Fiction logo

The Scales of Splendor-Chapter 3: The Question of the Hests

The battle wanes but the war continues; Demmings and Hest convene.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 2 years ago Updated 5 months ago 11 min read
1

The fluorescent lights flickered in the downstairs of the Hest bunker. Weapons, clothing, and rations lined the walls and tables, respectively. Demmings and Flinden sat across from each other as the device ticked more casualties on their side. Demmings sighed.

“I just don’t know what to say.”

“Then don’t say anything,” Hest replied.

A sly grin crept onto his face. He reached for a bottle of gin and found two glasses. He poured the liquid as rumbles from the fight continued.

“I know what,” he spoke again. “We can fight them until they get tired. They’ll eventually tucker out,” the grin remained as the last drop fell into his glass. He raised it.

“To the Costerly defeat,” he toasted with his wife.

“And the nerve of that damn girl,” Demmings spouted.

“I’m glad you’re barren,” Hest interjected.

“What?” Demmings asked.

“We don’t have children. Try as I may, I can’t achieve and you’re like the desert. If we had had a child, say a boy. He would have grown up to fall in love with that Costerly kid and that would have just further complicated things. It’s better this way.”

The couple sipped in silence after this remark, thunderous sounds still echoing from above them.

“When the dragons first came, they were like our children. I wanted to protect them. I wanted to hold them. I didn’t care how massive they were. I wanted to guard them with all of my power,” Demmings admitted.

“Ah, yes. They sure were magnificent when they landed here. When the Costerlys so brazenly took control over them, I boiled with spite. I wanted them. I wanted them for you. Sure, I could direct them in flight or just let them be. It didn’t matter. I just wanted to see you enjoy the moments of cherishing a living thing beyond me. I like the sacrifice. It’s comforting.”

Demmings finished her gin and winked at her husband.

“If we win—”

“When,” Hest corrected.

“Right. When we win this battle, we may just be able to use the dragons for their scales. I mean it’s a bit selfish—”

“You’re damn right it’s selfish. Are you on the Costerly campaign, Demi? They’re the egotistical maniacs who have not let up on their tyranny against us and those beautiful creatures. So what if those beasts could cure what ails us. It is proper, it is right that those beings be used only for purposes that would cause them to live, not die for the sake of humans. I’m surprised at you, Demi.”

The glasses clinked as another mortar ripped through the night sky and exploded in their territory.

“I just want to keep the dragons and be healed at the same time. Is that asking too much? I mean, we’re altruists and all, but can’t we just get that little favor from God? Can’t we have a child of our own?”

“It’s questionable at our age.”

“Even with the dragon’s blood from the scales? Don’t you think if they can stave off death, they can produce life?”

Hest looked at his wife for a long time. He mentioned, “Demi, you’re just thinking of yourself. You’re just scared that our enemy will prevail and that the dragons will be forever confined to petting zoos and infirmaries. We have to be completely selfless in every regard. It is the Hest Doctrine. So why can't we have kids? What curse did God place on us to prevent us from enriching the earth with offspring? These are questions we can’t worry about. We have a war to worry about. That’s our main focus and identity.”

A dry chuckle low and deep sprouted from Demming’s mouth. It was like an ice cube tossing about in a blender.

“Just what the hell is so funny, Demi?”

“‘We’ve got a war to worry about! Don’t you think I hear what’s going on above our heads? Don’t you think I know that young men and women are dying up there on our behalf? Some of them call me mom. I see their faces and wonder if I will have to tell their parents the news of their lost child. I don’t know what’s worse…to not be able to have a child or to lose one in battle….” she trailed off at the end. Hest just looked across the table. He looked Demming in her eye.

“Look…I know we’re at a point where the fight is thick and the best thing we can do is keep on with our generals who are doing their damndest to lead these young people. We have to be proud, I guess?”

“Now look who has the ego.”

“I’m saying we can mix selfishness with altruism. There’s got to be some hybrid, some combination we can make out of the two.”

A large blast caused dust to fall from the ceiling.

“It’s a constant reminder that we cannot think of ideas, Flinden. They are impotent. They have no place in this war. We must remind ourselves that we are focused on the movements of muscles. Thoughts and ideas just cloud the mind. There’s school for that. The government run school that we will establish after this is all over will teach just that. Pencils and pens and word processors and professors mouthing words will not do when blood is spilt,” Demmings replied.

“If we could just use the dragon scales and not have them die,” Hest sighed.

“I know. I know. It is the reality of it all. We must not detract from the truth that we are mere mortals. We are dirty lumps of clay made from dust and will return to it. By taking into account all the positions we can take on the Costerlys without resorting to their wicked Ways. I know now, as long as I’ve been on this earth, that the only way is to tie God and society.”

Hest chuckled. “I think you’re right.”

“I know I am. With both powers in unison, who can stop us?”

The gin glasses plinked against the table one last time before Hest put away the gin and reached his hand for Demming to return to the bunker.

“We must go back to our positions,” Hest insisted.

*****

The Costerly leaders stood in Leola’s bedroom.

“What you did tonight could have cost you your life—twice,” Gesta remarked.

“Mom—”

“No, no, no.” Gesta looked at her husband after directing this negative phrasing to her daughter. Costerly shook his head.

“Your father and I have decided to bar you from battle. You can take off that diamond getup and remain confined to this room. Those Hests will never tire until they kick you off the board like a rook or castle.”

“I’m definitely a knight. Anyway, I understand that, but what will I do to aid in the effort for our side? I wanted the dragons to be our first hand weapons and sources of health altogether. I wanted to be able to go on the battlefield.”

