Fiction logo

The Saga of Dale and the Zombies

How the Vocal Community Created Something Special

By Dana CrandellPublished 12 months ago Updated 9 months ago 6 min read
29
The Saga of Dale and the Zombies
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

This is the story of two communities (not to be confused with a somewhat popular story about two cities). The first is a fictional one that I created for a Vocal challenge. The second is a very real one; a community of incredibly talented creators and readers who helped turn my fictional one into an adventure that I will never forget.

How it Started

When Vocal created the Microfiction Magic Challenge*, I was intrigued, but not entirely sure how I wanted to approach it. Though I hadn't realized microfiction was a thing, I was comfortable with the concept. Tell a complete story in 50 to 100 words. No less, no more. It's not as simple as it sounds, which is why it's called a challenge, right?

As many of you may know, I like stories with a twist. I also have a warped sense of humor and dad jokes/puns are something of a specialty. So, I put together a little zombie tale. (My kids and I watched all the old zombie movies when they were still kids.)

Now, I know, not everyone is a fan of zombie movies and stories. I decided to make the whole story line a little less fear-inducing (pronounced "creepy"), which would also fit well with the pun that popped into my warped brain. I don't recall the entire thought process; my brain just goes wandering about on its own.

Anyway, here's the one that accidentally started all the fun:

Why and How it Continued

Just a cute little adventure with a side of dad humor right? I published it and went back to work. Notifications started popping up, and I was happy that the friends in my circle on Vocal were enjoying it. When I took a minute to read through the first batch of comments, the proverbial feces hit the proverbial rotary air mover. I was literally laughing out loud.

If you know anyone looking for comic genius, please give them a list of the names I'm about to drop in these stories. From the moment I read the first pun in the comments, this was no longer about the challenge. It was about having fun. I rolled up my imaginary sleeves and started to submit my interpretations of the marvelous lines my creative friends quipped.

I've included a link to the creator who left the comment that “punspired” each one in the stories. As you're reading these, I encourage you to take advantage of those links. Their stories will enlighten, entertain, educate and inspire you. Here's the second story and the first inspired by a comment, in this case from Roy Stevens:

So, I had my protagonist, a basic plot line and a wealth of golden phrases to work with. My brain was getting plenty of exercise and my very patient wife, Pam and I were both laughing to the point of tears at the comments. (Did I mention you should be reading the comments, too?) Next up was a story inspired by a comment from Jason, a.k.a. Jbaz:

If you paid attention to the subtitle on the last one, you may have suspected that I was going to end the series there. I had created a trilogy, and that's enough for any good zombie mini-series, right? Well, as Fate would have it, Mark Gagnon left a comment on that episode that I couldn't resist. I also couldn't resist putting an extra spin on it, hence the subtitle:

Okay, let's have a little sidebar. First, I sincerely hope you're reading the comments on these. At this point, the momentum of this thing was being driven by the support there. Not only were there more clever ideas at every turn, but the expressions of enjoyment and encouragement were bowling me over. I was just having fun here, but so were my friends and they were letting me know. This is what the Vocal community is about. Oh, and second, I now had two protagonists.

Alrighty, let's move on to the next story, inspired by a comment from RM Stockton, with a whole set of extra puns inspired again by Mark Gagnon.

Uh-oh, my original protagonist was in trouble!

I wasn't worried at this point. After all, he was a zombie. It's not like he needed any of what he'd just lost. However, I was now suffering from something I dubbed “Dalebrain”. I was constantly thinking about the next story. Not just while I was working, but during all my waking hours. I was becoming a zombie. Nevertheless, I would push on and thanks once more to Roy Stevens, the next episode would have what the series had been lacking: a theme song. Play it in the background while you read, and see if you don't agree. I also borrowed a couple of extra puns from Mark Gagnon on this one and had forgotten to thank him. That oversight has been corrected as of now:

Alright, that had to be it, right? Not so fast! I still had one protagonist left, and the original one was still a zombie, though somewhat handicapped. For the next one, I went back through past comments and found one that took my Dalebrain on a whole new ride. Thanks, Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock for the comment early-on that helped me wrap up(?) this series with a dad joke AND a song!

Why We're Here

That brings us to why you're here, reading this post. I was content to leave things as they were, until another friend, Judey Kalchik suggested a pillar post, to give readers a place to find out how this series developed, along with a link to each episode. I need to thank her for an idea that I hope has created a more immersive experience for you as you work your way through this.

In closing, I want to stress again that this fun little series belongs to ALL of the amazing creators that contributed to it, not only with ingenious ideas, but the incredible show of support and encouragement it took to keep it going. I am beyond blessed to have had your help in bringing it to life, maintaining its energy, and having a great time along the way. Y'ALL ROCK! Finally, thanks to Vocal for providing a platform for such amazing creators and myself to play!

* Curious about the Microfiction Magic Challenge? Find out about it here:

SeriesMicrofictionHumorHorror
29

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer7 months ago

    I remember these. The comments were so much fun to read. Great job Dana!

  • Very good article

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    I struggled so much with microfiction that I gave up on it. You have certainly mastered it! I'm grateful for the column post because I would have hated to miss these stories and comments! This was just bloody awesome! (Don't pardon the pun or that won't be funny) LOL 🥰

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    I love micro fiction!

  • Stephen A. Roddewig10 months ago

    The "Dalebrain" and "two cities" remarks got more than a few chuckles out of me. Well done.

  • 😁Great job on this one,D❗

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Dana, I love this segment! The idea of sharing the inspirations and credit with all the people you were able to collaborate with is really inspiring to see! This is a great example of the Vocal community at its finest! This was such a wonderful and fun read!

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    I am rushing to read this all before my battery dies out. What an incredible collaborative effort! Well done!

  • The entire series is hysterical. It should be published as a children book for dads & all who enjoy their jokes.

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I enjoyed the recap and the way this whole fun series evolved! What a joy the Vocal community can be :) Thanks for sharing this piece!!

  • Great story wish I hadn’t missed out on the fun

  • It is a good way to collect related stories. I did a couple before Vocal had their filters for searching so I could find my stories, Loryne is doing a microfiction series for each community so I would expect her to do one too. I congratulate you now on your forthcoming Top Story.

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    I could totally see the spin off being an animated series on comedy central. If it gained such a following in the community, I can imagine how the world would embrace the Dalebrain(s). Great article and series, Dana...Pitch it! 💖🍻

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Judey's idea was a perfect way to gather the whole (still creepy) lot together and add that little extra background that your fans were clamouring for Dana. It was an honour to contribute, and it really was a heap of fun. You are the Maestro waving your wand over the orchestra and it was great fun watching how much fun you were having too! Congratulations on inventing a whole new and very positive way to use Vocal! (At least as far as I know.)

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Putting it all together in a pillar post was a great idea. Loved this series. 👏

  • Mark Gagnon12 months ago

    Hi, Dana! Just let me know when you want to collaborate again. I'm here waiting, fingers ready on the keyboard. Seriously, it was a lot of fun.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Dalebrain is truly a wonderful new term! Keep up the great job 👏

  • Judey Kalchik 12 months ago

    Well done! It truly has been a fun experience!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.