Fiction logo

The Runaway Train

Riding A Nightmare

By Jessie JonesPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

The Runaway Train

By Jessie Jones

I Madeline Stewart decided to call her friend Eclipse. I was feeling down and depressed. Eclipse made fun of her for nonsensical things. For example, I used to wear extra tight dresses to get a boy's attention that she just had to meet. But Eclipse never fails to defend her when others put me down, she thought. I remember wearing pink and purple hair dye because I thought it was trendy in college. Eclipse refused to let me out of the college dorm until I looked like an average person. Eclipse was like that; she was my ride-or-die friend. We had been friends since college. Moreover, she was more than a friend, closer than a sister, and knew my soul and what made me tick. Eclipse was like a soulmate in a girlfriend's body.

Subsequently, after college, even though I married, we remained best friends. Then the unthinkable happened. Ken, my husband, has been killed in a car wreck. So there I was, a widow at age twenty-six. However, Eclipse had my back; she was my consoler and sounding board. I don't think I would not have survived losing ken if it wasn't for her being there for me. I could call her day or night, and she'd listen to me express my pain and loneliness. After talking with her, the darkness slipped away, and sunshine poured into my spirit.

I dialed Eclipse's number that night, and a guy answered.

"May I speak to Eclipse," I said.

"You must have the wrong number. That person you

are asking for does not live here." He spoke.

However, he spoke with an accent that was so thick it took several minutes before I could decipher what he said.

"I am so sorry I must have misdialed.

"No, no, it is okay. Let me try to comfort you."

"I was trying to reach my friend and probably touched the wrong digit. Sorry to have bothered you. "I said.

There was concern in his voice even though his thick accent.

"Madam, please don't go; you sound very upset. Talk to me! I hate for a lady to be in distress. Tell me what the problem is. I am sure I can offer you some comfort." He spoke.

I hesitated for a moment. Then, I thought, what an empathic voice. Naturally, I was compelled to pour my heart out about what happened to my husband. The more we talked, the more I could understand his way of speaking. Then we talked for hours, day and night, whenever we got the chance.

I had found a new friend. After three months, we had gotten very close. He was so kind and compassionate. I sent it to his email address. John made me feel like I was the most beautiful woman in the world. He called me his Queen. I was falling in love with a man I had never seen. What could be more mysterious and exciting?

I was and project manager for a major company. My job was tedious, and usually, I dreaded going to work. However, this morning when I left for work. The feeling of happiness surrounded me. The sky was bluer, and the clouds seemed like white puffs of cotton dancing over the sky. It was a lovely day in Miami, Florida.

An abrupt movement awakened Madeline. She was in strange surroundings, and she felt dizzy and drowsy. She peered out of a window. It appeared that I was on a train. How in the heavens did I end up on a train? The last thing I remember was having lunch with John, the man I had met over the phone. Now, I was on a train. Pain in my head jammed my thoughts, and my concentration was barely nearly fictional. Then someone knocked on the door to the sleeper car. I turned around, and it was the train conductor.

"Are you alright, miss? You seemed to be out of it last night?" he said

"Last night? What happened last night? How did I get on this train?

"You don't remember?"

"No! The last thing I remember was having lunch with a friend?"

"A young man bought you a ticket to Washington, D. C. for a sleeper car and said you were intoxicated and to let sleep it off. He also asked you to look in your dress pocket for a note he left for you." Said the conductor.

"He left a note for me." She spoke.

Madeline frantically checked her pocket. There was a note.

Do not call the police, the note demanded. I have your friend Eclipse. She is safe for now. However, if you involve the police, we will have to take drastic measures against her. We are holding her in your apartment. I know your family has a lot of money. Follow my instructions closely; someone with be watching you. When you get to Washington, D. C., go directly to the bank vault, take out 200,000, and put it in the black bag under the seat on the train. Tell no one or your friend will meet a terrible fate.

Your friend John,

Madeline had a look of horror on her face.