“But your arm—” Gesta argued.

“I'm still talking right? Arm’s still working…and I am ready for whatever those Hests throw at us.”

“You can plan and strategize up here. We can even arrange to have some lieutenants and captains come in and outline the next attack,” Gesta mentioned.

“Is there a Triakka that I could see?”

“The doctor? I’m sure he’s busy with other patients. I’m sure he won’t make a house call even by our orders. He helped heal you. Haven’t you shown your gratitude by revealing you can maneuver through the obstacles of this magnificent house?”

“Of course, Mom. I just thought we should be able to welcome him and observe how well the scales have acted as a balm.”

“I think he’s well aware of that. The scores of warriors who perished before the powerful scales could save them must mar his soul. If we call him up here, then there will be a potential fighter who will not get the care you received and may see death.”

Leola grew quiet. Her mind became like the whirring of helicopter blades. She, in seconds, conjured all of her strength and will. She looked at the landscape. Bright flashes of orange and yellow dotted the distance.

“I want to go outside,” she said at last.

“I meant you can stay in this room but also walk the grounds of this compound,” Gesta replied.

“That’s all I want, really. I’m okay with not going into battle again. I may not be so fortunate the next time.”

“Yes, it seems you are starting to see things clearly, ‘Ola,” Gesta spoke, brightening.

“I could always work on my combat moves, just in case something terrible befell this household,” Leola replied.

As the muffled sound of bursting bombs and mortar fire reached the two leader Costerly’s ears, they knew that the only way to protect themselves was to go to their bunker. Leola’s chin lifted.

“You guys go ahead. Return to your stations. I’m sure the mere sight of you will be a boon for those on the ground. But if you send those junior grade officers, make sure they’re commanding officers. Let the fighters know that their orders are still being delivered by the daughter of their CEO and co-CEO.” Her parents didn’t answer for a while.

“Well, you have the entire complex to yourselves while we are away on the field. Consider yourself fortunate to know your life was spared.”

“That’s right,” Leola beamed. Costerly and Gesta exited and made their way to the front gates. At this time, two dragons breathed fire, forming a cross at the main entrance to the Costerly Compound. A convoy of vehicles carried them back to the bunker. Leola smirked. She retrieved her smartphone and entered the information on the sheet in the hospital by just blowing her breath. Triakka’s image appeared and she could smell the sterile scent of the hospital.

“Miss Costerly, are you well?”

“Now I am,” she replied.

Triakka did not blush but his brow did furrow.

“Is something the matter? As you can probably recall, sometimes the fluid from the scales can be overwhelming for a few days. What seems to be the problem?”

“Oh, I just wanted you to know that I’ll be back on the battlefield in a matter of weeks.”

“That’s not the memo your parents sent out and you know it.”

“Spare me the lecture. I just got chewed from the very people you referred to a moment ago,” Leola snapped.

“Miss Costerly—”

“Peart. I think we should be able to call each other by our first names, don't you think?”

Triakka straightened and cleared his throat. “Well, Leola, I think we can continue this conversation some other time. I am rather busy at the moment. I only answered to check on your condition. It seems like everything is fine.”

“Whoever you have on staff, tell them to fill in for you. Get one of those butter bars to work.”

Triakka laughed. “I’m afraid it’s not that simple Miss—Leola,” he imparted.

“Why not?”

“There’s a chain of command. Your parents of course are at the top. I have an array of bosses that are under them. I can only tell people of my rank and lieutenants and enlisted personnel any number of orders,” he explained.

“Yes, I get all of that. So snag one of those LTs and get them on whatever patient you’re working on at the moment,” Leola demanded. “That’s a direct order from—”

“If I may, a spoiled princess-like figure confined to her bedroom does not match a man who studied the intricacies of the human limbic system when you were sharpening your pencil preparing for a spelling test.”

“Is there a point in there somewhere?” Leola asked.

“I’m!” Triakka exclaimed. Then, he sighed.

“We’re not supposed to even be talking like this. I know you’re an adult so you ought to understand proper patient-doctor relations. It should be clear.”

“What? Did you think that I’m calling you to make you my gentleman caller?”

Triakka rolled his eyes.

“You know I can see you, right?”

“I’m fully aware.”

“So you can see me, too. My full battle dress…does it command your attention?”

“Look, Leola….”

“You can smell the perfume I’m wearing….”

Triakka cut off the call. How dare he? she thought. I’m putting on my best for his glory and that’s how he treats me? I can get him fired. Next, her screen glowed. It was a message from Triakka.

“I can be over after my shift.”

The simple text message warmed Leola. It was like a potent potable coursing through her system. Her smile, plastered on her face, gave her a sense of connection to the military physician.

When the guards and dragons finally permitted him to go past the entrance, Triakka took the escalator up to Leola’s room. He looked at the monitor and noticed that she did not appear.

“She’s down in the war room, sir,” a young warrior guarding the compound stated.

“Thank you,” Triakka acknowledged.

Down in the war room, gigantic screens projected the various points where the fighters had assembled. Leola, still in her battle dress, sat in a large chair facing away from Triakka.

“Does this all impress you, Peart?”

“I’ve been down here bef—yes it does. It still does.”

“Do you know why we must defeat the Hests?” she asked.

“Yes. It is to ‘preserve the lives of the dragons for our own selfish usage.’”

Leola swiveled around in the chair. “You’re well trained. That’s going to be a boost.”

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.