentinel was my Father. I remember meeting him, the day of the robbery. Mum had been taking me for a dress fitting for my Aunt’s wedding and then he was just there. I’d heard about him on TV, on the radio, stories from the kids at school. I felt so lucky that I got to be the one who met him and that he decided to talk to me.” Tears threatened her eyes again, her lips twisted into a vicious smile. “And now he’s dead.”

“They never confirmed they found a body.” Marnie said, managing to inject a small amount of hope into her voice. Josie turned to her and shook her head.

“He has to be dead, why else would he have sent the letter, why now?”

“At least you know who your Father was now and why he never contacted you.” Marnie said helplessly after a few minutes of silence.

“I think this is worse than not knowing.” She rose from sofa and started to walk towards her bedroom.

“Josie, wait.” She paused by the door. “The parcel...”

Josie turned back, she had forgotten about the parcel entirely once she knew about the letter. She returned to the sofa and once again, Marnie placed the parcel in her lap. The box was rough now that it’s expensive paper had been discarded. She reached inside and her fingertips ran over a thick material. The scent of leather and aftershave filled her nose and immediately comforted her. She pulled the material from the box.

“What is it Marn?” Josie whispered, fearing she already knew.

“It’s his suit.” Marnie said, a tone of sadness permeating her words.

“Why?” Josie’s voice cracked. Marnie cleared her throat.

“I fear my time is coming to an end Josie. I am in grave danger and this time I do not think I can escape. Now, the desire to meet you is overwhelming and unbearable. I am so desperate to finally hold you in my arms, even just once, but alas this only means it is more imperative than it has ever been to stay away. I have enclosed my suit, in the hope that it may offer you some comfort during the emotional turmoil this letter will leave in its wake. The suit is the source of the power. Should you wish to use it yourself, I know your Mother has raised you to be a strong confident young woman and I have no doubt in my mind you would make the world proud. This life is not a life I would wish on anyone, so please do not take the decision lightly.

“Whatever you choose, I wish you a lifetime of happiness Josie, a lifetime that I failed to give you. I know you never had a Dad, but please know I was always so proud in the knowledge that you were my daughter.

I will love you, always.

Jonathan Reise

Dad"

Josie pressed her face into the material of her Father’s outfit, the material hummed at her touch. She gently placed it back in the box and pushed the box beneath the coffee table.

“You’re not going to?”

“How can I Marnie?” Josie muttered. “You know that’s ridiculous, he obviously didn’t realise.

“Look at what you have already achieved Josie, you can do anything you put your mind to.”

“I’m blind Marnie, not stupid. That would be suicide.”

“He was blind too.” Marnie said quietly.

“He said he saw me?” Josie's heart pounded against her rib-cage. Marnie pulled the box from beneath the table. “How can you be sure?”

“I think it's time for me to tell you what I know.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Bethanie Clark

Hi I'm Beth from Derbyshire in the UK, all I've ever wanted to do is write, now I just need to trade my soul for some motivation to do it! I'm also painfully aware of the irony that I can't think of much to write here...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.