"What is it? Why are you looking like your best friend just died? Said the conductor.

She gave him the note; devastation set in as the terrifying words ran through her head.

"The note said to tell no one or else my friend Eclipse who meet an awful fate. I don't know what to do. I don't want her to get hurt!" She spoke.

"The only thing we can do is alert the police. I will radio ahead to my superiors to have the police on standby until we get to the next train station about thirty miles away. I will relay to them all the details of your situation. Don't worry; everything will be alright. How well do you know this person named John?"

"This is so horrible. I met him over the phone about three months ago, and we have been communicating day and night since then. He seemed like a nice person. He was so kind to me after hearing my husband had passed away. I met him for the first time for lunch the other day!' She spoke.

"Good, you can give me a description of him and the address to your house, and I will give it to my supervisor to relay to the police. Do not worry, okay, they will catch these people.!" Said the conductor.

Unexpectedly. The train increased in speed. The conductors' assistant stated.

"Sir, we have a problem. The engineer would like to talk to you immediately!"

The assistant's face told the conductor an emergency was in progress. His eyes glared openly at the conductor; they had become as big as 10-inched bowling balls. His mouth hung open, breathing loudly and audible. The conductor directed him into the corridor.

"What's going, Brown? 'Asked the conductor.

"Sir, the train is speeding up and showing no signs of slowing down. The engineer needs

You to come right away!' Said the assistant.

"Right, I need you to stay with this young lady to keep her calm. She has a hazardous note. Her friend's life may be in jeopardy. I know you can keep her calm; you are a good man with a counseling background!"

"Yes, sir, I will do my best." Said the assistant.

Emotionally numb, Madelene was on the edge of her seat.

"How can such a thing happen in the year 2020? She stated.

However, the assistant talked to her in a calming voice. He reminded her of the good times she and her friend had together. In about ten minutes, he had her telling him about the college experiences she and Eclipse shared and what the heck of a character and good friend Eclipse had been. A smile peeped across her face for a moment.

Meanwhile, the conductor, the engineer, was trying desperately for the train to reduce speed. Nevertheless, the rate increased. Finally, the engineer alerted the control office.

"There may be an obstruction in the brake pipe system. Have the engineers tried to stop the train brakes manually? Asked the supervisor in the control office.

"We have tried everything possible, but the train speed continually increases. Said the train engineer.

"Also, we have another situation where one of our is being extorted; please inform the police and have them contact me for the details!" Said the Train Conductor.

"I will relay the message; let’s get this train under control!" Said the Supervisor.

"How will we stop a 123-mph runaway train?" Said the engineer.

The eyebrows of the engineer came together; great beads of sweat popped off his forehead, and his mouth stretched and drew back, exposing his teeth. The train conductor's hair stood on the nape of his neck. While his face turned pale, he gripped the engineer's shoulder. They looked at each, thinking of their impending doom.

Just as the two of them were about to give up. The control office supervisor sent a message.

"I have sent some train employees to an area when the tracts go up a steep hill. The hill is about twenty miles ahead of where you are now. They will apply a contact material to the tracts, which will, in turn, connect with the train wheels. Since the moving train contains energy, this material will convert the energy into heat. The material will release friction and cause the train to stop and close the train station." Said the Control Office Supervisor.

A big grin moved over the engineer's face, his breath settled down, and his pulse became regular again. The train conductor informed the passengers of the events. The material was applied to the train tracks, and the train reached the train station safely.

The Chief of Police was waiting at the train station to greet Madelene with the good news. At the same time, the runaway train terror was occurring. The police and FBI captured the kidnappers and rescued her friend Eclipse; she is safe.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Jessie Jones

I am a graduate of Troy University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Psychology. I have suffered more pain in my life than most; however, writing takes me on a spiritual journey of creating and helping others through my experiences

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jessie Jones (Author)2 years ago

    Unforeseen adventures happen in life every day. Some weird circumstance could arise to change your life. Therefore, stay vigilant. My story clarifies the unexpected.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.